We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great way to familiarise yourself with Launceston”

Launceston Historic Walks
Ranked #12 of 32 Tours in Launceston
Attraction details
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great way to familiarise yourself with Launceston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

This was a fabulous tour for only $15 pp. It went for about 1hr 30mins and the guide was passionate and excited to share her knowledge of the history and architecture of the town. Well worth it!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChristmasSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2,458 reviews
1,376 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,281 helpful votes
“What a find ...raw beauty,historic buildings and Cataract Gorge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Launceston has the advantage of of being set in a beautiful surroundings with Cataract Gorge close to the heart of the city. It has substantial interest for walkers,not only because of the beauty of the gorge,but also because the town happens to be one of the oldest cities in Australia.
The walk covered loads in points of historic interest . In 1830, 'Tassie' had over one-fifth of the total 'Aussie' white population,developing early due to its port and as the centre for agriculture. Our guide was zesty,gushing info in a familiar, knowing format, that only a native of Launceston,could. We chuckled,laughed and appreciated the environs so much better for her 'guidance'.

We began our assault on Launceston from the corner of Brisbane & Tamar streets. Albert hall is the first cab off the rank,a large ,ornate 1890s High Victorian era building complete with dome. Double back to see the Anglican church on your right,because of its significance as a place where church authorities refused to use convict labour for the construction of th church and were leaders in the ending of the transportation system of convicts.
Across Cameron street is the Bateman Faulker Inn,next to the Post office with its interior balconies,dome and sky lighting. There is a huge tower with a clock positioned facing the Town Hall with its elegant Corinthian columns.
nearby is Macquarie House,an 1830 Georgian freestanding warehouse,beautifully restored. Cross the street over to the Natural Science museum and the nearby rose garden which leads to the Tamar basin of the South Esk river,where the Pennyroyal Gunpowder Mill, is a popular tourist hub with windmill ,waterwheel and a short tramway. And to think ,this was a former quarry...quite amazing.
At the west end of the complex is the Kings Bridge which spans the river. The bridge is an old one from which you can view some of the gorge and its cliffs. Nicely rugged with a city feel. At times the river floods,creating quite a spectacle. Walk around the gorge,which is set in gardens and lawns with tea rooms and a restaurant. Great place to lunch or have a picnic.
Zig-zag back to complete the walking circuit. Adios to our genial hostess and guide. What a superb day!!.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Stop to smell the flowers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Living in Launceston you take your home town for granted. This walking tour is excellent and I cannot speak highly enough of our guide, she was very switched on and entertaining. This is something you must do, a Saturday morning stroll around town and you will begin to notice so many things you have never before seen. Very informative and highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank F1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent way to see Launceston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I would highly recommend this walking tour to anyone visiting Launceston and the best time to take the tour is soon after arriving. Robyn our guide was passionate about Launceston and her tour was very interesting and informative. Some of the architecture is amazing and the tour took us to parts of the city that I'm sure we would not have ventured by ourselves and therefore without the tour we would have missed some of the city's highlights.
It was well worth the $15 fee for the tour, would have been happy to pay more.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SOCSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant - worth more than $15”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was a fantastic tour. I heard about this walk from friends who visited Tassie in late 2012 and the raved about the lady who gave the Launceston walking tour. The 90 minute walk starts at '1842' (an art and fine furniture gallery named in recognition of the year the fascinating building was built) with a tour of the building which includes a room lined entirely in tin. After that Robyn took us around Launceston's CBD providing interesting details about the architecture and history of one of Australia's oldest towns.

I recommend this tour to anyone who is interested in learning some different and interesting things about the city. It was an easy 90 minute stroll with lots of stops along the way to hear about the relevant historical or architectural details related to buildings or places we were standing in front of. After doing this walk and realising how much I learned from talking to Robyn, I will never think that one of those free pamplets from the tourism centres is a worthwhile option. This walk was the highlight of our trip to Launceston.

The walk can be booked at the tourist information centre or at 1842. I booked my tour at the tourist centre but they weren't overly helpful and couldn't answer any of my questions so I'd recommend booking at 1842 on the corner of Cimitiere and St John Streets.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Launceston Historic Walks also viewed

 
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Launceston Historic Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing