We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room on way through!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Commodore on the Park
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Mount Gambier
Macedon, Australia
Level Contributor
233 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great room on way through!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Driving through Mount Gambier to Melbourne, this was a terrific spot for a comfortable nights sleep. Booked via internet whilst on the road and check-in was very simple and fast. Staff were very friendly and happy to answer any questions. The room we had, Number 30, was newly renovated - very nice, modern and plenty of room. The heater was quick to warm us up in some terribly cold and miserable weather!! The entire complex was neat as a pin. The restaurant and bar area were lovely, although we didn't eat here. Great central position and an easy walk into the town centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macedoncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    79
    34
    8
    7
See reviews for
26
61
5
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Located close to the highway. Room comfortable but not too big. Air conditioning/heater well enough but noisy.
Wi-fi didn't work in the room (receptionist checked but nothing happened). Working in the lobby but very slowly.
Nice restaurant and bar but very expensive.
If you want cheapest solution for dinner, close to the hotel: McDonald, KFC, and other fast food

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaudioMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weetangera, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We arrived very late after a long drive from Adelaide. After explaining that all we needed was a comfy bed and a feed, the manager went out of his way to find us a great rooom at an even better price and arranged for the chef to cook us a meal; even though the restaurant was due to close. The food was some of the best we had on our long trip. The young lady that brought our meals and served us drinks was very pleasant and courteous. All staff were very helpful and all came with broad smiles and happy approach. A must for those that want a quality stay at a reasonable price with impecable service. Will definitely stay there next time we are in town.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe king with spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tfinniss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This motel is on a fairly busy roundabout, but we were back from the road so noise was not a problem. Some rooms have been renovated and are more expensive. We had a standard room, clean and comfortable if slightly dated. The bed was a bit hard, but that's personal taste. The restaurant was excellent, good service and good food.

The man on reception when we arrived was efficient but unsmiling and not very welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here on business in Dec 2012. They are renovating a number of the rooms and even though mine was not newly renovated, it was very nice. Great showers and bathrooms, everything very clean. Some complained about noise, I was a little farther back on the property and didn't notice any noise from the road at all.

I also had lunch in the restaurant and it was great. I had a very tasty grilled veg sandwich. The hotel staff appear to be a lot of family and were extremely friendly and they have a nice little bar with Wifi where I spent a bit of time before catching my flight.

Great hotel with staff who really care, and a wonderful break from the big chains.

Room Tip: Ask for a room back from the road. Ask for a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoAnthonyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

What fabulous food for a small country motel. Management and staff are always great . Bigger wine list would be great given the location. Only downside is jubilee highway location damn those noisy trucks at night

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank clarkey65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Had a family wedding here so stayed for the weekend from Adelaide & was pleasantly surprised at all aspects of the motel. The room was very adequate, the food was fantastic, the staff were very accomodating as there was quite a few us wanting to sit together for breakfast etc & they went out of their way to be helpful & friendly.
Could not be faulted in anything.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Gambier hotels
5.3 mi away
The Barn Accommodation
The Barn Accommodation
#2 of 17 in Mount Gambier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn Presidential
Quality Inn Presidential
#15 of 17 in Mount Gambier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mount Gambier Hotel
Mount Gambier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Mount Gambier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Arkana Motor Inn & Terrace Apartments
1.2 mi away
Golden Chain Tower Motor Inn
Golden Chain Tower Motor Inn
#3 of 17 in Mount Gambier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Lake Motel
Blue Lake Motel
#7 of 17 in Mount Gambier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore on the Park

Property: Commodore on the Park
Address: 1 Jubilee Hwy E, Mount Gambier, South Australia 5290, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Mount Gambier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Mount Gambier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Commodore on the Park 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Evan Kosch and friendly staff invite you to experience the warmth and friendliness of country hospitality at Mount Gambier’s, Commodore on the Park. Consisting of 53 spacious suites and dining facilities catering for up to 200 people, Commodore on the Park is the ideal location for your upcoming wedding reception, business seminar or conference. In fact, whatever your requirements, the staff at the “Commodore” will ensure your stay or event is one to remember... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Commodore on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing