We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Batman Fawkner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Batman Fawkner Inn
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

we incidentally came across the hotel and were warmly received by the proprietors who just happened to have a spare apartment at the far back of the hotel. This turned out a lucky coincidence as well. We noticed later that we were far away from all those happy backbackers that shared rooms of 4 (or more?) The room was clean and spacious with a fully equipped kitchen in the adjacent room; bathroom and shower were basic and clean. The Building has some historic charm especially when it come to finding your your in the maze of staircases and hallways. It was an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ventus_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    203
    101
    40
    44
See reviews for
76
164
105
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Our first visit to Launceston and a very warm welcome from the receptionist, a beautiful German shepherd-cross. Very clever dog! We loved the staff who were always eager to help and have a chuckle. We booked a 2 bed dorm and were pleasantly surprised to see they upgraded us to the double ensuite. Had all the basics plus a fridge, kettle & tv. As a hostel/budget accommodation, they really tick all the boxes. Free wi-fi and parking was a bonus too.

Room Tip: 2 bed dorm ensuite has a bunk bed option with a double mattress on bottom level - good cheap alterna...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

When you book into a hostel, you expect things to be pretty basic. If thats what you want , then don't book into this place! Firstly the friendly welcome comes from the family dog! The whole family make themselves known to you - and you know you have made new friends. The room I stayed in was clean and had all essentials as well as a fridge, tv and my own ensuite bathroom! (yes I am describing a hostel!) The prices were brilliant and the location central to all in the town. Stefan and Andrea go out of their way to ensure a personalised service to all their guests. I recommend this establishment to anyone who is looking for a friendly, family atmosphere, a bargain, and wants to be made "at home". I really didn't want to leave Launceston and Batman Fawkner Inn played a part in making me feel this way!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquiAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

The Inn is in a beautiful historic building in the city centre. The Belgian manager did everything to ensure we had a good stay. It started with staying up late to accomodate our late arrival, continued with lots of information on Launceston and ended with helping organize our further travels.
Our two bunk room was small but clean and functional with great hot shower.
Highly recommended.
We stayed four days in October 2011.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Good value hotel in central location. Rooms were basic but clean and did the job. Security light outside window was irritating and room could do with a better blind.
Staff friendly and interested in providing good service.

Room Tip: Away from the security light in the car park. Didnt know there was swimming pool (see above rating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tom s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Perfectly located near the park and very close to the central city shopping. Comfy beds, clean linen, awesome shower, TV in room. We had a family room right at back of Inn so was very quiet. Management very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlipperTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
443 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

The manager is a wealth of information and makes you feel very welcome. The location is right in the centre of town so you can walk to a lot of the museums and attractions. Rooms are a little small and the bathroom is even smaller but there is a community kitchen and lounge room if you want more space. There is also a laundry facility and off-street parking.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn-and-Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.2 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
0.8 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Batman Fawkner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batman Fawkner Inn

Property: Batman Fawkner Inn
Address: 35-39 Cameron Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Batman Fawkner Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Batman Fawkner Inn is a place full of history. This lovely historical building was built back in 1824 and was where a meeting was held which resulted in the settlement of Melbourne. The Batman Fawkner Inn boasts a range of 40 rooms including Family, King, Queen, Double, Twin, and Backpacker all with private in-room bathrooms. All rooms (excluding backpacker) have in-room Reverse cycle Air Conditioners, Digital TV, Tea/Coffee Making Facilities & Fridges. Backpacker rooms have in-room heating, ensuites bathrooms and are bunk style accommodation. Situated in the centre of Launceston's CBD, we are only 5 minutes from City Park, 10 minutes to Cataract Gorge/Tamar River and close to shopping centre's and malls. We are also only 10 minutes walk from Aurora Stadium, Tasmania's home of AFL Football. The hotel has undergone extensive renovations in 2014 with some major upgrades and we are proud to announce that we are under new management as of November 2014. We offer free Wi-Fi internet (limits apply and additional can be purchase) in all areas of the hotel which includes in all rooms. On-Site Laundry Facilities are also available. We have a large Common Room/Lounge which has a kitchen (Oven, Stove, Microwave, Fridge & Preparation Area), lounge & wide-screen TV, 8-Ball table, large dining table and vending machines. Management and Staff look forward to having you stay next time you visit Launceston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Batman Fawkner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batman Fawkner Inn Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing