We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eat out!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Silver Birch
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Mount Gambier
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Eat out!”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed here early 2010. The room was pretty much what you would expect for a budget room, which I can handle. The bathroom was really dated and not as clean as I would have liked. The worst part of our overnight stay was the food in the restaurant. Perhaps my standards are too high, coming from Melbourne, but the steak was as tough as boot leather and the sauce was awful. If you are going to stay, try and find something in town for eats.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    19
    37
    23
    15
See reviews for
20
59
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2010

We booked this accomodation as part of our journey by road between Melbourne and Adelaide. The motel is situated about 15 min walk from the town centre which has a few restaraunts, etc. Hence we were really pleased this motel had a restaraunt and we had both dinner and breakfast: meals were very satisfactory and reasonably priced. Motel was clean and staff very friendly. There was occasional noise from the traffic at night, but nothing too noisy. My wife was disappointed she could not use the pool....it was heated by solar power and there hadn't been many hours of sunshine! It was a brisk 45min walk each way to the Blue Lake.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcjhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Ordered a budget room (without service). Room was really a budget room (not only without service but probably one of the rooms which is not updated at all for many years)

Bed was very soft and well slept on. Had set of "antique" table and chairs. Plasma Tv was the only modern facility in the room.

Shower room was spacious like what other reviews mentioned but the bathroom was old. Amenities in the room was like those supplied in a public toilet (shower gel, shampoo, shaver cream and moisturizer (not refilled at all)).

Motel was on main highway (Jubilee highway). Very noisy with roadtrains passing by very often.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtrippers04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mount Gambier hotels

Fitchburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
87 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

About what you would expect from a Comfort Inn. The guy at the front desk when we checked in and checked out was very friendly – I believe he’s the owner.

Rooms were nice, looked like they have been updated in the past few years. Bed was comfortable, clean sheets. Large flat screen TV. Large desk area, a refrigerator and a microwave in the room, along with coffee/tea making facilities. DSL internet available for an additional fee. There’s a pool in a large greenhouse type building but we didn’t use as its hours of operation fell outside of our stay.

Bathroom was large and clean – and the shower was huge! Large dispensers of shampoo, soap, conditioner, lotion, and even shaving cream hang on the wall.

We stayed during winter and the room was COLD! The in-room heating unit runs for about 15-20 minutes and then is programmed to time out. So I would wake up every half hour or so during the night to go over to the heater and turn it off and then back on to override the timer. Kind of annoying and didn’t provide a solid night’s sleep as a result.

Also, when we booked through the website, it said we had a complimentary continental breakfast provided in the morning. Not the case – we could buy a warm breakfast or snack on the coffee and shortbread cookies provided in the room. We opted to snack and were disappointed we spent nearly $100 US for a cold, interrupted sleep with no breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peshtigofire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

having read the reviews of others I must say mine is a bit different, firstly the first thing that hit me as I walked into the reception was a musky stale sort of odour and was same in entering our room , investing in some sort of air freshener would be a great idea. although I found the desk lady quite pleasant and helpful she made the same point as another reviewer said that we couldnt eat in the restaurantt as it was booked out, even though we had no intention of doing so. the room itself was quite spacious but let in so much light we had trouble sleeping, I wish motel owners would spend a night in each of their rooms just to see what its like and we wouldn't need these reviews, the room was tidy and clean and the bed a tad soft for my likings but ok,
the shower I would kill for at my home it was large and a good strong spray , fantastic. value wise I thought $115 a bit rich for the room but we never haggled as we were both tired, the room was quiet enough and was splendidly laid out with a couch yoyu could sit on and was comfortable also a nice size TV with austar.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellbent43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2010

Close to all the attractions , good size rooms , comfortable cozy and clean rooms , every thing you need is the room . friendly staff , the owners were very helpful , in suggesting places of interest to visit , eg GO TO PORT MAC .
Meals were enjoyable , the motel had a clean and working swimming pool , most relaxing .
We would stay again and again , stay and enjoy , we did .
Regards TERRY and JUDY - YARRA JUNCTION - VICTORIA .

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigboyvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2010

Travelled there with friends on a golf and relaxing trip. The staff were friendly and helpful with their local knowledge proving a big help identifying points of interest to first time visitors. The rooms were clean and spacious. We ate in the restaraunt on our last night and were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the meals. We wished we had eaten there more often on the stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RabMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Gambier hotels
4.7 mi away
The Barn Accommodation
The Barn Accommodation
#2 of 17 in Mount Gambier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn Presidential
Quality Inn Presidential
#15 of 17 in Mount Gambier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arkana Motor Inn & Terrace Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Golden Chain Tower Motor Inn
Golden Chain Tower Motor Inn
#3 of 17 in Mount Gambier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.8 mi away
Commodore on the Park
Commodore on the Park
#4 of 17 in Mount Gambier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.2 mi away
Motel Mount Gambier
Motel Mount Gambier
#10 of 17 in Mount Gambier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Silver Birch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Silver Birch

Property: Comfort Inn Silver Birch
Address: Jubilee Highway East, Mount Gambier, South Australia 5290, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Mount Gambier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Mount Gambier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Silver Birch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Silver Birch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Mount Gambier
Mount Gambier Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing