We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you want to be guaranteed of a great place to stay this place is a true gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Two Four Two Boutique Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2010

if you want to be guaranteed of a great place to stay this place is a true gem! Our last night in Tasmania, and we had definitely saved the best place to stay till last, it was such a shame that it was only for one night, but it has given us a taster & we will be back for more! We stayed in 'The Terrace', a fabulous apartment, truly a home from home. A fully equipped kitchen, whether you just want tea & some of the yummy complimentary homemade biscuits; a full bbq or even a microwave meal from the Italian next door; Katie & Alan, the owners, have thought of it all! Their attention to detail is a testament to them both. Sumptuous breakfast provisions of eggs, cereals, bread, jams & ohh the King Island Yogurt (amazing!) are provided for you & makes a welcome change to enjoy brekka at your own pace, snuggled up on the sofa encased in a snug robe (provided) in an abundance of cushions and cosy throws. Up the spiral staircase is the spacious bedroom with en-suite bathroom - We want to move in! If you want to crash out after a long day there are a stack of DVD's, CD's and magazines for you to peruse. Or if you fancy stepping out Katie & Alan have a box full of menu's from the local restaurants. We ventured out to the 'Black Cow' and my husband has commented that the steak he had, was probably the best steak he has eaten in his lifetime! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
There are newer reviews for Two Four Two Boutique Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 162 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2010

There can be nothing better than this in Launceston ! I stayed in the Westin in Sydney one day then on to Two Four Two in Launceston the next - and I wasn't one bit disappointed - as a matter of fact, I was extremely impressed. Two Four Two has a lovely cottage called No.10. It was impressively decorated, very comfortable bed, fantastic wine selection - some of my favourites (optional purchase), it even had an umbrella, great CD selection and magazines. The kitchen had everything you would need and more. The place had good heating so I found it nice and warm. It is near to a couple of very nice cafes, Elaia and Tant Pour Tant, both have great coffee and food. Do yourself a favour and stay in No. 10 rather than a hotel - you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernsie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

TWOFOURTWO is a lovely apartment accommodation located almost in the centre of Launceston. Created by local designer Alan Livermore, he beautifully decked out the space with some of the most exquisite pieces of furniture made from Tasmanian wood - some of it built by himself. It's a small business run by a husband-and-wife team with only three units of apartments for hire. Two of them are 1-BR apartments and another is a 2-BR one.

Everything is kept extremely clean. It has everything from a mini kitchen with a coffee machine, an iPod dock, a library full of DVDs and CDs and the softest bed I have ever lied on. WiFi Internet and Guest Laundry is entirely free. Breakfast is included, but you have to wake up early and make them yourselves. No complaints - if hungry, there's always Elaia restaurant next door and a Burger With Soul restaurant just across the road.

I absolutely LOVE the bathrub with the jacuzzi and bath soaps with mint aroma.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kennysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2010

We stayed at “The Terrace” apartment for 2 nights in March and just loved it. This one bedroom apartment was modern, very well appointed, clean and comfortable. The hosts Katie & Alan really have thought of everything that would make their guests comfortable.

The 2-level apartment was connected by a spiral staircase. A large bedroom and a bathroom (shower/bath/spa) occupy the top floor. The king size bed was very comfortable with a pillow menu on offer. It was great to find lovely Tasmanian toiletries in the bathroom together with fluffy bathrobes. There is a small balcony with a comfy chair.

A well furnished lounge and beautifully equipped kitchen occupy the ground floor. A double door opened to the terrace which was furnished with an outdoor table/bench and a granite top BBQ. In the kitchen was a wine rack with half a dozen bottle of wine from local boutique wineries for guest consumption (on pay as you use basis). It was great to see local small producers being promoted. The included breakfast provision was generous and the King Island yogurt was heavenly!

The apartment is conveniently located in Charles Street, with several restaurants in the vicinity including a fantastic French bakery Tant pourTant serving excellent coffee and croissants (best in Australia, claimed a local).

We chose TwoFourTwo based on reviews on TA and so glad we did! It was the best place we’ve stayed during our 2 weeks driving tour of Tasmania. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmaker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

I stayed at TwoFourTwo for three nights in early February in The Terrace. I booked based on the TripAdvisor reviews and absolutely loved this place - I wish I could have stayed longer.

The downstairs and the outdoor areas were great for lounging and I loved the bathroom with the jetted tub. The kitchen had all of the glassware, pots and pans,coffee maker, etc. that you could possibly need along with high quality breakfast ingredients.

The Terrace is the room with the spiral staircase as other reviews have noted. I had a large bag as I was on an extended trip and I simply left it downstairs as it would have been difficult to drag up the staircase. It made for a few extra trips up and down the stairs but was really no problem.

In addition to lots of restaurants in easy walking distance and a grocery store just a couple of blocks down the road, there is a great gourmet deli and shop just around the corner on Canning Street called Delicacy that sells wine, cheese, meats and all kinds of potential gift items - I wish I would have discovered it before my last day!

The only bit of a negative was a noisy Saturday night due to nearby bars but I think this was worsened by the fact that it was very hot when I was there so I had all of the doors and windows open which allowed more sound in. But that would not keep me from staying here again or highly recommending it to others.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
1  Thank mkedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

Our original plan was to stay at Two Four Two only for 1 night as we arrived in Launceston late at night. We loved it so much we organised to stay again the night before flying out.
The owners are lovely and very friendly. They run the shop on the ground floor which had a great collection of wine and crafty things. They provided lots of helpful advice and were friendly to chat with without intruding.
This was the first night of our honeymoon and it was a great way to start our Tasmanian experience. We stayed in the 1 bedroom. The entrance stairs were challenging, but not a problem. The apartment itself was modern and really well layed out for the space with defined kitchen, lounge & bedroom areas. They had iPod docking station and a small selection of DVDs. The bedroom was spacious and the bed very comfy and clean. White sheets on the bed and white towels in the bathroom. The kitchen was fitted out perfectly with a breakfast basket, a selection of wines for purchase and a coffee machine. All pots & pans that would be needed.
The location is pretty good, although you would be a bit of a hike to the main mall. But there are shops just outside and a supermarket a block down. It's on a one way street which is a bit confusing to find if you arrive at night with no idea of Launceston, but well worth the adventure.
We honestly loved this place so much, we ended up buying the ottomans for our own home! Trust the website for this one. I will return and recommend it to all.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OutToDiscover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2010

We had a wonderful stay in the Terrace at Two Four Two in Launceston. Every amenity was provided, including ingredients to cook your own breakfast (not something we find in the USA). It was like having your own apartment and all the extras were there to make your stay enjoyable, including robes, dvds, magazines, travel info, pillow choices etc. For some, the spiral staircase could be awkward to negotiate with luggage but we loved the two level unit. Also check out the restaurant next door....for lunch we had a wonderful chorizo and shrimp pizza that I am still trying to recreate at home. You'll love the neighborhood charm and the concentration of restaurants within walking distance.....best area we found in Launceston.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kabahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.8 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
901 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
1,528 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.7 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#2 of 30 in Launceston
887 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quest Launceston
Quest Launceston
#8 of 30 in Launceston
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Four Two Boutique Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Four Two Boutique Apartments

Address: 242 Charles St., Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Launceston
Price Range: $158 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Two Four Two Boutique Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Visitor Location. Ultra chic, boutique, self-catering apartments. All apartments offer luxury king size beds, a DVD library, coffee machines, state of the art kitchens and high speed wi-fi.TWOFOURTWO Boutique Apartments are nestled in the heart of cosmopolitan Charles Street, with cafes, restaurants, a delicatessen, fresh fruit and vegetables, specialty Tasmanian butcher, supermarket and bottle shop all within a 2 minute walk from your accommodation. Cafe Mondello now graces the complex offering an all day breakfast menu. Yours to experience and enjoy! Rated 5 Stars on Google Reviews ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Two Four Two Boutique Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Two Four Two Boutique Apartments Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing