We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Silver Birch
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Mount Gambier
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Condition of the rooms is ok, big tv, however the fittings are very outdated and tired looking. No mention of where continental breakfast is served, i.e. your room or restaurant, so we missed breakfast. On asking the owner about it, she was very abrupt in telling us we'd missed it - clearly a lesson in customer service wouldn't go astray there. Shed over the pool is an eyesore, don't know how anyone would want to swim in it just by looking at that. You could hear other people talking in the rooms next to you, so not very quiet. There's other places to stay in Mt Gambier that offer better value for money.

Room Tip: I'd try to get a room on the end to avoid hearing people in the next room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    19
    38
    24
    16
See reviews for
20
61
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

The silver birch is a country gem. Comfortable rooms with great shower and amenities and fantastic restaurant. Hosts Tony & Vicki are friendly and welcoming. I would definitely stay again when I return to mt gambier. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BettyHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Stayed here for four nights and wanted to flag a few things we would have wanted to consider before staying here again.

Clean rooms, efficient staff although:

- Rooms are not soundproof;
- Doors to rooms do not lock properly;
- Breakfast is not included in the cost of your room.

Would possibly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RateADive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jindabyne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

not too bad a place to stay
easy walk to a good pub which is just down the road
old rooms though

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rigseismic67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed here early 2010. The room was pretty much what you would expect for a budget room, which I can handle. The bathroom was really dated and not as clean as I would have liked. The worst part of our overnight stay was the food in the restaurant. Perhaps my standards are too high, coming from Melbourne, but the steak was as tough as boot leather and the sauce was awful. If you are going to stay, try and find something in town for eats.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mount Gambier hotels

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2010

We booked this accomodation as part of our journey by road between Melbourne and Adelaide. The motel is situated about 15 min walk from the town centre which has a few restaraunts, etc. Hence we were really pleased this motel had a restaraunt and we had both dinner and breakfast: meals were very satisfactory and reasonably priced. Motel was clean and staff very friendly. There was occasional noise from the traffic at night, but nothing too noisy. My wife was disappointed she could not use the pool....it was heated by solar power and there hadn't been many hours of sunshine! It was a brisk 45min walk each way to the Blue Lake.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcjhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Ordered a budget room (without service). Room was really a budget room (not only without service but probably one of the rooms which is not updated at all for many years)

Bed was very soft and well slept on. Had set of "antique" table and chairs. Plasma Tv was the only modern facility in the room.

Shower room was spacious like what other reviews mentioned but the bathroom was old. Amenities in the room was like those supplied in a public toilet (shower gel, shampoo, shaver cream and moisturizer (not refilled at all)).

Motel was on main highway (Jubilee highway). Very noisy with roadtrains passing by very often.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtrippers04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Gambier hotels
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn Presidential
Quality Inn Presidential
#14 of 17 in Mount Gambier
180 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Barn Accommodation
The Barn Accommodation
#2 of 17 in Mount Gambier
532 reviews
0.8 mi away
Commodore on the Park
Commodore on the Park
#4 of 17 in Mount Gambier
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Arkana Motor Inn & Terrace Apartments
1.2 mi away
Motel Mount Gambier
Motel Mount Gambier
#9 of 17 in Mount Gambier
60 reviews
1.9 mi away
Golden Chain Tower Motor Inn
Golden Chain Tower Motor Inn
#3 of 17 in Mount Gambier
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Silver Birch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Silver Birch

Property: Comfort Inn Silver Birch
Address: Jubilee Highway East, Mount Gambier, South Australia 5290, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Mount Gambier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Mount Gambier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Silver Birch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Silver Birch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Mount Gambier
Mount Gambier Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing