We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 BR apartments”
Review of Mid City Motel

Mid City Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mid City Motel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Mount Gambier
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“3 BR apartments”
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Very nice apartments with QS beds in each room. Bedroom 2&3 locked if you don't pay for/ need them. They seem to be newly built with modern layout, amenities and furnishings.
Main BR has ensuite which also doubles as bathroom for everyone else having 2 entrances. Well appointed laundry and lovely kitchen.
Walking distance to a shopping mall and supermarket.
We didn't see these apartments on their website, but were told about them when we called. These apartments are not near the motel and they have other smaller apartments in other locations around the city.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicknlips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    32
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
34
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Nice place for a one off stopover, bed was a little hard, but apart from that would recommend for a stopover. Great meal at the South Eastern hotel. Friendly service and close to town. Free wifi with code from reception

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandBTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

A quite central location with easy walking distance to eating places and the cinema. Room was excellent value for money. Would prefer a movie channel and less/no sport channels. I was also able to park my service truck at the door. The parking area seemed reasonably safe which is important to me


  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tractordoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This motel needs a little updating but overall the bed was comfortable and everything clean..breakfast was so so..had better...would recommend if you needed something in a hurry and close to shops and food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

A good, older style motel with everything you need. Quiet location and close to the shops. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanMicAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Went there during Xmas last year and stayed for 3 nights at a reasonable rate. Room is spacious and clean,quiet at night. Good location, walking distance to the city view points and there's a coles/ww? nearby. Got picked up from the bus station by John? (not that clearly) and he offered to give us a lift to the Blue Lake which looks amazingly blue. It's not a stylish place to stay but if you're looking for somewhere cozy and not that expensive, that would be it, especially for a family.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SH_jojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Came to Mt Gambier on holiday with no special plans other than a 2-day stopover, and chose Mid City based on advertising in Golden Chain pamphlet. John and Trudy, along with their staff, were nothing short of accomodating and friendly, showing me the extreme personable side of Australian locals that I've discovered on this trip. The room was clean and spacious, and held the necessary cooking items I required, being one who likes to cook for myself. First night in John assisted me in finding dining, and even provided the service necessary to have it delivered to my room. Fantastic! I returned to Mid City a week later on my return trip as I had an excellent experience with them prior. Again, I was treated like an old friend, not only by both John and Trudy, but also by the cleaning staff. I highly recommend Mid City to anyone travelling through Mt Gambier. Get to know the management. They've lots of local knowledge to help make your visit that much more enjoyable.

Room Tip: I stayed in Rm 3 on both visits. Choose a room like this if you like cooking something for yourself...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Gambier hotels
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn Presidential
Quality Inn Presidential
#14 of 17 in Mount Gambier
181 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Barn Accommodation
The Barn Accommodation
#2 of 17 in Mount Gambier
538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mount Gambier Hotel
Mount Gambier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Mount Gambier
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Arkana Motor Inn & Terrace Apartments
1.2 mi away
Golden Chain Tower Motor Inn
Golden Chain Tower Motor Inn
#3 of 17 in Mount Gambier
234 reviews
0.9 mi away
Red Carpet Motel
Red Carpet Motel
#8 of 17 in Mount Gambier
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mid City Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mid City Motel

Property: Mid City Motel
Address: 15 Helen St, Mount Gambier, South Australia 5290, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Mount Gambier
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Mount Gambier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mid City Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mid City Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing