We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good ol fashioned fish n chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fish 'n Chips

Fish 'n Chips
Ranked #115 of 304 Restaurants in Launceston
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Penrith, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good ol fashioned fish n chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Wow this it was good to find a good fish meal that brought back memories of days gone by.
Nice restaurant in a nice place and servise was pretty good. Would definitely go back !

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank geoffery c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    105
    60
    33
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“In Decline”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Has always been on the expensive side for what you get but in the past the quality of the food has made up for it. Not any more I'm afraid. The composition of the antipasto platter has changed to tiny morsels and lots of salad and if you are going to pay $10 for each piece of fish the batter has to be perfect, i.e. dry and crunchy not saggy and oily. The chips weren't much better and the fish cakes were as solid as a discus, looked like compounded potato, not fish. Only just three stars because of the same great location and the hard working staff. $$$ cost in a $$ setting.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RockabillyPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
110 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fish & Chips as it says..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Its a fish and chip shop / cafe, not fine dining, but the food is good, the service was quick and the view was not too bad either.

We went on a Friday night and there was plenty of staff to deal with the eat in and takeaway demands, I am sure that's what keeps the food coming out hot and fresh

Go and enjoy some good fresh local fish at a reasonable price. Its one of the best we had while staying in Tasmania.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CRose8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fresh local fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I ordered take away grilled fish with chips and salad and the salad was fresh with a dressing on the side. The chips were served in a paper cone and I was given extra lemon for the fish. Service was friendly and the food was ready quickly.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Louise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere for familys, good customer service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We dined here with a 25% off voucher from the entertainment book. Had we came in off the street we would have found the food overpriced. My three year old son and I enjoyed our kids meals, my husband enjoyed his fish sandwich also. The atmosphere is great, definately more like a cafe. The staff all seemed to enjoy their jobs which made a difference. Meals did take a long time to come, but was worth the wait.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shaggysonlyshorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish 'n Chips also viewed

 
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Fish 'n Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing