We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, but needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Silver Birch
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Mount Gambier
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The motel was clean but had the feel of a 70’s motel complete with the radio controls built-into the headboard. The facility had tidy gardens covered pool, bar and restaurant. The bathroom window was split with a upper section over lapping the bottom with a gap between. This let cool air into the bathroom. We stuffed towels into the gap to keep the warmth in the bathroom. The room had a locked trap door to enable breakfast to be delivered into the cardboard from outside the room. Although some of the furnishings have been upgraded the rug and couch were in need of cleaning/replacement.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SH_FT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 118 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

On the positive side, the hotel was clean, the room and bedding were clean. But that was were it ended. The rooms are very dated and old, gloomy, the doors have large gaps where they don't close properly and the walls are paper-thin so it gets noisy. We could even hear next door's shower quite loudly! The pool was closed - apparently the solar heating doesn't work in winter, which was disappointing. Breakfast isn't included and is quite expensive, didn't try dinner in the restaraunt as that looked expensive and not very inviting when just a short walk away you have numerous pubs and restaraunts to choose from.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nlbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

After reading some of the reviews I was a bit worried staying here but the booking was a made so I went.
You could stay at much worse than this motel! Good check in, clean and updated rooms,and good value.
Vikki the owner couldn't do enough to make the 2 night stay better.
Food was of good quality and value
Would come back again

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Its probably not the worst accommodation in Mt Gambier, but it could be better. Check in was nice, but we were told nothing about the Breakfast or internet access, only ask if we needed milk for coffee.
The rooms are clean, but very dated, the fixtures are very 1980's, the beds soft, and the heater (air con) was noisy. For the price it wasn't worth the money, cut the room rate by $50 and it would be worth it, but at $140 I'd look elsewhere.
Check out - well I felt I had interrupted the staff having morning tea. To be honest, I wouldn't stay there again - the room was near the main road and the traffic noise is enough to wake you at all hours.
There are many other places to stay in Mount Gambier, so give this one a miss!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Condition of the rooms is ok, big tv, however the fittings are very outdated and tired looking. No mention of where continental breakfast is served, i.e. your room or restaurant, so we missed breakfast. On asking the owner about it, she was very abrupt in telling us we'd missed it - clearly a lesson in customer service wouldn't go astray there. Shed over the pool is an eyesore, don't know how anyone would want to swim in it just by looking at that. You could hear other people talking in the rooms next to you, so not very quiet. There's other places to stay in Mt Gambier that offer better value for money.

Room Tip: I'd try to get a room on the end to avoid hearing people in the next room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

The silver birch is a country gem. Comfortable rooms with great shower and amenities and fantastic restaurant. Hosts Tony & Vicki are friendly and welcoming. I would definitely stay again when I return to mt gambier. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BettyHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Stayed here for four nights and wanted to flag a few things we would have wanted to consider before staying here again.

Clean rooms, efficient staff although:

- Rooms are not soundproof;
- Doors to rooms do not lock properly;
- Breakfast is not included in the cost of your room.

Would possibly stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RateADive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Gambier hotels
4.5 mi away
The Barn Accommodation
The Barn Accommodation
#2 of 17 in Mount Gambier
544 reviews
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn Presidential
Quality Inn Presidential
#16 of 17 in Mount Gambier
188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arkana Motor Inn & Terrace Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Golden Chain Tower Motor Inn
Golden Chain Tower Motor Inn
#3 of 17 in Mount Gambier
241 reviews
1.3 mi away
Commodore on the Park
Commodore on the Park
#4 of 17 in Mount Gambier
187 reviews
1.6 mi away
Motel Mount Gambier
Motel Mount Gambier
#10 of 17 in Mount Gambier
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Silver Birch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Silver Birch

Address: Jubilee Highway East, Mount Gambier, South Australia 5290, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Mount Gambier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Mount Gambier
Price Range: $83 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Silver Birch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Silver Birch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Mount Gambier
Mount Gambier Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing