We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to reputation”
Review of Colhurst House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Colhurst House
Ranked #1 of 12 Mount Gambier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lives up to reputation”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My family of 4 stayed in the Tartan Room at Colhurst House and we were delighted.

It's a beautiful property, easy to find in town, and well run. The hostess was helpful, and the breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: The Tartan Room sleeps 4, though the sofa bed is about as as comfortable as one would expect from a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
51
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, WA
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed at this delightful B&B, a repurposing of the historic Colhurst Manor, for one night in late March. If GoogleMaps directs you to the front door, located behind a gate on a small cul-de-sac, just walk around to the back of the building to find the innkeeper.

We were lodged in the Green Room on the ground floor (called the Colhurst Suite on the website) and did not get a look at the rooms above. Our very large room had a fireplace, comfortable chair(s), fine plasterwork including a ceiling medallion that looked original, a wonderful king bed, a massive flat panel TV and a lovely large desk. The Wi-Fi is free, speedy and strong. Connected to the room, but outside the original 1880s footprint of the manor, is a spectacular bathroom – by far the most elegant and interesting we’ve ever had the pleasure to experience.

This bathroom area consists of: an entrance foyer (outside door on the front of the building addition allows direct access to the Green Room) with minibar and stone floor sculpture. Next is a room with a deep window seat (two large open suitcases will fit on it) and a casual chair both upholstered in cotton canvas, as well as a large sink and caddies for toiletries. The next area, behind the sink wall, is divided into three: toilet room, large shower and Jacuzzi tub with tiled steps running along side. Dimmable wall lighting panels are everywhere, along with candles to light and windows on three sides, with frosted glass and/or shades. The “ceiling” over the latter two areas is a large segmented dome with glass panels decorated in a marvelous leaf design (eucalyptus?). After dark, the clear glass between the leaves is deep blue; in daylight one looks up while in tub or shower and feels transported to a forest.

The breakfast room is small but cheerful, with pleasant folk art pottery here and there. The cold breakfast choices plus toast from the kitchen were fine with us, but cooked breakfast items are also included.

There was one tiny wrinkle during our stay: the instant coffee packets provided in the tea/coffee making area of the room had expiration dates from 2010. However, in the public area there is a small room with biscuits, tea and coffee supplies; the jar of instant coffee granules there are fresh. The same room also offers magazines and newspapers.

And finally, a cheer for Mt Gambier, which is a lovely small city set in gorgeous countryside (vineyards, farms and amazing repurposed limestone caves and sinkholes). The central business district is charming and busy, and if the countryside restaurant The Barn is representative, the food and wine scene is very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GHgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed here en route from Adelaide to Melbourne. What a lovely old house within easy reach of restaurants. Rooms are large and well furnished. Very comfortable, with lots of extras provided. Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMBBasingstoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Charming, enchanting, delightful. Close to the city center and the main attractions of the area, but in a nineteenth century atmosphere. Really well managed with kindness and efficiency. Exemplary cleanness, comfort and a tranquillity of bygone times.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank irc-Milano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Lovely house filled with charm and character and still within easy reach of everything. We stayed in the black room and enjoyed a comfy sleep. The breakfast was wonderful and filling and a great start to the day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krylonwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed here overnight from Barossa to GOC. The house had a lovely character and every room has it's own unique ambience. Our Tartan Room was very big for the two of us. The bathroom was lovely and I loved the claw bath. Very old style including the tap fixtures.
There are little touches around the house that make you realise how old the house is. The best thing was how soft and marshmellowy the duvet cover was! The bathrobes were also very very soft. The bed was amazingly comfortable after such a big drive from Barossa to Mount Gambier.
The house was very quiet even with a full house. We didn't see/bump into anyone till breakfast the next morning. Which brings me to the breakfast food! There was a selection of cereals, toasted muesli, yoghurt and fresh fruit. You could then order hot food including eggs, toast, bacon, mushroom and tomato. Patty the host was very accommodating and having stayed at other BNBs, I liked the fact our host was not in your face asking questions etc.
The wifi worked well, very reliable and fast.

During our short stay we visited in Sink Hole and Blue Lake. We also ate at the Banana Tree Cafe and Metro Bakery - all highly recommended.

Patty's old dog Smithy is also very cute!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I revisited Colhurst House after a stay many years ago. My fond memories were rewarded. Yes the house is older and a bit more creakier - but so am I!

Pro's - Good location, one street back from the main street. Breakfast is always a treat with quality ingredients presented well. Super soft bed - such a pleasant surprise compared to the super firm mattresses of chain motels. Individual heater/cooler attributed to the bedrooms so you can set the temperature to suit. Quality fittings and serviceable bathroom. The hostess is pleasant and is very attentive.

Con's - Other guests with children decided to get up super early and the noise did tend to reverberate. We went for a walk in the evening and the driveway is not lit meaning care has to be taken - especially after it has been raining. In the Black Room it is a considerable step from the shower recess onto the tiled floor - care has to be taken not to slip.

The tariff is not cheap but if you build in the cost of a good breakfast it is appropriate for what you get.

In summary a safe bet for a quality stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Gambier hotels
5.1 mi away
The Barn Accommodation
The Barn Accommodation
#2 of 17 in Mount Gambier
533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mount Gambier Hotel
Mount Gambier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Mount Gambier
137 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arkana Motor Inn & Terrace Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#2 of 12 in Mount Gambier
37 reviews
0.7 mi away
Colwyn House bnb - Stable Cottage
0.3 mi away
Commodore on the Park
Commodore on the Park
#4 of 17 in Mount Gambier
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colhurst House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colhurst House

Property: Colhurst House
Address: 3 Colhurst Pl, Mount Gambier, South Australia 5290, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Mount Gambier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Gambier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colhurst House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Colhurst House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing