We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad news for dust sensitivity”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windmill Hill Lodge
Ranked #8 of 31 Launceston B&B and Inns
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bad news for dust sensitivity”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

Booked in for 4 nights in what appeared to be a quite charming old home, other members of my family had chosen this, and we wanted to stay in the same place. I had called the owners prior to booking and let them know I suffered from a dust allergy. I asked for a room with floorboards - usually better - they had only one. Upon arrival was horrified to find as soon as I entered the room I could smell mustiness and dust. I started reacting immediately. They showed me round a few different rooms and I chose one that seemed the least dusty. I opened all the windows and to air it while we went out for dinner. On return, got my child ready for bed, but it became clear that this just was not going to work and in fact I started to get an asthmatic reaction - something that hasn't happened for about 20 years! Called around to find somewhere else to stay and not seeing any obvious way to talk to hosts, left to rush to the other hotel where i had to book in by 10 pm. I called the next morning and they charged me $130 for the night, but not for the four nights thank goodness. A bit of a traumatic start to our Launceston trip! My other family reported they had no problem with the place and enjoyed the breakfast - pity we had no chance to try it!

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Food2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    29
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
28
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

Launceston the beautiful! Walking distance to everything. Warm hospitality. Old fashioned breakfast fit for a king.Didn't want to leave. When can we go again?

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iamglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2010

This B&B is surely good value for money and the magnificient home made breakfast is just too good to be true. The B&B owner and manager will surely help you with anything you may need and ensure you have a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderingsheperd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2010

The house is old and beautiful with lovely trees in the garden. The hosts are friendly and helpful and the breakfast is wonderful. However, the rooms are disappointing. Our room seemed to be unoccupied for a while - the quilts and curtains were dusty. The double size bed was a rollaway bed which shifted easily - revealing more dust underneath.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerAsia77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs UK
Level Contributor
233 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2009

This is a lovely Victorian style house which is full of character in a quiet leafy location in Launceston.The location is ideal as it is only 5 minutes walk to City Park and 20 mins to Catarach Gorge.The hosts are extremely friendly and take pride especially in their delicious breakfasts which includes all home made breads,jams,yoghurts,museli,muffins etc.The rooms are a good size and are spotlessly clean.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jax11ard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.4 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#19 of 30 in Launceston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.9 mi away
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Ashton Gate Guest House
Ashton Gate Guest House
#2 of 31 in Launceston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmill Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Hill Lodge

Property: Windmill Hill Lodge
Address: 22 High St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Windmill Hill Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Windmill Hill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Hill Lodge Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing