We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disapointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Irish

The Irish
Ranked #113 of 302 Restaurants in Launceston
Price range: $14 - $24
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disapointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Had a booking for nine people on a Sat night at the Shamrock, venue was warm and inviting and the menu looked ok for a pub. Staff were cheerful and accommodating. The majority of us however were disappointed in our meals. I had a beef & reef, the steak was ok and cooked as requested however the seafood sauce was watery rather than creamy, the chips cold. Fish of the day was Tassie salmon, over cooked and served on a bunch of broccalini only. The person eating the seafood platter was disappointed and not happy that it was served on a broken wooden platter. (great place for germs to breed) Two chicken schnitzels were nothing out of the ordinary. Guinness Pie was good, seafood pizza ok and the person who ordered the pasta dish was pretty happy. Then came the dessert! two of us ordered a chocolate mint panacotta.
Panacotta it certainly wasn't! It was extremely firm, and the cream on the side I am pretty sure came out of a pressure can. Sure it was tasty enough but to call this dessert panacotta no way! Overall, disappointing food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anet49Tas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    39
    20
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beauty Point, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“service was very good but unfortunately food was below average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Pleasantly surprised by the warmth and size of 'shamrocks' restaurant, as a table of 5 with no booking we were seated straight away with no problems, Our waitress was friendly but not intrusive, drink orders and starters were taken and delivered promptly.. Unfortunately this is where the good ends.. My 'chilli and sea salt' calamari salad which was described as being flash fried was overcooked, tough and the coating had all fallen off, leaving it bland and greasy.. the salad could have done with a bit more than cucumber, rocket and onion. My sister ordered the veg pizza and couldn't eat anymore than half as it had no flavor.. she added sweet chilli sauce to make it palatable when she got home!, The Irish stew again lacked seasoning, meat was cooked until tender but just needed a pinch of herbs, salt and pepper to take it from so so to awesome.....the fish of the day was 70% batter... I don't usually leave an 'average' review but as it was not just myself but everybody else at the table that finished dinner feeling disappointed I feel the criticism is constructive and hopefully next time the chefs will have been introduced to ALL kitchens wonderful friends: SALT and PEPPER! and of course a little love doesn't hurt either

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank seashell609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't bother Wednesday ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

I frequent Tasmania regularly and Wednesday night his a big miss at Irish ! Crap music basically open mic with people with no talent and a $3 charge to get in. Normally a great night out but Wednesday jeep clear !!!

Helpful?
Thank Bigmickz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Yum and great for the kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Great menu - great kids menu, fabulous atmosphere and great service too. First night in Tassie and one of our best meals. The meal was good value.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheFamilyofFive2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great pub grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We ate dinner here on Saturday night, turned up with no booking at around 6:30 and were seated straight away. They had a good choice of the usual pub food on offer and we chose a chicken Parma and a beef burger. The service was friendly and helpful and though the meals took a while to arrive (there was a big table of approx 20 people there before us) we were told when our meals were nearly ready. The food was great, reasonably priced and there was plenty of it. This place doesn't look much from the outside and we nearly didn't go in with our young son, but so glad we did.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Makettle68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Irish also viewed

Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 
Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to The Irish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing