We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasant surprise”

Mud Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 304 Restaurants in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $32
Cuisines: European, Asian, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

We had to follow people from the car park because the restaurants are so well hidden away...then we were spoilt for choice with so many restaurants all in the one place.
Not exactly cheap but we really loved everything we ordered here.
Food was outstanding especially those wonderful potatoes with rosemary and garlic.
Could go back just to have them all over again

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank love2cookandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    185
    61
    30
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sat down then left!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

Entered the restaurant, greeted by lovely staff...although was hard to pick the restaurant staff from guests as they are just casually dressed! ....sat down on a very crumby dirty chair with tea towel / napkins that are a tad tatty!
Looked at the menu, very un-inspiring and lacking in choice. I guess that is why they only had a few diners as opposed to the other restaurants in the same strip that were full. Ended up at Salsa a few restaurants up and had a fab meal!

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Down_South_36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

Probably the worst starter I have ever had; the blandness of the main course (seafood linguine) was a relief after that. Service was rude and very slow (the restaurant was half full and main course took 1.5hrs). This restaurant has no commendable features.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ngroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

Clearly understaffed, despite being half full. What was the chef thinking dressing perfectly good oysters with a thick chilli and raspberry sauce?! Main was OK but not worth the money. Having to wait so long for any food and being charged $8 for another portion of bread to keep us going was the final insult!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UK75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine coast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at seaport last week and I can easily say the best thing about the hotel (perhaps even launceston) is this restaurant. We ate here more than once and every time I was left wanting more. I am a very particular eater and definetly appreciate my food and it was a real pleasure experiencing their food. I had the lamb gnocchi and the duck rissotto and i cant decide which was better.
Service was awesome and friendly. We did not have to wait for our meals and the wine list was extensive which is what you want to see in tasmania.
I would eat here again and again and wish i could.
The first thing i would recommend to anyone going to launceston is to eat here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mimestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mud Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 
 

Been to Mud Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing