We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arkana Motor Inn & Terrace Apartments
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Mount Gambier
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Can't fault”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed over the queens birthday weekend in a two bedroom room with kitchen.
Beds comfy, functional/well equipped kitchen, leather couches, wall TV, excellent bathroom with plenty of towels. We even got our own laundry.
My only gripe is that the oven is a pain to use, but thats just me looking really hard to find something bad.
Located in the centre of Mt Gambier too.
Great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattU948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    161
    30
    2
    1
See reviews for
135
97
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, vic
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in a deluxe spa room no.14 i think it was at the end on ground floor, couldn't fault the room, was clean and tidy and well layed out, and room was on the large side too which is nice.
Has a dvd player, microwave, toaster, kettle n cutlery all provided in room. when we first arrived check in was quick n simple, road noise was heard during the afternoon when arrived, but later in day after 6pm no noise to complain about didn't hear any trucks or cars to keep us up, had a good sleep each night.also being on bottom level we couldn't hear people above us, not to extent that bothered us, of course you will hear the odd movement but didn't hear voices etc..
we used the pool once which was clean n tidy, much prefered our nice warm spa in room with the current weather atm being a lil cool. The south eastern pub down road is within walking distance and nice food, or you can head back into town other way and a couple min drive have your choice of almost anything you can think of to eat. all in all would happily recommend this place to stay at to anyone, good base for exploring mount gambier and day tripping to coast.

Room Tip: treat yourself get a spa room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed for one night in a Back Terrace Apartment. The apartments have been recently fitted out with modern, stylish fittings and are equipped with everything a family would need for a much longer stay than we had (including a dishwasher!). Shops - including take-away/restaurants and supermarkets - are all within a reasonable walking distance. The motel has entry points from the major streets either side of the property, making it easy to access. Given this, we didn't hear much road noise from our apartment (which was in the centre of the property).

Our apartment looked out to the indoor pool - which was clean and well maintained and we all enjoyed using it before making a quick dash across the grass back to the warmth of our room.

The beds were comfortable and warm, but we all found the pillows a bit hard. Also, the window to the toilet faced onto the front verandah reducing the feeling of privacy. My daughters loved the spa which, unlike others we have used, was easy to operate. And we were all happy to find lovely thick towels in the bathroom.

Unfortunately the other members of my family woke with mosquito/insect bites after our stay here. It may not be a reflection of the property, rather a reflection of that particular night and the change in weather. A can of fly spray was provided in the unit that we could have used had we known there was going to be a problem.

Overall, we were very comfortable with our stay in this apartment and would recommend it to others as a very good option for families visiting the area.

Room Tip: Back terrace apartments are quiet and have great access to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwwidane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodville, Adelaide South Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Found the room was comfortable and clean.
Location was good but very noisy as it is on the main street with a lot of trucks going by. I would suggest some ear plugs as the don't stop all night. Don't stay on the ground floor as anyone above can be heard.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelqueen1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCArkanaMotorInn, Owner at Arkana Motor Inn & Terrace Apartments, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
I am sorry you didn't sleep very well with the road noise during your stay. If you were ever to stay again we do have rooms that are away from the road as well as upstairs that are quieter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here for a nights stop over on the way to Adelaide. We had a family room for ourselves and two children. The room had a queen and 2 singles and was more that spacious enough. It looked modern and clean. The only negative I had was the bed was hard and not the best nights sleep I've ever had, I reckon it could have done with some sort of pillowed topper on there to make it a bit softer. The traffic noise can be heard from the room but it stopped by the time we went to sleep so didn't worry us. Was within walking distance to the pub where you can get a meal and drinks.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank topdeck73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Very accommodating staff, we were walkins but were upgraded at no cost when a standard room wasn't available. Great room, very neat and clean with good quality furnishing, even a king size bed! A great way to break our trip from Melbourne to Adelaide via the Great Ocean Road

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twoheadstas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is second time we stayed in this hotel. Previous time everything was excellent. This time towels were damp and smelled like they were stored damp for some time. Also pillows were very hard and thick so everyone ended up with sore neck or sleeping without a pillow. We ended up buying a set of our own pillows. These two problems would be easy to correct. Everything else was good. The reception was very nice and helpful. Apartment was clean and had everything we needed. It's not flash but it's clean and great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StayAnonymous13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Gambier hotels
4.6 mi away
The Barn Accommodation
The Barn Accommodation
#2 of 17 in Mount Gambier
538 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Presidential
Quality Inn Presidential
#14 of 17 in Mount Gambier
181 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mount Gambier Hotel
Mount Gambier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Mount Gambier
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Golden Chain Tower Motor Inn
Golden Chain Tower Motor Inn
#3 of 17 in Mount Gambier
234 reviews
0.9 mi away
Commodore on the Park
Commodore on the Park
#4 of 17 in Mount Gambier
178 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lakes Resort
The Lakes Resort
#10 of 17 in Mount Gambier
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arkana Motor Inn & Terrace Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkana Motor Inn & Terrace Apartments

Property: Arkana Motor Inn & Terrace Apartments
Address: 201 Commercial Street East, Mount Gambier, South Australia 5290, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Mount Gambier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Mount Gambier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arkana Motor Inn & Terrace Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Melbourne end of Mount Gambier's main street, the Golden Chain Arkana Motor & Terrace Apartments offer comfortable, quality motel and apartment accommodation for a relaxed stay in the Blue Lake City. Catering for all travellers, we have standard single motel rooms through to deluxe 2 bedroom self contained units with spa baths - all at a price to suit your pocket. Take a dip in our indoor heated pool, watch free cable TV in your room or take a short stroll to the South Eastern Bistro for a superb meal. We also offer beautifully cooked or continental breakfasts delivered to your room. The Golden Chain Arkana Motor & Terrace Apartments is your number one choice for accommodation in Mount Gambier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Arkana Motor Inn & Terrace Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing