We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overprice Fish and chips”
Review of Fish 'n Chips

Fish 'n Chips
Ranked #128 of 306 Restaurants in Launceston
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
launceston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overprice Fish and chips”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

THe food here is ok, but it is expensive. It takes a long time for the food to come out and the service is not that great either. You feel liuke you're in a gourmet fish and chip corner store. We try to avoid when it is our choice. Don't go if you're on a budget.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank youthinkyoureacritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    106
    64
    34
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great staff, great venue, great fish n chips!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My partner & I shared a Fisherman's Haul, crispy chips, scallops, prawns, calamari, fish, & homemade seafood balls served in the old fashioned way in a cone of paper. Delicious!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mtpockets95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamar Valley
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fresh fish at the dockside”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Great setting. Reasonably fast service considering its popularity. A good selection of freshly made seafood. Parking will cost $2 so add that to your dining expenses.

Helpful?
Thank 616A81T5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A 3.5 stars restaurant in a great location”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I've been to this casual restaurant every time I've visited family in Launceston. It is not a fine dining restaurant, but it's a friendly, relaxed setting on the Tamar River. It has always been clean, the service good, and the food good, but not great. The Tasmanian scallop catch has been small this year, so scallops were not on the menu today--a disappointment, but hardly the fault of the restaurant.
We found the Fish Net and the Prawn Salad to be pretty good value, though really it is the setting that is the big draw. The lattes are good, which I find to be almost universally true in restaurants and cafes throughout Australia.Ill go there again next time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mollysslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Value so poor that we left after trying to order twice.”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Placed an order for 4 flat head and 4 non alcoholic drinks came to $107 this seemed unreasonable so changed it to 3 flathead 4 drinks large chips which came to $97 (still unreasonable but... ) on then being charged $0.80 per pot of little sauce we left. A manager asked why and I told them that ordering close to $100 of fish and chips for 2 adults and 2 children under 6 and then being charged $1.60 for sauce was an insult. Instead of offering to make it right there was rationalisation saying they make their own sauce and do have to charge for it. We left and had lunch at the near by Levee food co with full table service two beers two pineapple juices gourmet taster plate 2 pizzas and kids streak and chips for $79.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dd0070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish 'n Chips also viewed

 
Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Fish 'n Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing