We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great brunch”

Metro Bakery and Cafe
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Mount Gambier
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great brunch”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stopped over to have breakfast instead we had brunch (the portions were pretty big) here.

We (5 of us) tried Vegetarian Omelette, Big Breaky Omlette, Eggs on Toast (even this was big for breakfast for one person) and Buttermilk Pancake Stack - all of them were excellent - we all love it.

It was pretty crowded (may be due to its popularity), bit noisy (due to too many people) and bit chaotic (we wanted to change the toppings of the pancake and no one knew who is serving us; even at the end no one knew whether we paid for food or not though I had already paid before ordering!!)

Bit expensive but worth every penny! So if you are in Mt Gambier - do try this place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rajarshidg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    124
    26
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“One of the best cafes we've been to”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Delicious food, lovely place, friendly and polite staff, good prices, wonderful cakes. Everything about this place is incredible. There was even free wi-fi!

We received great customer service. The staff always had smiles on their faces. The food was amazing and for a good price, too. Ate here for several days in a row for lunch. Definitely one of the best cafes we've ever visited.

Travelled from Adelaide to Mount Gambier. Wishing we could visit this cafe again. Will definitely stop by if passing through Mount Gambier again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Hills
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hits the right spot!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The good: Salt and Pepper Squid is amazing. Ice coffees are good and the everything else I've tried on the menu has hit the spot.

The bad: On one visit, we got asked to vacate our seats because someone had booked that specific table (they forgot to mark it reserved) even though there were plenty of other spots available throughout the restaurant.

And the awesome: General feel good place to hang out for a casual coffee or a lunch. Missed lunch? Rock up late arvo and you can still get a feed. Will visit again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coyander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A funky fresh cafe”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

My first thought was 'this is a cool little place' and then I saw more seating around a corner. They had a wide spread of food options. My french toast was good although a little dry without honey or syrup. My partner's panna cotta well-presented but he thought it average. Good coffee and polite staff.

Helpful?
Thank samjay23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Worth the stop over”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were just passing through Mt Gambier but I would return just to visit this cafe again. The coffee was excellent and after spending time in Melbourne couldn't believe my luck here. The scrambled eggs were fantastic, great coffee and good food plus a nice look to the place.
The person who took my order did seem friendly but a bit off-hand, maybe slightly sarcastic. That can sometimes happen when places get great reviews they begin to believe their reputation is enough. It was a minor issue though and a stop off here is highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet-PerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metro Bakery and Cafe also viewed

Mount Gambier, South Australia
Mount Gambier, South Australia
 
Mount Gambier, South Australia
Mount Gambier, South Australia
 

Been to Metro Bakery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing