We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven on beautiful Charles Street”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Two Four Two Boutique Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2014

What a great find in Launceston. TwoFourTwo is hidden away on a side lane, so although it's super central to the CBD it's very quiet. Very well appointed room (we stayed in The Terrace) split over two levels. There are bikes to use to get around, and a few great food outlets nearby; we had a burger from across the road, and breakfast at the cafe which is part of the property. Pam, the owner, was very attentive and a real pleasure to deal with. Highly recommend for a weekend away.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Terrace and can't comment on the other rooms, but can say that the website was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlovibond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 162 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed a few nights in The Studio. The apartment is not huge but spacious enough for a few days for two adults, it is vey nicely decorated and clean (except the coffee machine). The Studio consists of an open plan kitchen with small dinner table, area with a couch and tv and bed with huge wardrobe and a seperate bathroom.

The location is great, only a few minutes to the centre of Launceston. There is a cafe downstairs but they close early, so no noise in the evening.

The only thing that disappointed us was the breakfast provisions which are according to the website 'generous'. We got one slice of bread per person per day, a small yoghurt per day to share between two adults, muesli, eggs, milk and some spreads fot the bread. Coffee and tea were provided but no chai or hot chocolate as mentioned on the website. It would probably be better if they update the website or add a few extra breakfasr items if they continue to call it 'generous', for example tomato, mushroom, fruit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tassie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

5 of us from Hong Kong stayed at the Bakehouse for 2 nights. We wish we had stayed for longer.

We flew in from Sydney in the evening, arriving at the Launceston airport at around 9pm (when most of the shops were already closed). After getting our car and driving for around 15 mins, we arrived at TWOFOURTWO (on 242 Charles Street) and got our key to the Bakehouse (btw parking is free). Thinking that we would probably have to starve for the night, to our surprise we discovered that there was a HUGE Coles supermarket just down the street and we ended up making full use of the well-equipped kitchen and made ourselves a delicious meal with Indomie + all sorts of Tasmania's local produce :)

Apart from the well-equipped kitchen, the apartment itself is clean, tidy, tastefully decorated (with comfy beds and pillows) and conveniently located (around 10-min walk to the busiest street). There is also free wi-fi which is again a pleasant surprise! As for the price, we booked through the TWOFOURTWO site directly and it only cost us AUD350 (for 5 people so AUD70 per person) per night - so it was truly a BARGAIN (considering how expensive things are in Australia)!

Last but not least, I should also mention that one of us left her bag (with all her money, passport and an expensive SLR camera) inside the apartment when we checked out (RIDICULOUS I know!). As we called to ask about it, the owner, Pam, who is a very nice and friendly German lady, immediately attended to it and arranged for the bag to be couriered to our hotel in Hobart (on the same day). And she even called up the hotel later in the day just to follow up and make sure that they would be expecting the bag. Needless to say we were all very very impressed.

So for those of you who are travelling to Launceston, I would definitely recommend you to stay at TWOFOURTWO (and if schedule permits, try to stay more than 1 night and take full advantage of the kitchen and patio etc.). In particular, for those who are from Hong Kong, I would add that this is much better value for money than the chained-brand hotels which are usually recommended by the tour operators - and I can assure you that you will not be disappointed with your stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevinso1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I spent one day with my husband and my parents at the Bake house. I love the place. It's relaxing and staff is extremely like. I would recommend this place to any of my friends who will visit Launceston.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ying c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We had a night here and stayed in the Bake House, a 2 bedroom unit. We loved it. Fitted with everything to make your stay feel like home. Including magazines, a picnic basket, cookery books, selection of reasonably priced good wines, a delicious breakfast basket plus all the things you expect. Located close to good restaurants and coffee shops and a stroll into town. This is a terrific place and will defiantly be returning for a longer stay. A big YES to this one

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Greymaambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed in the Studio in February and it was very comfortable. Great location for eating and walking to local shops. The accommodation includes everything you will need and the garden spot is perfect for a wine in the evening.

Room Tip: Studio has very steep stairs on entry to take into consideration and is above a café that starts set...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DawnN109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

In Launceston for just one night to attend the annual food and wine Festivale for the 8th time - first time staying at TwoFourTwo - which we loved and will definitely return! As others have said, it was the little touches that made all the difference - provisions (incl.Tasmanian yogurts and jams) to make a yummy and satisfying breakfast, cookies to have with coffee - just lovely treats. Launceston and the Tamar Valley has so much to offer and this is the perfect base.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MummaBear59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.8 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
968 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.4 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,637 reviews
0.5 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#4 of 30 in Launceston
526 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Four Two Boutique Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Four Two Boutique Apartments

Address: 242 Charles St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Launceston
Price Range: $150 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Two Four Two Boutique Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Visitor Location. Ultra chic, boutique, self-catering apartments. All apartments offer luxury king size beds, a DVD library, coffee machines, state of the art kitchens and high speed wi-fi.TWOFOURTWO Boutique Apartments are nestled in the heart of cosmopolitan Charles Street, with cafes, restaurants, a delicatessen, fresh fruit and vegetables, specialty Tasmanian butcher, supermarket and bottle shop all within a 2 minute walk from your accommodation. Cafe Mondello now graces the complex offering an all day breakfast menu. Yours to experience and enjoy! Rated 5 Stars on Google Reviews ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Two Four Two Boutique Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Two Four Two Boutique Apartments Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing