We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Two Four Two Boutique Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

In Launceston for just one night to attend the annual food and wine Festivale for the 8th time - first time staying at TwoFourTwo - which we loved and will definitely return! As others have said, it was the little touches that made all the difference - provisions (incl.Tasmanian yogurts and jams) to make a yummy and satisfying breakfast, cookies to have with coffee - just lovely treats. Launceston and the Tamar Valley has so much to offer and this is the perfect base.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MummaBear59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    41
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
95
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed in the Bakery apartment in order to ensure that we had a bedroom and bathroom on the ground floor rather than having To negotiate a spiral staircase between the two. This apartment has 2 bedrooms and both are well appointed. Bathroom is large with a separate loo. There's a BBQ in the private courtyard outside (which we did have to clean before using). Around the corner is a fab grocer and a variety of eaterIes plus a large but disappointing supermarket. We loved having the option to cook for ourselves having stayed in hotels the rest of the way around tassie.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonOzbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night in early December and was recommended this place by a friend. We were really impressed with the offering, the breakfast rations were great and the view from the terrace was lovely. Would recommend this place as the location in Launceston is great with cafés and restaurants only a short walk away.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maddi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed for five nights in late December and really enjoyed the stay. The Studio is compact and basically one large room but the use of the space is very clever and it felt much bigger. The bathroom is gorgeous, bed comfy and huge wardrobes. Bathrobes, breakfast provisions, wifi, air con, all the comforts of home. Shared barbecue available in the courtyard. The laundry facility is a huge bonus. My only reservation is the staircase up to the apartment which might be a consideration for anyone with wonky knees so one of the other options here might be a better one or you.

The area is just as other reviewers have said, lots of eating options right at the doorstep and a neighbourhood fruit and veg shop which is excellent. The fresh pasta place and Burger Got Soul also excellent and we liked Delicacy, a providore and cafe in a neighbouring street.

Launceston central is only four blocks away and a stop in the charming park on the way is recommended.

Thanks Pam for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welovenewhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed in The Terrace apartment for 2 nights in early January and loved it! The owners have literally thought of everything. It comes complete with a fully stocked kitchen, coffee machine, dishwasher, CD player (+CDs), DVD player (+DVDs), magazines, books, hot water bottles etc. I can’t think of anything the apartment was missing. For this reason, it would be an ideal place to stay for an extended period as you could very easily self cater.

The apartment was really funky – obviously a lot of thought has gone into the interior design. It was modern and clean. There was outdoor seating in the courtyard under the trees which was nice to use as well. Bikes were available to use which we thought were a great way to see the city.

We loved the location of the apartment as it is really close to restaurants, cafes and a cool burger joint. It was also a very short walk to supermarkets and a fruit/veg shop. You don’t need to get in your car while you are staying there – you can walk easily to where you want to go.

The breakfast provisions provided were more than adequate for the 2 mornings we were there: natural muesli, toast, butter and spreads, eggs, milk, juice, yoghurt etc. Coffee and lovely French loose leaf teas were also provided. There was a generous jar of gourmet biscuits in the kitchen – delicious and quickly devoured! Beer and wine were also available to purchase.

The owners have clearly put a lot of thought into the way The Terrace apartment is presented and the sorts of provisions that are left for guests. We loved staying here – it was so much better than a sterile motel. It had everything you’d need and more.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbuddy010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We spent three nights here (in The Terrace) at the start of our fortnight in Tasmania, and it was such a perfect introduction. The hosts here have tried to think of everything; I often comment that hoteliers should stay in their own rooms regularly to see what it's like living with (for instance) two few hangers or ultra-thin curtains, and it is clear that the TWOFOURTWO people have done this.

The location is terrific - you're in the centre of the trendy restaurant district, with several excellent places on your doorstep, and just a short walk from the centre of town. Or - in our case - a very short cycle ride, as this place also has bikes for its guests.

As for facilities, we were delighted with the DVD and CD collections, the laundry (with washing machine and very efficient dryer), the outside table for breakfast, and the shopping basket (supermarkets charge for plastic bags in Tassie - quite right too).

Excellent value for the high standard of welcome and accommodation - if we're ever in Lonnie again, we may move in permanently.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susievintage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We spent our last night in Tassie staying at 242 Launceston.
I had emailed them the previous day to let them know we would be in Launceston quite early and they replied they would have our room ready by 12.30 at the latest. In fact it was ready by 11.30. Great service.
We stayed in The Terrace. A very modern, well-appointed 2 storey apartment. It had everything you needed. The only disappointment was the tv in the bedroom. A tiny, old 14" crt portable. It really looked out of place.
The apartments are well situated. Surrounded by pubs, cafes, etc, and only a short walk in to town.

I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tommyfromsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWOFOURTWO, Owner at Two Four Two Boutique Apartments, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thankyou tommyfromsydney for your review and for highlighting the old television in the bedroom. You were right, it did look out of place. As a result I have replaced it with a brand new flat screen Samsung. Thanks again, Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.2 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.8 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Four Two Boutique Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Four Two Boutique Apartments

Property: Two Four Two Boutique Apartments
Address: 242 Charles St., Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Two Four Two Boutique Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Visitor Location. Ultra chic, boutique, self-catering apartments. All apartments offer luxury king size beds, a DVD library, coffee machines, state of the art kitchens and high speed wi-fi.TWOFOURTWO Boutique Apartments are nestled in the heart of cosmopolitan Charles Street, with cafes, restaurants, a delicatessen, fresh fruit and vegetables, specialty Tasmanian butcher, supermarket and bottle shop all within a 2 minute walk from your accommodation. Cafe Mondello now graces the complex offering an all day breakfast menu. Yours to experience and enjoy! Rated 5 Stars on Google Reviews ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Two Four Two Boutique Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Two Four Two Boutique Apartments Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing