We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing place to stay in Launceston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Windmill Hill Lodge
Ranked #8 of 31 Launceston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing place to stay in Launceston”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This B & B is in a rather lovely old home - not the grandest B & B we've stayed in, but nonetheless a very comfortable and gracious old building. The host (Steve) was extremely helpful and friendly, and the breakfast (as others have mentioned) is one of the best 'continental' breakfasts we've had. This establishment is also situated in a very pleasant part of Launceston - near enough to the city centre to be convenient, far enough away to be peaceful. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    29
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
28
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was by far the best B&B which I ever stayed at, it definitely ticked all my boxes, service was excellent, location was good, rooms were spacious & well looked after, but on top of all of this, the breakfast was to die for, I literally didn't want to leave. As this tailored directly to my families needs the four of us will definitely be back sometime soon.
Thankyou once again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenSharkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband and i just stayed for a night, but wished we could have stayed for longer. Our host was friendly and very helpful in advising us of the local restaurants etc. The building is lovely and our room was very comfortable. The best aspect of our stay was the breakfast - an amazing spread, with homemade honey and jams, all very tasty!
Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Windmill Hill Lodge for one night in March 2008. We still remember it as being one of our favourite stays. We stayed in the Heritage Room, which was roomy and cosy at the same time - with that heritage feel to it. Steve, the host was fantastic and was keen to make us feel comfortable. It was well priced and included an amazing breakfast of home-made breads, jams, muffins, stewed fruits, yoghurt, creamed rice, pikelets, porridge and more!

Room Tip: Go with the Heritage Room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinjaSmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights in a very spacious room with a great view of the city. Host was warm, funny and knowledgable and was quick to cater to needs. This BB also gave the best breakfast I have had in Tasmania - homemade bread (with great gluten free option), huge selection of poached fruits and fruit salad, Bircher muesli, rice pudding, homemade jams, organic and herbal teas, fresh coffee - just an amazing breakfast. Highly recommended BB.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulianEll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Lovely old charming place, great hosts, fantastic home made breakfast fare. Plenty of space in our room for us 2 parents plus the 2 children aged 6 & 10. The kids loved the place ( and the breakfasts) just as much as we adults did. As soon as we arrived the kids were delighted by the apple tree in the front garden. We have stayed in many very nice places in Launceston on our dozen or so visits from Brisbane over the years and this B&B is up with the best of them.
I'm really surprised at the review which complained about the dust- I have asthma and can be allergic and sensitive to things like dust, dog/cat hair etc but I had no problem at all- everything seemed pretty clean and tidy to me.

Also while this place is not in the centre of town it is only about 2 minutes drive rather than 10 min as another review said. We walked into town centre in about 10 mins with the kids. It is in a lovely area plenty of parking and a great park and pool only a few hundred meters away to keep kids entertained.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe4030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Delightful and warm hosts in a superb romantic rustic quaint house that is old but very clean and very tidy. We were made to feel very welcome and were well looked after! Breakfast was divine we had to count to 3 and then run from the dining room otherwise we would have gorged ourselves silly on the fresh baking and perfectly stewed fruit. We have recommended this B&B to everyone back home!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeloveNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#20 of 30 in Launceston
542 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,383 reviews
0.9 mi away
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmill Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Hill Lodge

Property: Windmill Hill Lodge
Address: 22 High St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Windmill Hill Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Windmill Hill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Hill Lodge Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing