We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location, great hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Reviewed January 31, 2014

My softball team recently stayed at the apartments for 3-4 nights and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. The hospitality was excellent and the communication leading up to booking 5 apartments was well recommended. I dealt with 3 different people and they were all fabulous. We have booked again for next year. The meals in the bistro were all beautiful and they catered for a large group at short notice. Thankyou. Highly recommend apartments,the grounds are beautifully kept. The location is also perfect. Thanks again
Nathaly Casey 2 Cans.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natski0522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 94 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed in 2 different 1 bedroom apartments during our recent stay in Tasmania. We found both very good. 1 had been newly painted with new curtains and both had new carpet. Both beds were comfy and bed linen was new. There is a full kitchen and laundry but the bathroom was very small. If you are arriving later get the safe code for the key as we found the night manager wasn't home and we were lucky that the dining room people were able to help us out. It's only 5 minutes to the city but nice and peaceful. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I have utilsed Alanvale Apartments since 2000.

The one bedroom accommodation where I usually stay is very comfortable, well appointed, and clean. A laundry comprising a sink, washing machine, dryer, iron, ironing board, and clothes horse, provides a valuable in house convenience.

The kitchenette is equipped with an electric cooker, microwave refrigerator, toaster and kettle, and adequate utensils and crockery to prepare and serve meals if required.

The living room is fitted with a flat screen television , dining table and chairs ; also a comfortable lounge suite.

A queen size orthopedic bed is positioned in the bedroom. It is most comfortable, and gives full support for a good nights rest. If it did not, I would not be returning to stay again, and again, over the past 14 years. The bedroom is also equipped with a television

Alanvale Apartments is nicely positioned just out of town, but near to the suburbs of Mowbray, Newnham, and the University of Tasmania [ also AMC ] Getting into town is very easy on the Northern Outlet road and takes only 3 -4 minutes, by car, to get into central Launceston.

The gardens are unique. There are wide expanses of lawn, rose beds, flowers a plenty, and the spreading elm trees, with a canopy of floating green foliage overhead in summer time..The character of the buildings is a reproduction of the English Elizabethan era, which is far more appealing than plane brick accommodation blocks marketed in other areas.

The early morning bird song welcomes the new day, and the staff are friendly and helpful.

An on site licensed restaurant, at Archers Manor,provides evening meals and is part of the Alanvale Apartments complex.

Room Tip: There are Motel style rooms, also one / two / and three bedroom units to meet your needs. Ask the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

With trepidation we rang and voiced our concerns about poor reviews. We were told that we would find it clean and comfortable. We found it more than met our expectations. To our surprise everything was in very good condition and well presented.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanD24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed here in Feb 2013 for a couple of nights after having stayed at St Ives Apartments for a week. St Ives Apartments were beautiful.

Thank god the nights of stay weren't the other way around.

This place stunk of mould, the front door was half jammed, staircase was gloomy and hadn't seen a cleaner's brush for many a year, the carpet was putrid in the stairwell and there were spider webs everywhere.

The apartment was only marginally better - stunk of mould, tried to open a window for ventilation and the frame nearly fell out, the curtain felt like it was going to disintegrate on touch.

I am suspicious of the few really good reviews about this place - maybe there is one apartment that is up to scratch, and maybe the good reviews are false. Can't say for sure, but this is one place that's not worth gambling on getting the good rooms.

We will never stay here again - we drove past this place last week and gagged at the memory of it. This time we stayed at Quest Apartments in the city, which were as nice as St Ives.


The apartments are self rated at 3.5 star, but I would rate the one we were in as 1 star,

Room Tip: Pick another venue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Gerhardp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_AlanvaleApts, Manager at Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for your review. It is a pity you have stayed silent for so long and also didnt give us the opportunity when you stayed, for us to deal with your concerns at the time. 12 Months is a long time to stay silent. I am a bit perplexed regarding the comment ( window frame that nearly fell out as this is a serious structural problem). As for the good reports being false, we take all reports as being good bad or indifferent. It is a fact that on this site we do not know which reports are false and which are true.
We have a good percentage of our clients are return business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

For the self-caterers, Archers Manor/Alanvale Apartments are great value. There is everything you need for a comfortable stay - I have been staying at Alanvale Apartments for many years - the staff are very helpful and friendly. It is especially close to the University of Tasmania and TasTAFE's Alanvale campus, good also as a starting point for attractions around Launceston.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiW888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_AlanvaleApts, Manager at Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thanks for the review DiW888, We are glad you enjoy our hospitality and proximity to facilities and attractions. We hope to see you again soon!

Cheers
Julie and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Reasonably easy to find - great location only 5 minutes to the middle of Launceston. Beds were comfortable although the sofa bed downstairs has seen better days! Could improve by including an undercover outside area attached to the villas - makes it easier on rainy days..

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and check in and booking was a breeze.

Only negative was waking up to the unsavory neighbours (not in the complex) swearing at the top of their lungs at the native birds.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pensta12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_AlanvaleApts, Manager at Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thanks for the feedback!
Hopefully you will see some updated furniture on your next visit. Sorry about the noisy native fauna!

Cheers
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
2.8 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#19 of 30 in Launceston
560 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tamar River Villas
Tamar River Villas
#2 of 2 in Riverside
135 reviews
3.3 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Coach House
Comfort Inn Coach House
#15 of 30 in Launceston
162 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Launceston
Hotel Launceston
#22 of 30 in Launceston
468 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn

Address: 15 - 17 Alanvale Rd, Launceston, Tasmania 7248, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Price Range: $80 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OLD TUDOR ELEGANCE with English charm best describes ALANVALE APARTMENTS AND MOTOR INN. Superbly located on the Archers Manor site, Newnham. Alanvale Apartments provide a turn of the century English experience while pampering the guests with amenities of today, such as dial up Internet access in each room, for both corporate and family use. At Alanvale Apartments you will find friendly staff, helpful management and an atmosphere that is second to none. Whilst at Alanvale Apartments you have a choice of staying in either a comfortable Motel suite with a tranquil rural aspect, or in one of our spacious 1, 2, bedroom self contained apartments. In a variety of configurations, all with full kitchen and laundry facilities. (Some have two bathrooms.) The buildings are set in the tranquil and elegant style of a Tudor village with its own village green. Located just a 5 minute drive, i.e. about 4 kilometers, from the city centre of Launceston, adjacent to the Maritime College and the University. Ideally situated for the Tamar Valley, Northern Tasmania and city tours, and to a number of spectacular attractions, including heritage sites such as The Grove, Franklin House, Entally House and Clarendon House, wineries, the lavender farm, Seahorse farm, Beaconsfield gold mine & Museum, Launceston’s Cataract Gorge, Low Head Pilot Station and many more. Other experiences available include forest appreciation and wildlife tours, with Tamar river cruises a must. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alanvale Apartments & Motor Inn Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing