We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bluer then Blue”
Review of The Blue Lake

The Blue Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Bluer then Blue”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Worth a quick peek if you're passing through Mt Gambier.
The cafe / tourist shop is disappointing - but the lake is amazing!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    561
    341
    74
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Luckily my friends and I travelled down to Mt. Gambier at the right time! The lake was such a deep royal blue, it was simply beautiful.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Aptly named!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We thought the brochure photos may have been touched up but the Blue Lake is actually blue! (or at least it was at the time of year we were there - it apparently reverts to a grey colour in winter). Walked around it which was magnificent and also did the tour which was very interesting.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank kerry3095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Breath taking”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Absolutely fabulous, complete surprise. Did the rim walk and enjoyed a blue lemonade from the Tour shop at the end, highly recommend

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katrina68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood, Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretty Amazing Colour that a photo cannot justify”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Another very pretty natural beauty. Extremely aqua turquoise blue colour when we visited in late December. I'm confused why the adjoining lake is not the same colour..... It made me want to swim (even though you are not allowed to swim in it).

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gaffa83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Lake also viewed

Mount Gambier, South Australia
Mount Gambier, South Australia
 
Mount Gambier, South Australia
Mount Gambier, South Australia
 

Been to The Blue Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing