We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly and excellent value”
Review of Kilmarnock House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kilmarnock House
Ranked #18 of 33 Launceston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The house has been very carefully restored to its Federation origins. My room was well decorated, spacious and sparkling clean and included two comfortable armchairs -- perfect for late night conversations while enjoying the complimentary port. The bed was large and I slept like a top. The kitchenette had everything you might need, apart from food, to make breakfast or a light meal: I opted for room only.
I totally agree with the other reviewers -- and I would very happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carilloneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 76 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had a comfortable 2 night stay at Kilmarnock. Its a quintessential Bed & Breakfast (without the Breakfast but they do have kitchenettes in each suite). The house is beautifully kept with antique furniture and little antique things everywhere. It was a nice change from some of the soul-less motels we stayed at on this trip.

Our suite had an attached bathroom which was small but manageable. The shower area was a little tight (like an RV) and the floor made some squeaky noises but it wasn't too much of an annoyance. The kitchenette was extremely well stocked with cutlery, crockery, and the basics. There is also some fresh fruit which was a nice touch.

The bed was comfortable. The entire room and the inn was clean. The garden out front and flowers in the back are also well kept and add a lot of charm.

We think Kilmarnock is the perfect place to stay in a quaint Victorian town of Launceston and highly recommend it as an experience.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank guyute999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed for 10 days with a mate who had a room upstairs (I was in Room 1 on the ground floor). Excellent location and great amenities. Check in and booking was fantastic and the owner Libby was a pleasure to deal with. Everything was fresh & clean and I've rarely slept better.

The building is brilliant and really gives you a sense of the historic past of Tassie. Sampled the complimentary port & sherry on the odd occasion as well!! Highly recommended. Wish I could live there all the time. :)

Room Tip: Wouldn't think there was a bad room in the place. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed here several times in the past and we had not been in launceston for a few years. We had 2 children with us this time. The suite we were given downstairs,No. 10, was just superb with a separate room for the kids and fully functional kitchenette decent size fridge and sitting room with tv. The kids loved it just as much as we did.
It is clean, and well maintained and is a real credit to the extraordinarily helpful hosts. Everything is absolutely faultless , but still has a homey welcoming comfortable atmosphere. It is a spectacular example of an Edwardian heritage home.
Off street parking is very handy, with the CBD only a 10 minute stroll it was sometimes difficult to decide whether it was quicker to get the kids into and out of the car or just stroll into town with them and not have the hassle of finding a park at the other end.
Kilmarnock House is just such a pleasure to stay at.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe4030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this house and enjoyed every minute of it. The rooms, well adorned with period decor and the bed, ooooh, extremely comfortable, come with a nice little pantry. The bathroom have a shower. Fresh fruits are provided everyday. The owner was very friendly. Would highly recommend the place if one is interested in staying in a heritage house in Launceston.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was one of the highlights of our recent visit to Tasmania! This heritage listed property is not to be missed. I absolutely agree with Paddys111 comment, "Don't bother looking for anywhere else - STAY HERE!". We stayed 3 nights and were very glad we did. We chose it because my wife is a heritage consultant, knows the house from books and wanted to experience it at first hand.

We were given room no. 3 on the ground floor. It was VAST! There was a small kitchenette in a cupboard and an en-suite was tucked away in a corner of what must have been one of the principal rooms of this 2 storey house. There is easily accessible off-street parking and self-service laundry is available for $10.00 a load with detergent and dryer (30 minutes) included. A Hills hoist is located in the parking area.

Kilmarnock House is located on Elphin Road in East Launceston. A shopping centre with a large Coles supermarket is less than 5 minutes' drive away. We will certainly stay here the next time we visit Launceston.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V581ZSdonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Check in was easy and the owner was friendly and very helpful. The rooms aren't huge, but they're cozy and well furnished, not to mention extremely clean and well equipped. We stayed 3 nights, clean towels, fresh flowers and the bin was emptied each day. Would we stay again ? Absolutely !

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paddys111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
1.2 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
375 reviews
1.0 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#7 of 30 in Launceston
760 reviews
0.5 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#4 of 30 in Launceston
525 reviews
1.2 mi away
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilmarnock House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmarnock House

Address: 66 Elphin Rd, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range: $81 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilmarnock House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kilmarnock House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilmarnock House Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing