We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in a nice location across from the park”
Review of Parklane Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Parklane Motel
Ranked #29 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value in a nice location across from the park”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here our first night in Tasmania and were happy with room. Was a basic 2 doubles in one room and a bathroom. Noticed a musky smell when we entered the room, but was fine after we aired out the room a bit. Heater worked well and overall was a comfortable room to sleep in. The motel Is across the road from a large, beautiful park that is well worth visiting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    29
    23
    6
    11
See reviews for
21
24
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We spent two nights here and it was pretty basic. The room had a stale smell, and I don't know why there was a bedside light on my side of the bed - there was no place to plug it in, nor the electric blanket. Bathroom taps hard to turn off and button kept jamming when we flushed the loo. Handy location opposite City Park and close to the centre off town, but we won't be back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Time Traveller S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Launceston hotels

Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
274 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We made a wotif booking. The room was run down, and there were tears in the drab, dirty lace curtains. It would not take much to replace the curtains and give the rooms a bit of a facelift. Even if the rooms are clean, they do not appear so when the furnishings are so old and worn out. Reception was friendly, and the free newspapers was an unexpected bonus. GREAT LOCATION, and this is what made it OK for the price. Bit noisy outside until around midnight, but OK after that. Fabulous view over the park, and a short walk into the CBD proper.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foodiept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

this motel is in need of a major makeover, stayed one night and was disappointed, compared to other motels in the area for the same price you can do much better. Water in the shower took about 10 minutes to get hot then ages to adjust and kept getting hot then cold. Lots of noise from a pub down the road and other motel guests coming and going. Reception closes at 6pm, which i felt was rather early for a sat night. Dont think i will bother staying here again

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank razor01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicheno
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

As a resident on Tasmania's east coast, I regularly stay over in Launceston and always stay at the Parklane in a balcony room with fabulous views of City Park and the lovely mansion and gardens next door to the hotel. The room is comfortable, clean and although basic, perfectly adequate to my needs, equipped with fridge, and tea and coffee making facilities. Staff have always been friendly and as a regular visitor, I am given generous corporate rates.
A short stroll through the park takes me to the city centre and to the new developement of Seaport with its many bars and restaurants, my favourite beingthe award winning Stillwater in the old mill. Although the Parklane is situated opposite a main road, Launceston is a quiet town and not noisy. Nothing can beat sitting on the balcony with a glass of wine, watching the sun set.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arabella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We asked for a quiet room so were put on the first floor under a neon light. The traffic roared all night. The street sweeper came under our window at 5 am. Some of the plates were dirty. The double bed was too uncomfortable for two people and I had to move to the single bed (first time ever). There was loud music from a nearby pub until 3 am. When we went in it smelled strongly of fly spray.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cekips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We booked this hotel sight unseen and felt quite disappointed when we arrived.
Although the location is fantastic the property needs significant investment and more discerning and engaged management to bring it up to the aesthetic and functional expectations of guests. Although we stayed in Launceston during a busy time of the year the hotel had loads of vacancies and was very quiet..

The room we booked was comfortable and we all slept well. However there was a very stale smell in the room which was off-putting. Most of the outside doors we covered in a film of dust and the grounds were depressing. The bathroom was functional but it was hard to adjust the taps. It was good to be able to make your own tea and coffee and we were pleased that there was a small table in the room.

I probably wouldn't stay here again because for not much more money you can stay somewhere much better and more attractive. Unfortunately I feel that Park-lane needs an over haul of its facilities and sound management to get it into shape.

If you are on a tight budget and want to be somewhere central then Parklane will be fine, Across the road is a great park with play facilities for kids and some monkeys, you will also find the design museum in the park which has a great assortment of gifts to buy by local artists.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NoticeTheDetail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Coach House
Comfort Inn Coach House
#14 of 30 in Launceston
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Launceston
Hotel Launceston
#22 of 30 in Launceston
454 reviews
0.1 mi away
Commodore Regent
Commodore Regent
#19 of 30 in Launceston
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Launceston
Mercure Launceston
#24 of 30 in Launceston
28 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tamar River Villas
Tamar River Villas
#2 of 2 in Riverside
126 reviews
1.0 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parklane Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parklane Motel

Property: Parklane Motel
Address: 9 Brisbane St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Parklane Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Launceston's CBD, Parklane Motel offers accommodation close to many of Launceston's major attractions. With a choice of motel, studio and self contained apartments available Parklane Motel can cater to all your accommodation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parklane Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parklane Motel Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing