We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really friendly and great accommodation”
Review of Batman Fawkner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Batman Fawkner Inn
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really friendly and great accommodation”
Reviewed December 29, 2010

Had a wonderful time over here, luckily my friend had booked for us to spend two nights here because it was really nice.

Andrea and Stefan were really nice as well and were always accommodating and genuinely wanted to know if our stay was good.

Also, they had a change in management so our booking got misplaced so they upgraded us to the hotel section of the inn. Everything is very clean, I can't think of any budget accommodation that's so clean considering the location was right in the city centre. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    211
    103
    40
    46
See reviews for
79
169
105
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

We just came back from our three day trip to Launceston. We were traveling with our two toddlers, 2 and 4 years old, and we booked a family room. The room was nice and clean and so was the kitchen, the tv room etc.
The managers, Andrea and Stephan, were very friendly and they helped us with all our little things, such as bandades for the kids (excellent first-aid skills of Stephan actually :)!), sending some faxes, telling us where to go and how (swimmingpool/cataract gorge etc), anything really and with a big smile too. How good is that!
Thank you, we had a great time!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aloeette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2010

Andrea & Stephan are sooooooo nice people - they were very friendly with me because my trip in australia has begeninng without lucky. thanks to them, my mood is good !!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotine92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

We booked online through Hostelworld.com and we were surprised that we could book two single beds with an ensuite bathroom for less than $30 per person per night.
We checked in late on Saturday night; when we rung the bell one of the managers came to the desk promptly to greet us. We didn't have any cash on us, so she waived the $50 key deposit, which was awesome - especially at that time of night.

The Batman Fawkner Inn is a beautiful historic site and it's been kept up well over the years. There is plush red carpeting in the lobby, lounge, and up the stairs. The freshly oiled wooden railings make you wonder whether you might have stepped back in time. There are period paintings hung on the walls, and the wallpaper reminds me of British detective dramas.

Our room was spartan, but very clean. I believe it has the original hardwood floors, which have been seal protected and shine with the good care they've received. There's a wardrobe with a couple of hangers and a couple of drawers; there's also a small desk with a couple of drawers. As the room is very old, there are no screens on the windows, but the windows are spotless and we haven't noticed any mosquitoes or other insects in our room. The ensuite bathroom works well and is a nice perk. The shower head is set rather low, but the managers are planning to change this soon. Towels are not supplied but can be rented.

The kitchen is almost intimidatingly clean and well-supplied. The fridges are cleaned out regularly; there's plenty of room. The manager even gave us a cooler bag that had been left behind by a former guest. There's a working oven, toaster, sandwich toaster, microwave, kettle, and a surprising number of martini shakers.

There's free wifi in the dining area and the lounge (they're working on extending the range). This is a huge perk, as the other hostels we've stayed at so far have charged an additional (and to us) exorbitant fee to use the internet for a limited amount of time.

Apparently the management has just changed here, but both the former and the current have been extremely helpful and kind. The new management asked us for tips on how they could improve (we didn't have many) as they are trying to achieve YHA status. Also, upon speaking to the new manager, she told us that Hostelworld.com had charged us too much for our 1 week stay, as we should be entitled to 1 free night, so they will be reimbursing us. They are also offering 1 free beer per guest checking in for a stay of 1 week. Additionally, guests of the Inn are entitled to a 5% discount to the adjoining Honey Lounge.

The atmosphere here is quiet, but as we're a couple in our late 20's we kind of like that. Although it's not a party place, we've enjoyed a pleasant camaraderie with the other guests at the Inn.

We're very impressed with our stay so far and are looking forward to the remainder of our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamhanded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

The Batman Fawkner Inn has a sense of its history and the generations of lives that have used the building over the century and a half of its existence. It is a great backpackers - located on the edge of the centre of things, comfortable beds, friendly permanents, well set up kitchen, clean, bunk rooms with ensuites and extremely accomodating and friendly mangement. Don't know what I expected but the reality exceeded.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerr31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2010

We received excellent service. An extra heater and pillows were provided on request and the room was spotless. We were very happy with the room which was quiet and the bed was comfortable. The staff are very pleasant and helpful and certainly go the extra mile to make sure guests are comfortable.
The kitchen and dining area was well equipped and also very clean.
There are a number of good eateries very close by and it is a pleasant walk to the main city area.
It was wonderful to have a quiet, comfortable and spotless room so close to the city and at such reasonable rates. There was nothing negative in our experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asorcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.2 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Launceston
0.8 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Batman Fawkner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batman Fawkner Inn

Property: Batman Fawkner Inn
Address: 35-39 Cameron Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Batman Fawkner Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Batman Fawkner Inn is a place full of history. This lovely historical building was built back in 1824 and was where a meeting was held which resulted in the settlement of Melbourne. The Batman Fawkner Inn boasts a range of 40 rooms including Family, King, Queen, Double, Twin, and Backpacker all with private in-room bathrooms. All rooms (excluding backpacker) have in-room Reverse cycle Air Conditioners, Digital TV, Tea/Coffee Making Facilities & Fridges. Backpacker rooms have in-room heating, ensuites bathrooms and are bunk style accommodation. Situated in the centre of Launceston's CBD, we are only 5 minutes from City Park, 10 minutes to Cataract Gorge/Tamar River and close to shopping centre's and malls. We are also only 10 minutes walk from Aurora Stadium, Tasmania's home of AFL Football. The hotel has undergone extensive renovations in 2014 with some major upgrades and we are proud to announce that we are under new management as of November 2014. We offer free Wi-Fi internet (limits apply and additional can be purchase) in all areas of the hotel which includes in all rooms. On-Site Laundry Facilities are also available. We have a large Common Room/Lounge which has a kitchen (Oven, Stove, Microwave, Fridge & Preparation Area), lounge & wide-screen TV, 8-Ball table, large dining table and vending machines. Management and Staff look forward to having you stay next time you visit Launceston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Batman Fawkner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batman Fawkner Inn Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing