We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Bad - clean & unpretentious” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arkana Motor Inn & Terrace Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arkana Motor Inn & Terrace Apartments
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Mount Gambier
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not Bad - clean & unpretentious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Just your standard "Golden Chain" Motel. I stayed in a 2 bed room apartment. The kids room had a bunk bed, and the main bedroom had a queen-sized bed. The bathroom had a shower as well as a large bathtub. The toilet was detached from the bathroom. All standard amenities were provided.
Basic kitchen with cutlery and stovetop. Milk, teabags & coffee were provided.
Just outside the room, in the inner courtyard was a small indoor swimming pool.
Good location , not far from Woolworth if you want to do some grocery shopping. I paid $425 for 2 nights stay.
Look out for the plum trees behind the pool. I picked some fresh yummy plums off the tree and they tasted great.

When in Mt.Gambier, do visit the Volcano at Mt.Shank...amazing rimside views of a perfectly collapsed volcano cone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trawellphreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    142
    29
    2
    1
See reviews for
119
86
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed here two nights. Our small motel unit was clean and well supplied with good lush towels. It was a nuisance not having a kitchen sink when you have a toaster and kettle. The "kitchen bench" was about as wide as the small bar fridge plus a little underbench cupboard about 30cm wide. There was barely room to do your toast. Without a sink you had to fill your jug for tea and coffee from the bathroom sink, which was only just high enough to fit the jug spout underneath. There was also not much cutlery either.
The bed was reasonably comfortable but one side seemed damaged and sank down a bit.
The staff were noticeable by their absence...which might be a good thing.
For the money we paid, it was reasonable because of the pool. However, I don't know why proprietors close their pools so early though. After a long day touring it means eating quite late if you want to squeeze in swim before they close the pool. The pool was lovely in the evenings and there was a special supply of lovely towels just for the pool area. One of the reasons I chose this motel was that the guy at reception told me over the phone that there was a spa. Well he didn't tell me you had to put a dollar in to make it go, and he didn't mention that it wasn't working properly. The only bubbles present were supplied via a thin line of holes to the fore of the seat. There was no way to get any jets going in this spa, and the bubbles were totally ineffective. I was very disappointed by this. One of the biggest problems with the pool and spa is that they are a real health risk due to having no ladders with handles to get in and out of the pool. You have to step from the edge down onto the step below ground level and the whole area is a bit slippery.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCArkanaMotorInn, Owner at Arkana Motor Inn & Terrace Apartments, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Just to let you know we have listened to your review and apllied a few changes.

We now have extra cutlery and crockery supplied in the standard rooms. I'm sorry you were not happy with not having a kitchen sink in your standard room but we do have self contained apartments that do provide this.

Changes have also been made to the spa. The button to operate the bubbles is now free of charge with all the jets operational.

Just to let everybody know our pool hours are from 7:30am to 9:30pm each day.

Thanks for your feedback, it definately helps to improve our motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed here for one night in January on the way home from The Great Ocean Road.

Our lower level room was comfortable, clean and spacious. It was very light in the morning - sunlight came in the very light coloured curtains - but overall a nice sleep - as it was not noisy, couldn't hear the main road traffic at all.

The motor in is one of at least 3 or 4 on this stretch of road and is maybe a good 20-30 minute walk (but we drove) to the main street (Commerical Street West) where most of the shops are. It was raining and cold (in January..!) and so we drove to our food options.

Only thing really missing is a microwave, as plates etc are all provided - but you can't actually prepare anything in the room. Not much is open in Mt Gambier for dinner (and a bit of a walk), so preparing your own food would be a good option.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cammyxxoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCArkanaMotorInn, Owner at Arkana Motor Inn & Terrace Apartments, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
I'm sorry we don't have microwaves in the standard rooms. We do have them in our deluxe rooms and apartments or you can request a microwave on arrival free of charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

My wife and I stayed in one of the apartments overnight. The place was just a bit too small for two adult couples . Two adults with a couple of kids might find it ok.
Our visit was in mid spring and the swimming pool facilities were not yet in operation. The apartment needed airing out. Perhaps that happens during the summer season.
The Arkana is not a new facility and it is located close to some of the main streets in Mount Gambier. Noise from the streets was present but it was not a serious problem for us.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1eyeopen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCArkanaMotorInn, Owner at Arkana Motor Inn & Terrace Apartments, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
I'm sorry that you didn't use our pool whilst you were here. The pool would have been open and operational, we just leave the cover on to keep it clean and keep in the heat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

The holder is very hosptality and warm. You could ask him about travel informations.

Rooms very clean and large. have fridge\ coffee\ bread toaster etc.
Breakfast is homemade and you should choose the food the day before.
Has swimming pool and free parking, internet. very sweet , will come again.

Drive to Blue Lake 10 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiensally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kulnura, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

Very clean, stayed 2 nights with good quality sleep. Jody and Josh made us feel very welcomed. Comfortable bed which we needed after riding 8 hours to get there.And just down the road is the South East Hotel which has good meals. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cefor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed here with family in the next room. Found it to be quiet, clean and rooms are spacious, nicely made over. The family room was very good with a Queen Bed and to singles and plenty of space. Shower was good with plenty of hot water, but don't flush the toilet or clean your teeth when someone is in the shower, please! I used the pool with my young nephews and it was great fun. the pool has a ledge around the inside which made it quite safe for them. My only complaint would be the coin operated spa was a bit cold! The pool was a good temperature and it is all enclosed. A microwave would have been apreciated. We stayed on the weekend and I didn't hear anyy trucks!

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the ground floor with parking out front and nicely renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SilverGoddess47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Gambier hotels
6.0 mi away
The Barn Accommodation
The Barn Accommodation
#2 of 17 in Mount Gambier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Presidential
Quality Inn Presidential
#17 of 17 in Mount Gambier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mount Gambier Hotel
Mount Gambier Hotel
#6 of 17 in Mount Gambier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Golden Chain Tower Motor Inn
Golden Chain Tower Motor Inn
#3 of 17 in Mount Gambier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.9 mi away
Commodore on the Park
Commodore on the Park
#4 of 17 in Mount Gambier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Lake Motel
Blue Lake Motel
#5 of 17 in Mount Gambier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arkana Motor Inn & Terrace Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkana Motor Inn & Terrace Apartments

Property: Arkana Motor Inn & Terrace Apartments
Address: 201 Commercial Street East, Mount Gambier, South Australia 5290, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Mount Gambier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Mount Gambier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arkana Motor Inn & Terrace Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Melbourne end of Mount Gambier's main street, the Golden Chain Arkana Motor & Terrace Apartments offer comfortable, quality motel and apartment accommodation for a relaxed stay in the Blue Lake City. Catering for all travellers, we have standard single motel rooms through to deluxe 2 bedroom self contained units with spa baths - all at a price to suit your pocket. Take a dip in our indoor heated pool, watch free cable TV in your room or take a short stroll to the South Eastern Bistro for a superb meal. We also offer beautifully cooked or continental breakfasts delivered to your room. The Golden Chain Arkana Motor & Terrace Apartments is your number one choice for accommodation in Mount Gambier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Arkana Motor Inn & Terrace Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing