We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for a couple of nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Southgate Motel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Mount Gambier
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not bad for a couple of nights”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

First impressions of the Motel was 3 men hanging out their window onto a ledge smoking and drinking on the second level of the building, was a little concerning.
Hallways are quite smoky and musty.
Room good however we requested a twin room and in my opinion what we had was a double with an extra bed, not what you expect for a twin share.
Mini bar very basic. Motel was quiet at night except for traffic noise from the highway behind (our room was right on it).
Comfy and clean bed with white linen. 6am came and the place came alive with men at high volumes paper thin walls and not much sleep (I assume some local workmen were staying in the Motel as this happened every morning we were there) certainly not relaxing when on a weekend away.

In summary I think you can find better value for money, I will be looking for alternative accom when I return to Mount Gambier.
Oh and I must mention the woman at reception rang the bell waited awhile she finally turns up and was SO RUDE told us to come back later to pay before check out and walked off mid sentence.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room on Commercial Road side not near the Highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelisaP779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southgate175, Front Office Manager at Best Western Southgate Motel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hi MelisaP779,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
In regards to your room request you where upgraded from a twin room (2 singles) to a room with a queen and single.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the comfy and clean bed with white linen.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Best Western Southgate Motel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    57
    52
    30
    17
See reviews for
35
73
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Clean, comfortable and with all the necessary facilities. This was a pleasant surprise after the so-called 'four star' hotel in Adelaide. Not much room in the minifridge for food, but enough for a meal, and the separate sink was also handy. Very noisy at times because of guest in the other room - some soccer carnival meant some boisterous males were staying who could learn some manners.

Great bed, clean large bathroom. Would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southgate175, Front Office Manager at Best Western Southgate Motel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hi ChrisBJones,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
Thank you for your comments regarding the bed, large room and your recommendation that you would return soon.

We appreciate all your kind comments regarding our rooms and would love to have you back again soon.

Kind regards
Best Western Southgate Motel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Just read the previous post, we just stayed in room 112 on the weekend and the room was perfect. It did not smell and it was very clean.
The staff on reception were lovely and the young man was always very helpful.
The hotel has so much parking and is located between 2 busy roads but the windows are double glazed and we did not hear any noise at night.
There are free DVD's at reception for use in your room.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank love2travel2x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southgate175, Front Office Manager at Best Western Southgate Motel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hi love2travel2x4,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us.
Thank you for the kind comments you have left regarding your stay in 112. I was the young man your referring to and its always good to have positive feedback.

Thanks again for the great comments, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Western Southgate Motel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Very Comfortable beds, good location, plenty of parking, nice continental breakfast available at an additional (reasonable) price. Free WiFi a bonus.
We are a family and booked and paid for 2 adults and 2 children,when we arrived the room appeared spacious, however we then noticed that there was just a queen bed and one single made up, I assume the lounge/couch was a sofa bed for the 2nd child but didn’t check as there wasn’t enough room to fold out if it was a sofa as there was a small table provided in the room and from what we could see no extra linen provided for the sofa, I assumed there would be enough 'made up beds' as per booking and for the price we paid, our children are young (6 & 8) so were able to share the single, not ideal but ok for a couple of nights. Maybe the staff could have advised at 'check in' if it was a sofa, and that only 1 additional single bed had been made up.
Motel could have supplied extra water for room seeing as we paid for a family room of 2 adults and 2 children yet only two complimentary bottles of water provided then charged $3 each for extra.
Room rate was expensive. Charged in excess of $400 for a 2 night stay, (one night cheaper than the other but averaged out at $209 a night!) not sure maybe prices were inflated due to a local jazz festival? We were not there for the festival, and had no choice on dates of travel. Have checked the website since and for the same days any other week in the month rates are cheaper. Expensive none the less for single room motel accommodation!!
Overall a good stay, room was clean, furniture and fixtures clean and in good order, and as mentioned above the bed was very comfortable. We would stay again as long as the rate isn’t as high.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R_O_7703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southgate175, Front Office Manager at Best Western Southgate Motel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hi R_0_7703,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our beds, location, ample free parking and free WIFI connection.
In regards to the high rate, unfortunately over that period it is the busiest weekend of the year. However we did provided one of the cheapest accommodation options in town.

We look forward to you staying again with us soon.
Best Western Southgate Motel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

The room (112 - is this the "worst room in the house" that they save for booking engine bookings!) smelled of cleaning products probably from trying to clean the mould off the walls. The outside corridor showed the signs of the cleaning and the paint touch-up. The room was very noisy due to the people in 2 shared rooms on the first floor (after 11:00pm was a bit rich!) and it was apparent at check out that the hotel knew about them but had done nothing. The restaurant was closed for the weekend because the Chef was away which was a bit poor really. This hotel is listed as 4 stars and it surely doesn't deserve it. Won't be staying here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cinders06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southgate175, Front Office Manager at Best Western Southgate Motel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hi Cunders06,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
Unfortunately your claim of having the worst room was contradicted recently by a trip advisor review. In regards to paint the entire motel and 52 rooms have been recently painted.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Best Western Southgate Motel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mount Gambier hotels

Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night on our way to Adelaide the motel is in a great central location. Our room was clean and well maintained. All amenities in working order. Comfortable bed and good bath. Close to road but room was quiet no street noise. Good value for money. Only complaint is the rain bucketing down with no undercover car parking, we got damp getting our bags to our room!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Georgina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel when I visited Mount Gambier. The hotel rating stars was 4 stars in the website, so I decided to go to this hotel. Apparently, this hotel does not deserve these stars as the place is not that good. Many things are making it a 3 star hotel which include many maintenance in the decoration and the cleaning of the room.
There was a big red spot in the carpet which have not been cleaned very well. In addition, the worse thing in this hotel is the bathroom. The bath with spa was not big enough, and was very old which needs to be replaced with a new one. There was a crack as well in one of the bathroom wall.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mousa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Gambier hotels
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn Presidential
Quality Inn Presidential
#14 of 17 in Mount Gambier
180 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Barn Accommodation
The Barn Accommodation
#2 of 17 in Mount Gambier
532 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Silver Birch
Comfort Inn Silver Birch
#17 of 17 in Mount Gambier
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mount Gambier Hotel
Mount Gambier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Mount Gambier
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arkana Motor Inn & Terrace Apartments
1.9 mi away
Golden Chain Tower Motor Inn
Golden Chain Tower Motor Inn
#3 of 17 in Mount Gambier
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Southgate Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Southgate Motel

Property: Best Western Southgate Motel
Address: 175 Commercial Street East, Mount Gambier, South Australia 5290, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Mount Gambier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mount Gambier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Southgate Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Southgate Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mount Gambier
Mount Gambier Best Western
Best Western Southgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing