We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large room, beautiful food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Barn Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Mount Gambier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Recently stayed for one night whilst passing through, was pleasantly surprised by how lovely Mt Gambier is and would have loved to stay longer. The barn accommodation was a bit out of town but is very well signed.

We stayed in a regular spa apartment. The room was a mix of old and new, which looked odd. The spa apartment was quite large with a separate lounge, it was quite cold, but the air-conditioner kept the room warm. The bathroom facilities were old. The kitchen had T2 tea bags available which are much nicer than what is normally on offer in hotel rooms. If I were to stay here again I would choose one of the new deluxe rooms.

The outstanding thing about this place is the restaurant. My partner loved his oysters and steak. My steak was also very good, the only thing I didn't enjoy was the cevapici which was served with the steak, I found it quite dry. The gooey chocolate pudding was to die for!

Overall we had an enjoyable stay with both reception and restaurant staff all very polite and helpful. I would recommend the Barn Accommodation and restaurant Mt Gambier.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KasTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

354 - 360 of 551 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had a room in the new wing - it far exceeded our expectations for country accommodation. Beautiful room, great hospitality, sensational steaks!!! The piano bar is a must with the open fire and made better with a piano player. We want to visit over the Generations in Jazz weekend (usually in May each year). We couldn't have asked for more. A+++

Room Tip: We were in the new wing and the beds are to die for!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toadhalltoo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed her for one night on our way from Melbourne to Adelaide but would have liked to stay longer. The room was very comfortable and private overlooking the gardens. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate at the restaurant because we got in late and didn't want to venture out. It's a steakhouse and I'm vegetarian but there were a few options for me and dessert was excellent. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessandAndy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We just had one night here on our way from Adelaide to Melbourne, but wish we could have stayed longer, as Mount Gambier itself looked worth a visit. We did manage to see the Blue Lake the following morning which was quite an amazing sight - and it really was blue!

The reception area was impressive, but not so the exterior of the section we were in, which was obviously part of the original motel and resembled a rather run-down cell block! Fortunately once inside, the room was like any other better-than-average motel room, much to our relief. However, the newer parts looked much nicer, and the rooms we could see into (they had large picture windows and the path back to the restaurant passed close by) looked very spacious.

The bed was comfortable, and we didn't hear any noise from the road so we slept well. The bathroom was a touch on the small side, and although it had everything we needed, the attention to detail on some of the fittings was lacking. The towels were also very small - one of my pet hates.

We ate in the restaurant as we don't like to have to get back in the car after a long day's drive, and it didn't disappoint. The steak was superb, and not to be missed. One feature we liked was the open wine cellar in a corner of the restaurant, where you could check out all the wines on offer before making a choice.

Would we stay again? Yes, but we might choose a better room if we could get a good rate.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneD75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I were traveling with my sister in law from Melbourne along The Great Ocean Road to her home in Adelaide. We arrived late to the hotel on a rainy evening after a very long day traveling from Apollo Bay. The distances and time to travel these distances took longer than we planned. Our very large guest rooms were waiting for us and were well appointed. Even though we were late for our dinner reservation at their Barn Steakhouse, they welcomed us and we enjoyed an excellent steak dinner with a lovely selection of wines. My sister in law had stayed here before. We enjoyed our breakfast the next morning and got back on the road. It was still drizzling so we did not get to enjoy the gardens or explore what looked like beautiful grounds. We were pleased with the amenities in our king size non smoking rooms. Food was very good. It appears to be a perfect place to plan a stop when traveling The Great Ocean Road from Melbourne to Adelaide.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMac28046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was our second stay at The Barn in Mount Gambier and it was just as good as the first visit. Our room was luxurious and extremely quiet, the beds are very comfortable and the outlook onto the gardens is just beautiful. If you are visiting the south east this is great spot to base yourself, we visited the coonawarra/wrattonbully area, beachport, port mcdonnell, robe and many wineries, all within a days touring. One of our highlights was dining at the Barns Steakhouse, try the fillet with gorgonzola..fantastic! and the wine list features some spectacular local wines..Majella 2010 Shiraz was our fav for the evening. The staff are professional, friendly and always helpful, i would not hesitate to recommend The Barn to anyone..cant wait to find an excuse to get back there soon !

Room Tip: the new premier king rooms are my favourite, very quiet, luxurious and good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendy666_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Got a special rate, obviously I should have learnt by now that a special rate means terrible room.
Towels are the size of a face washer and very thin, hair dryer is useless, tiny room, small uncomfortable bed, rooms are near highway so can hear trucks going past all night. Also no food available for room service until 6pm, I was hungry so had to go back into Mt Gambier to get food.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 00awesomeisme00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent C, General Manager at The Barn Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.
Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. I am investigating our room’s hairdryers and other issues raised.
For your reference, we always endeavour to satisfy room service requirements outside the stated hours.
If you come back to our hotel I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Gambier hotels
6 mi away
Quality Inn Presidential
Quality Inn Presidential
#16 of 17 in Mount Gambier
193 reviews
5 mi away
Mount Gambier Hotel
Mount Gambier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Mount Gambier
148 reviews
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Silver Birch
Comfort Inn Silver Birch
#14 of 17 in Mount Gambier
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Arkana Motor Inn & Terrace Apartments
5.9 mi away
Golden Chain Tower Motor Inn
Golden Chain Tower Motor Inn
#3 of 17 in Mount Gambier
247 reviews
5.3 mi away
Commodore on the Park
Commodore on the Park
#5 of 17 in Mount Gambier
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barn Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barn Accommodation

Address: 747 Glenelg River Road | PO Box 947, Mount Gambier, South Australia 5290, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Mount Gambier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mount Gambier
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mount Gambier
Price Range: $98 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Barn Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barn Accommodation features generously proportioned suites set amongst five acres of carefully manicured English style gardens. The majority of the accommodation has been constructed from Mount Gambier Limestone since 2009 and offers high quality amenities and a quiet country experience, just 5 mins from the regional capital of Mount Gambier. There are a myriad of stunning attractions for guests to explore in the region and of course the opportunity to dine at the award winning Barn Steakhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Barn Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Barn Hotel Mount Gambier
Barn Accommodation Mount Gambier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing