We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than the last two nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Mount Gambier
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Better than the last two nights”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

Great location in Mount Gambier with places like Red Rooster, video store and petrol station close by.

The Receptionist wasn't overally friendly and didn't greet me in a friendly manner.
No fresh rolls of toilet paper in the bathroom, looks like they re-used the previous person staying in this room.

I agree with a previous reviewer saying that the tv reception was "a bit patchy and grainy for some channels"

The pool facilities were quite good.
Parking was fine.

The early check-out service was very good and well appreciated.

Lovely old style bedding and great mini-bar selection.

I noticed wallpaper near the bathroom was scraped and needed re-painting!

The alarm clock and music facilities need updating and are very outdated.

I booked two single beds for both myself and my Mother on a trip back to Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suz79au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southgate175, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear suz79au,

Thank you for completing a review regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    56
    50
    28
    17
See reviews for
34
71
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

We were travelling as 3 adults and a child. We booked over the phone stating this and were advised it was a room with a queen bed, a single bed and a sofa bed. However upon check in we were given a queen bed and a double sofa bed. If we wanted a single bed we would have to pay an extra $10 per night.

The sofa bed was attrocious and we didn't get a good night's sleep at all the first night. We decided to put the mattress from the sofa bed on the floor and that made a slight improvement. However, the queen bed was quite comfortable.

The room itself is quite big (thankfully otherwise we'd not be able to put the mattress on the floor).

Checkin and out was efficient despite the hickup with our booking.

Location wise it is good. close to all the key sights. Safeway is a block away so its convenient.

The corridors of the motel were in need of repair or re-repair judging by the workmanship. The entrance to the roooms is down the back of the motel and finding the door was a bit hard given the skimpy instructions from the front desk - signage would have been helpful.

Although we didnt use the pool, there were other guests who did and they seemed to have fun. TV reception was a bit patchy and grainy for some channels and we couldnt get the free wifi to work with our iphone or ipod.

Overall, we'd stay here if we were back in Mt Gambier but would probably book online rather than over the phone.

We stayed during australia day 2012 long weekend so we were pleased we got a booking at such a busy time.

overall mt gambier is nice and the motel was adequate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor away from the side entrances as the windows over look the carpark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABagOfJourneys L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southgate175, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear lizantrevor
Thank you for completing a review regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Australia
Level Contributor
240 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

Stayed one night between Chritmas and New Year. Shared the room with several spider. Decor was exactly per the photos on their website - dated, tubular frame beds, outdated bathroom in need of maintenance and repair in many places.

Cleanliness was so-so.

Loud mechanical clicking noise outside our room every 3 minutes during the night received no attention from Reception. Don't stay if you have a choice.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back to avoid traffic noise from the street. Better still choose another motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fandangoMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southgate175, Manager at BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
hi Fandangomelbourne
Dear Elizabeth,

Thank you for completing a review regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

However Spiders??? I dont believe that and our rooms are not dirty as our cleaners always recieve excellent reviews from both AAA tourism & Best Western Australia accessors

my question to you is why did you choose to stay with us when you say the pictures are true with what you get?

the maintenence issue was fixed that day once we were made aware of it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

An average motel... The room needed a bit of TLC... Nothing a good scrub and coat of paint wouldn't fix tho... Ripped fly screens on one window while the other window was without... No dish washing liquid or cloth so don't plan to reuse your dishes... Limited cutlery (one teaspoon)...the pool was supposedly heated... The temp needed to be increased if that was case. Austar was limited to only a handful of channels. Staff at reception were very welcoming. Overall an overpriced disappointing stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southgate175, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Hi fandangomelbournDear Elizabeth,

Thank you for completing a review regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 08 87231175.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete a review. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

A very nice and comfortable hotel under an unassuming facade. Clean, spacious rooms, modern TVs with DVD players, a good selection of DVDs available at no charge for guests. Pleasant pool area with picnic tables. Overall a very good experience at a good price. Efficient, helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kratky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southgate175, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Hi kratky
thankyou for your favourable response concerning your stay with us.
its always nice to hear from guests who appreciatte the hard work we do here to provide a nice experience for our guets and by all accounts this is what you expereinced
once again
thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renmark, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

Really needs up-dating.Looks good in photos,but room had mould in the bathroom,noisy pipes in the ceiling that banged away all night.Really dodgy repairs to plaster board walls in corridors!!Maybe we were just unlucky but for $190.00 per night I think we deserved much, much better.

shouldnt be 4 stars

Room Tip: Ask to look at the room first,dont just take what they give you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southgate175, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Hi mark f

Thank you for completing a review regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 08 87231175.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mount Gambier hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

I paid extra for an executive suit. Bad move. That put me near the main road, Who has premium rooms near a main road. We were in 211. Notice room 111 also gave a bad revue. Way too noisy to sleep even with double glazed windows. If you do stay at this motel ask for a room in the middle of the hotel, as there is a road at either end. If they can only give you one at the main road end, try somewhere else. I think I would have been happy if I was in a room in the middle of the motel, and I think the review would have been 4 stars instead of 2. Its a pity about the noise because the hotel itself seems good. Although I did ask to be moved as I said the top priced rooms should not be next to the main road. The staff said that we are a country hotel and when the hotel was built the road was there bur much quieter. Did not help me sleep. They would not move me. They were condescending. I wished I checked trip adviser first, as I would have seen the revue from room 111. Next time I will check more carefully as a quiet sleep is my main criteria.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the middle of the hotel if you stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southgate175, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear Todd L
Thankyou for your review and i appreciatte what you say about the traffic noise which to many people is not an issue but unfortunately for you it was.
But i dont appreciatte the fact that you asked to be moved and we would not move you because thats incorrect as it was stated to you that all executive rooms are on the same wing and that you wanted an executive room..
The big question by us is always did you shut both windows? the usual reply is yes but on inspection its always a no so thats a major problem we have. We have in the rooms notices advising guests to shut the 2 sets of windows but it always seems to be missed.
Your point is taken on board but again there is not alot i can do about traffic flows
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Gambier hotels
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn Presidential
Quality Inn Presidential
#17 of 17 in Mount Gambier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Barn Accommodation
The Barn Accommodation
#2 of 17 in Mount Gambier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mount Gambier Hotel
Mount Gambier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Mount Gambier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Arkana Motor Inn & Terrace Apartments
1.9 mi away
Golden Chain Tower Motor Inn
Golden Chain Tower Motor Inn
#3 of 17 in Mount Gambier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.8 mi away
Commodore on the Park
Commodore on the Park
#4 of 17 in Mount Gambier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel

Property: BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel
Address: 175 Commercial St E, Mount Gambier, South Australia 5290, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Mount Gambier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mount Gambier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mount Gambier
Mount Gambier Best Western
Best Western Southgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing