We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Creepy but good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Mount Gambier Gaol
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Creepy but good value”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

It's a themed hostel so you kinda expected it to be creepy - yet when you are there at night, you might still get a little freaked out. The cell with your own sink and a bathroom with giant power switches across the Gaol really drills it in.

The room itself was clean with IKEA bunk beds. My issue with the room though is that it has a giant hole towards the ceiling next to the top bunk, which is a bit disturbing..

The common room was spacious and free WiFi. The kitchen was a bit dingy and didnt feel as clean but i love the abundance of paper towels available. Microwave and toasters and stoves are available - we even found a rice cooker with british plugs which we ended up using with our converter. Pretty funny. A basketball net is available for your daily exercise routine. Lots of interpretive signs to tell you about the gaol. Service is friendly. Too bad I was spoiled by the Port Campbell hostel on great ocean road or else this place would probably have been a five star, as it is extremely nice for what i had expected from a hostel. The price is great too! Awesome value!

Good stopping point from Melbourne through great ocean road through to adelaide. The sites are great in the area too - don't forget to visit the sink hole before you go!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnie_poops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finnrhay, Owner at The Old Mount Gambier Gaol, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hi Lynnie,
Thank you for your feedback and review . we are constantly looking at ways to improve our business and our amazing unique old building.
Port Campbell hostel is amazing and Tony and his wife do a wonderful job there so it is nice to know you put our venue up there with the best offerings around.
Regarding the whole towards the ceiling in some of the cells when it was a prison this was the only from of ventilation for the prisoners. This amazing building is 150 years old and is a state heritage building so we cannot cover the wholes in. We also believe the wholes also present a part of the history of this building and it showcases what life was like for a prisoner. We have covered the wholes from the inside so that no creepy crawlies can get into the rooms. Also the beds we provide are Hostel standard and are not from IKEA. we actually bought the beds from an army barracks to ensure they are strong and can last a long time with the amount of travelers we get coming through.
We have just had all our kitchens renovated so they are now totally brand new so hopefully if you come though this way again you can see the upgrades we have now done to ensure the utmost comfort for our guests.
Safe travels and enjoy your time in our wonderful country.

Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    46
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
46
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Nice manager with nice environment!
The goal was really creepy in night time! Remember to try!
Close the light when you are in the room!
You will know what happen!
And the price of the goal was reasonable, I think it is okay in Australia.
The manager was really nice and we guide you to take a look of the goal!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raven7215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Absolutely loved this place. Rooms were great, service from staff was great and they always had a huge smile on their face. Amenities are top notch.
I had many questions for the staff and they both answered them to the best of their knowledge (which was spot on)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAYO91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

A quirky place to stay.
Just a short walk from the town centre.
Good parking.
The Kitchen was handy and reasonably well equipped.
There is a Large communal lounge.
And the Showers were spotlessly clean.
And staff were FANTASTIC.

Room Tip: As a couple we chose a twin room with a toilet and washbasin in the old female quarters. Showers qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inez B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The atmosphere is great.
The owner, James, is funny and full of passion.
And the environment is tidy and clean.
We had a good time there.
It's also not far away from amazing Blue Lake.
I'll stay more in next visiting~

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarcy_yu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Let Me tell you !!
We stayed in a unit there 4 of us Great value for money. We were
there for a 50th What a great Venue and very friendly staff. The
Fellas behind the bar Jamie & Brett I think ( sorry if I got your names
wrong ) did a great job of keeping the drinks up to everyone they were
very efficient. I would definatly recommend this venue to anyone for a
function of any sort or just a stay. I took a few people that I met at the
party for a quick tour of our room & other parts of the gaol and they
were also very impressed. Thanks again Staff for a good night.

Room Tip: Also great for back packers. Tip take Your own towels If you forget they can supply one for a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helga H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitka, Alaska
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed in the old Gambier for 2 nights while roadtripping through the area. On the day we arrived it was a scorcher!! (110 degrees farenheit) but lucky for us, the cells of the prison were the "coolest" place to be!!

Bathrooms were very clean! And staff was extremely friendly! Would definatly recommend staying here in this hostel!! (It is currently being worked on/remodeled but everything was still easy to access)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sitkakoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Gambier hotels
4.8 mi away
The Barn Accommodation
The Barn Accommodation
#2 of 17 in Mount Gambier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mount Gambier Hotel
Mount Gambier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Mount Gambier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arkana Motor Inn & Terrace Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Blue Lake Motel
Blue Lake Motel
#6 of 17 in Mount Gambier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Lake Holiday Park
Blue Lake Holiday Park
#3 of 10 in Mount Gambier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
1.2 mi away
Golden Chain Tower Motor Inn
Golden Chain Tower Motor Inn
#3 of 17 in Mount Gambier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Mount Gambier Gaol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mount Gambier Gaol

Property: The Old Mount Gambier Gaol
Address: Old Goal 25 Margaret St, Mount Gambier, South Australia 5290, Australia (Formerly The Jail)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Mount Gambier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Mount Gambier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our gaol journey all began with a vision to turn an old debilitated building into a vibrant community asset. We originally hoped to create a new atmosphere that was warm, inviting and both community and family focused.We, along with our two young boys, own and run our family business; we are blessed with the ongoing assistance of our fabulous staff and wonderful family. We have much love for the old building, her history and our spectacular Limestone Coast region and for this reason have opted to remain an independent accommodation provider.We love to travel, enjoy new experiences and meet refreshing people; running the old gaol is allowing us as parents to raise our sons in a beautiful part of Australia whilst still meeting amazing guests from all over the world. Every day we see new faces, are moved and excited by guest’s travel adventures whilst living in an old English prison!We are a young business with many more fun ideas and improvements yet to unveil. We have spent the last three years creating and establishing our business. We are now excited to move onto further promoting who we are and what we have to offer!The Old Mount Gambier Gaol was a functioning 'English Prison' from 1866 to 1994.In 2010 we opened the gaol doors for a new venture. We had a vision to create a place where our community could relax and enjoy various events and where travelers could combine a comfortable stay with a unique experience. Almost three years later we are still pursuing that dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your The Old Mount Gambier Gaol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing