We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”

Burger Got Soul Launceston
Ranked #4 of 44 Quick Bites in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: EST. 2005. TASMANIA’S ORIGINAL GOURMET BURGER JOINT After a stint living in London and being inspired by the burger scene there, the owners returned to their home state of Tasmania opening their first store in Launceston. Burger Got Soul is Tasmania’s original and premium gourmet burger restaurant. Located from North to South of the state, there are four restaurants that provide fresh, quality, locally produced food. The burgers are made with soul, using only the freshest Tasmanian produce sourced daily from the markets. Our burgers are more than just a burger, they are burgers with Soul.
Reviewed June 7, 2019 via mobile

The burgers we got were yum. We got the southern fried chicken burger with bacon and peanut butter.

The service is a little slow but please keep in mind this isn't a fast food restaurant. This is a little cafe with two people working here. There was one lady making burgers and one taking orders and doing table service.

We enjoyed our food and the cafe is cute.
Worth checking out.

If you have the entertainment book this places food is very well priced. Without it the burgers are on average $15.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank tjadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
launcestonbgs, Manager at Burger Got Soul Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2019

Thanks you so much for taking the time to give us a review! Very happy to hear you enjoyed your burgers, especially in light of our recent menu change.

I hope we see you again next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 370 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2019 via mobile

First time to BGS, used the online ordering and asked for no bacon and no onions on both burgers, extra cheese (which you get charged for) and extra mayo (which you pay for). BOTH burgers had what appeared to be a WHOLE diced red onion through the sauce and 1 piece of cheese. BOTH burgers had bacon and neither extra cheese or mayo!
I cannot eat onion at all - my entire burger ruined!!! Why anyone thinks peanut butter and onion go together .... the beef burger was chewy, the patty was a frozen patty on the flat plate - not as fresh and soulful as advertised! Biggest waste of $52 dollars! We won’t be returning and I’m unimpressed having spent SO much money on uneatable burgers!!!! 02.06.2019

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank erinlouise1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
launcestonbgs, Manager at Burger Got Soul Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2019

Hi Erin, sorry to hear about your experience. On the online order we received it only asked for no onion and bacon in one of the burgers, plus an extra slice of cheese for the same burger - the other burger was left unedited. I do apologise for the oversight on this burger, the message must have been missed when putting the order through to the kitchen. Our Soul Deluxe Burger does already come with two slices of cheese which is melted onto the beef patty, as does The Cruze (however this just has one slice). When a customer asks for extra mayo on their burger we do not charge for this, however your order did not ask for extra mayo. On The Cruze it did ask for extra sauce, but as that burger has bbq sauce on it we assumed that’s what you were asking extra of. Our beef burgers are made of 100% premium Tassie beef which are freshly made and delivered by a local Launceston butcher - it goes no where near the freezer. I do hope you visit us again, and as we do take phone orders as well, this may be a better option to ensure we make your burgers exactly how you like them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2019

Service was extremely slow tonight! Was advised 40 minute wait when ordering takeaway that turned into an hour orders taken after mine were being provided and I waited and waited only to be told ops sorry about the wait. Not happy and will go to other burger places next time. My advice is don't bother not worth the hour waiting for the order.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Z5761CMmichelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
launcestonbgs, Manager at Burger Got Soul Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2019

Hi Michelle, dissapointing to hear about your visit. As Saturday night is one of our busiest nights the wait can get quite high. It is unusual to hear that you had to wait an extra twenty minutes for your burger as we were only fell behind by 5 minutes for a short while. I do remember one particular order that we were having difficulties with (not sure if this was yours) but we did explain what was happening to the customer. I hope you do give us another chance to change your mind, maybe visiting us on one of quieter nights would be best as the we rarely get above a 25minute wait.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2019 via mobile

Been a long time fan of the burgers at Burger Got Soul, but since the new menu change it’s terrible. After they had taken off all my favourites from the original menu, I thought I’d try one of the new ones. My partner got the intercontinental, and I got the beef and beer. After waiting 50 minutes on a Wednesday night, (the longest we have ever waited at BGS) we were more than disappointed with what we received. The beef burger whilst bigger, tasted chewy and bland. And the intercontinental, well. Lastly, BGS have always been generous with the amount of take away chips, and so my partner and I get one to share. However we received a small take away bag of chips (still the same price however) which was hardly enough for a single serve. Fair to say after supporting BGS regularly for over 5 years, we definitely will not be going back.

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank JA07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewBGS, Owner at Burger Got Soul Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2019

Ahhhh, that is a shame to hear.
we have put so much work into the new menu. It's not great to hear about your experience. The store has been super busy with the new changes so we apologise that wait time has increased as a result last week. We now have more staff on to make this is not the case.
There are atill heaps of favourites incuding the Tassie Tempter, Funky Chicken, Mind Body and Soul, Ali G and Hawaiin Honey still on the menu. Of course the chips havent changed and we do like to give generous serves, it would appear to be an anomolie that you haven't received a bigger serve.
It would be great of you could give us another try, I reckon you will have a better experience next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2019

Used to enjoy coming here but it isn't as good as it used to be; still ok but not great. The menu has changed limiting vegetarian options to two, one of which is extremely chilli filled. Chips were the dregs at the end of the bag we suspect. They wrote the wrong table number down on our order so they were wondering all around the place with our chips trying to find us. Not the usual quality by far. Lots of small crunchy thin dry bits. Sat on very high hard stools in their new fit out which were not that comfy. Was keen to go but left feeling not keen to go back too soon.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChellaBella05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewBGS, Owner at Burger Got Soul Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2019

Hi There

Thanks for the feedback. Yes you are right the new tofu burger is a bit hot with chilli. We have noted this and it is now far milder.
The stools on the high tables have been there for a couple of years, we do have lower seating options and some super comfy leather bench seating.
We hope to see you again and your next visit is far better.

Best
Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burger Got Soul Launceston also viewed

Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Burger Got Soul Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing