We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of Colhurst House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Colhurst House
Ranked #1 of 12 Mount Gambier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Recently stayed here. When we first enter the house we both went "Wow". This is a beautiful old Victorian house which maintains many of its original features. The two bedrooms we saw were large and comfortable, one on the ground floor with a very big modern bathroom attached and the other on the first floor with a good sized traditional bathroom. They have other bedrooms. The cooked breakfast was excellent. We understood that this property is in fact owned by an hotel group but run as a B&B.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bantai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
51
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Mnt Gambier was our first overnight stop on our road trip from Adelaide to Melbourne. It was a traditional B&b in a beautiful colonial house. We were a little disappointed not to meet the owner until the following morning so we were expected to let ourselves in and find our way round. Breakfast was served at well set tables. We had a 13 month old son with us and there was a high chair for him.

We left promptly for more driving but realized there were few other hotels/ B&b of this type in the area. Most were motel type accommodation. The town is a little dishevelled but there appeared to be plenty to do in the area for a longer stay.

Patti the owner vert kindly sent on a very precious couple of bears that my daughter left in her bed so thankfully we were reunited with them before our return to England.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emiliesmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Nice place to stay. We stayed at the Tatan room which is just great with a lovely bathroom which you should experience...

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilankon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

This is an absolutely stunning house with enormous rooms and lots of antique furniture. It is set in lovely gardens and each room has a balcony. It is a short walk into the centre of Mt Gambier which has a number of 'must see' attractions. There were no other guests when we were there just before Christmas and we had the entire place to ourselves. Breakfast on this occasion was provided at the nearby Mt Gambier Hotel which apparently is owned by the same people as own Colhurst House. We only stayed overnight which was a shame really - but this place was a highlight for us. Our room was the 'White Room' and the room and the bed were luxuriously comfortable.

Room Tip: THe rooms are all very different and vary in price. Consult the website for details. WE had thw Whit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colin49uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outback Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Colhurst House is centrally located, yet quiet and very private. The central city area of Mount Gambier is only a short walk away, so leaving the car behind for a day of wandering the city is on the list of things to do. It is very easy to navigate to the main attraction of the town - the volcanic lakes - from the residence. The beds are sooo comfortable, and the rooms of a generous size, The house offers a large lounge/drawing room for guests, and the breakfast provided is quite delicious. Well worth the tariff, and a home away from home for a few days.

Room Tip: The white room has views to two aspects over the CBD with balcony all around
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francophile5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

My husband, myself and 16 year old daughter stayed at Colhurst house for one night this weekend just gone. What a lovely place, exceptionally clean and a very handy central location to town. Patty is very well organised and so warm, and inviting. We stayed in the "Black' room and our daughter stayed in the 'Blue" room and shared one bathroom, which is certainly Ok for just one night. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms a nice size. Excellent full breakfast in the morning and I liked how you could help yourself to nibbles and drinks and had full use of the lovely big lounge if you just wanted to sit and read and relax. We will definitely stay here on our next visit to Mt Gamber.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaysforever_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Picked this B&B from reviews on Trip advisor (was actually thinking of going to Ballarat). Had an enjoyable time looking at the sights of Mount Gambier. Colhurst House was fantastic. We had the “green” room/suite. Bedroom was old worldy with modern touches, especially the king sized bed. The bathroom/bathhouse was out-of-this world, modern and spacious. The Flat screen TV above the spa bath was terribly decedent! Really enjoyable stay in Mount Gambier/Colhurst House was capped off by a great breakfast Sunday morning. Not inexpensive place to stay but certainly worth it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Gambier hotels
5.1 mi away
The Barn Accommodation
The Barn Accommodation
#2 of 17 in Mount Gambier
532 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mount Gambier Hotel
Mount Gambier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Mount Gambier
137 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arkana Motor Inn & Terrace Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#2 of 12 in Mount Gambier
36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Commodore on the Park
Commodore on the Park
#4 of 17 in Mount Gambier
177 reviews
0.7 mi away
Colwyn House bnb - Stable Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colhurst House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colhurst House

Property: Colhurst House
Address: 3 Colhurst Pl, Mount Gambier, South Australia 5290, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Mount Gambier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Gambier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colhurst House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Colhurst House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing