We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Barn Accommodation
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Mount Gambier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Having decided to drive from Adelaide to Melbourne, Mount Gambier seemed like a good place to stop for the first night. Having looked at the other choices, The Barn seemed like a no brainer. The rooms were modern and clean, and the bed comfortable - just what we needed after driving the best part of 500kms.

The only down side was that the walls were a bit thin, and we could clearly here the family in the next room watching TV and talking on the phone. Luckily they were quite come bedtime.

We ate in the Steakhouse and I can hand on heart say that it was the best steak I've ever had. And I've eaten in a lot of steakhouses! Breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huffington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

425 - 431 of 544 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2012

It was with trepidation I booked a room at The Barn. Mount Gambier motels are fairly ordinary with the notable exceptions being some rather nice bed and breakfasts. I was pleasantly surprised. The deluxe king room had been newly renovated and quite spacious. A large screen TV was fixed to the wall but nothing compared to the vision provided by the floor to ceiling windows. They looked onto to some lovely box hedges and roses with blue wren's abounding. The king bed was firm but comfortable. Rooms were quiet and nicely set back from the road. Large bathroom that included separate shower and bath. The steak restaurant is of some repute but my expense account did not stretch far enough for me to partake. It is a carnivores delight but pricey.

The only con's are paying for broadband which at this price point should be free (that said it is not that expensive) its distance from Mount Gambier and that it takes forever for hot water to come from the tap - after such a long drought I hate wasting water!

The Barn is worth the drive from Mount Gambier.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Beautiful modern place lovely place to stay if I was wanting to do things in Mt Gambiee I probably wouldn't stay here as its just that bit too far.Nice new rooms this is the second time I've stayed here nice sized rooms.Last time we went to the restaurant for our breakfast when we got there we were told it was FREE and eggs bacon etc were extra then went to check out then they charged us $15pp for breakfast for what orange juice with dead flys and some cereal what a rip off never again and we argued with the gentleman and still made us pay when we told it was free what ever happened to the customer is always right I was absolutely disgusted!!wont be staying here again very disappointed with the service

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missySa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at The Barn in their newly renovated rooms. We called the hotel to request for interconnecting room and the friendly reception, Sarah assisted with the reservation.

Pros:
1. The newly renovated rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable.
2. The grounds has a very beautiful garden.
3. It has a spacious bathroom.
4. The parking is right outside the hotel room door which makes loading and unloading a breeze.
5. It has an excellent restaurant, called The Barn Steakhouse.
6. Breakfast is great which both continental and cooked. Cooked breakfast is delicious which friendly service.

Cons:
1. It is not in town. Need to drive 5-10min to city.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kyean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed at the Barn recently (Dec 2011). The room was fantastic - clean, well set out, spacious. We had a king room, and it was a peaceful, wonderful stay. Well worth what we spent. The restaurant was great too - although the waitress we had could learn how to serve wine - a slight disappointment that shouldn't turn you away from staying here!

Room Tip: Ask for the King room - you'll pay a little extra and love every second!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VisitingBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Rooms were clean, modern "motel-style", parking at the door, and surrounded by pleasant garden (if you can manage the South Australian summer heat). A 15 minute drive to center of town and Blue Lake so not too bad, but for travelling through between Melbourne and Adelaide it's convenient enough.

Shower stall had a bit of a leak, bit surprising since it looked quite new ... other than that no issues. Bed was comfortable and no traffic noise from the highway. Mount Gambier has a few options for eating out if the steakhouse is not your thing.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluejay313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We live in Adelaide but have been huge fans of The Barn restaurant for a few years now & look for any excuse to drive through Mt Gambier just to dine there! It was the perfect option for us to stay at The Barn Accommodation recently when travelling through. The rooms were comfortable, not large but spacious enough, clean & modern with all the ammenities one requires. Delicious breakfast. The restaurant is just next door so you can have a glass of wine or two & walk to your room, perfect! Also I must thank the staff who contacted me once we left to say we'd left two shirts in the closet, they were posted back to us at no charge, now that is going above & beyond! Highly recommend both The Barn Restaurant & Accommodation.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nadssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Gambier hotels
6.0 mi away
Quality Inn Presidential
Quality Inn Presidential
#16 of 17 in Mount Gambier
188 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mount Gambier Hotel
Mount Gambier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Mount Gambier
143 reviews
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Silver Birch
Comfort Inn Silver Birch
#15 of 17 in Mount Gambier
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Arkana Motor Inn & Terrace Apartments
5.9 mi away
Golden Chain Tower Motor Inn
Golden Chain Tower Motor Inn
#3 of 17 in Mount Gambier
241 reviews
5.3 mi away
Commodore on the Park
Commodore on the Park
#4 of 17 in Mount Gambier
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barn Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barn Accommodation

Address: 747 Glenelg River Road | PO Box 947, Mount Gambier, South Australia 5290, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Mount Gambier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mount Gambier
#1 Business Hotel in Mount Gambier
Price Range: $101 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Barn Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barn Accommodation features generously proportioned suites set amongst five acres of carefully manicured English style gardens. The majority of the accommodation has been constructed from Mount Gambier Limestone since 2009 and offers high quality amenities and a quiet country experience, just 5 mins from the regional capital of Mount Gambier. There are a myriad of stunning attractions for guests to explore in the region and of course the opportunity to dine at the award winning Barn Steakhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Barn Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Barn Hotel Mount Gambier
Barn Accommodation Mount Gambier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing