We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Central Motel
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Mount Gambier
Horsham, vic
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

A great place to stay at a good price, very helpful reception lady with advice where to eat and sights to see... as others have said its basic but its clean and has everything you could want.room we were in has lcd tv and in built dvd which was handy.. very centrally located, close to cbd and shops/hotels/restaurants, and not a big drive to see the sights like the blue lake, breaky was very nice too!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    35
    16
    11
    13
See reviews for
15
50
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyable stay, unbeatable location,close to shops, restaurants and walking distance to several attractions. Comfortable beds, hot showers, excellent service and friendly helpful staff. Not luxurious but good enough and immaculate.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 966Chrisw747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Good location for an overnight stop if travelling on the coastal road between Adelaide and Melbourne. Mount Gambier is a small town but there's plenty to occupy visitors for an afternoon and evening. 
Jenny is extremely helpful, providing maps, suggestions for things to do and places to eat at. 
The rooms are basic as you'd expect from motel but they are good value for money. Breakfast can be ordered at additional cost. 
Wifi is available in all rooms for additional charge. $10 for 3 hours is the minimum charge, which by Australia standards is cheap. 
Overall 4 out of 5. Basic but good value for money and very welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Jenny is a customer service driven operator with enough experience to do everything right. The room and bathroom are about as dated as you will find yet absolutely spotlessly clean. The sheets were crisp and towels even had a little flourish folding to them! Price for our late arrival/ early departure was a welcome perk. But expect very basic furnishings, commercial grade carpet, fluorescent light fixtures and vertical lovers on a window with leaks. The rooms are set behind the office vertically to a fairly busy road so road noise is minimized yet evident.
Depends on what you looking for, but Jenny and her obvious high standards overcome the property deficiencies especially for a one night stay on the road. We were arriving late and she made arrangements for us to get the key and our room was available. Would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laneotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

This motel is not the flashiest that we have stayed in but we did have a most enjoyable three night stay. The accommodation is very clean and comfortable. Jenny the owner was exceptionally friendly and only to happy to assist with any inquiries. Being so close to of town was a bonus as we were able to walk to the shopping strips and eateries without having to take the car. The added bonus is that either a continental or cooked breakfast is included in the tariff. We opted for the cooked breakfast which was both delicious and very generous. We will certainly stay here again on our next visit to Mt. Gambier. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kez13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Stayed here for one night only but was very impressed with the friendly service and cleanliness.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GemtheGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Gambier hotels
4.9 mi away
The Barn Accommodation
The Barn Accommodation
#2 of 17 in Mount Gambier
525 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mount Gambier Hotel
Mount Gambier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Mount Gambier
136 reviews
1.0 mi away
Arkana Motor Inn & Terrace Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Blue Lake Motel
Blue Lake Motel
#7 of 17 in Mount Gambier
56 reviews
1.2 mi away
Golden Chain Tower Motor Inn
Golden Chain Tower Motor Inn
#3 of 17 in Mount Gambier
230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mid City Motel
Mid City Motel
#6 of 17 in Mount Gambier
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Motel

Property: Grand Central Motel
Address: 6 Helen St, Mount Gambier, South Australia 5290, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Mount Gambier
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Mount Gambier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Central Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Central Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing