We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Patty”
Review of Colhurst House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Colhurst House
Ranked #1 of 12 Mount Gambier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Patty”
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Great hostess who went to great lengths to ensure all was good for our stay. We had the black room and the room and appointments were perfect. Breakfast was lovely, especially the finely diced fruit salad. Location was central to city, only one block walk to many great choices.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
51
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this lovely B&B. The hostess was friendly and helpful and provided everything we could have possibly needed to make our stay comfortable. The heritage house and the gardens are lovely, the rooms are well appointed, the beds are comfortable and the breakfast is fabulous! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NebulousNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Beautiful large heritage house within walking distance of town for shops or dinner.
Large very clean & comfortable room with quiet comfortable lounge for guests downstairs.
Patty was an excellent host who provided a great hearty breakfast each morning.

Room Tip: Twin room available with separate bathroom for sole use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This lovely Victorian, large house is on top of a hill in the middle of Mt. Gambier but does not seem like it is so central. We had the very quiet Green Room downstairs, a large bedroom with very comfortable king bed, fireplace, desk, drawers, clothes rack but no wardrobe. Attached to that is a newly built, huge, ultramodern bathroom with large jacuzzi tub, large shower stall, toilet cubilcle, all with frosted glass walls, a dressing table, large chair, and a nice window seat. From the outside this addition is quite unfelicitous but inside is very special.

The rest of the house has a large lounge, dining room, and a room wiith goodies and local information, etc. Breakfast was nice although nothing special. A large and lovely garden is in front although most people arrive from a parking area at the back and may not realize there is such a nice place. It is a one block walk to a central intersection with hotel, restaurants, and shops.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Colhurst House was nice, not the best B&B I've stayed in, breakfast was amazing but otherwise the stay was only a tad above average. The house and gardens are beautiful but one thing with old houses is they do start to fall apart after a while and they do seem to be harder to keep clean which was the case with Colhurst. The rooms were spacious but even though we were the only ones staying there, I did feel a bit like we were a burden.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AussieHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the Colhurst House B&B for one night over our Christmas trip.
The grounds were lovely, the room was very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious!
The house is in a very convenient location for exploring Mt Gambier and they had a lot of information in the kitchen for the town and surrounding areas which was really helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in the black room which had a lovely comfy bed and a HUGE bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Recently stayed here. When we first enter the house we both went "Wow". This is a beautiful old Victorian house which maintains many of its original features. The two bedrooms we saw were large and comfortable, one on the ground floor with a very big modern bathroom attached and the other on the first floor with a good sized traditional bathroom. They have other bedrooms. The cooked breakfast was excellent. We understood that this property is in fact owned by an hotel group but run as a B&B.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bantai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Gambier hotels
5.1 mi away
The Barn Accommodation
The Barn Accommodation
#2 of 17 in Mount Gambier
538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mount Gambier Hotel
Mount Gambier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Mount Gambier
139 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Presidential
Quality Inn Presidential
#14 of 17 in Mount Gambier
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Arkana Motor Inn & Terrace Apartments
0.5 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mount Gambier
38 reviews
0.7 mi away
Colwyn House bnb - Stable Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colhurst House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colhurst House

Property: Colhurst House
Address: 3 Colhurst Pl, Mount Gambier, South Australia 5290, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Mount Gambier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Gambier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colhurst House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Colhurst House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing