We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle of the Road”
Review of The Lakes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lakes Resort
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Mount Gambier
Port Stephens, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Middle of the Road”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

This is a "middle of the road" motel with a range of accomodation from simple rooms to spa-suites. We stayed the night in a simple room: clean, good bed, adequate bathroom facilities.
The breakfast was cooked to order and good quality with friendly service.
Thr location is very queit and close to the crater lakes and offers nice walking tours.

The restaurant is pretentious (the menu has chateaubriand as their "top" treat). We tried this treat and were very much disappointed: the garni was frugal and the beef quality poor to say it friendly. We ordered medium rare but got more or less "well done". May be they are better at fish and chips and should stick to that.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenkT_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    27
    33
    12
    12
See reviews for
20
38
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Daylesford, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Thsi place could be more than great with a little attention. Unfortunately our stay was rruined and we definitely would not stay here again. The room decor is well out of date, terrible laminate cupboards, old and small tele and inefective lighting. We could hear every movement of the people in the room above us and the water noise throught the pipes was distressing.

We were told the "resturant was closed tonight due to setting uo for a wedding"....guess what ? ..no wedding we could see. We chose this place because of the position na dwe wanted to have dinner and a few drinks without having to drive...I doubt the restraurant is ever open.

Then there was the strange noise comming off the roof. Sounded like metal expanding and contracting follwed by a whining noise...every 5 to 10 minutes !! Loud enough to wake yuo. Well my wife and I had enought by 3.30 am we packed and left on our trip back home.

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelbourneArchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mount Gambier hotels

Mount Gambier, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We rocked up with the sliding doors saying please side Open. They have stopped them open Automatically because of their pet birds. We had gotten in and paid $184.00 for the honeymoon suite, she was helpful but not a professional operation considering the price. On the internet with the Honeymoon suite Champagne and chocolates on arrival we didn't see that any where at all.

Got into the room and had really shocking looking blinds, the rest of the room as you walked in looked ok not something you call a honeymoon suite. Walked into the bathroom where we found tiles from the 80's with the old shower screens with the clouded glass with the rebarb inside it. The bathroom I would say has not been renovated since it was built.

The spa worked fine but it has a sign near the spa saying please don't operate after midnight, which I think is wrong and rude, considering how late people would come in after a wedding.

After our big day we felt hungry and thirsty and looked in the mini bar fridge (which as well as the shower doesn't looked like its ever been out of the room.) There was only one can of coke in there rang reception, and they sent us three bottles of coke with the crown top's but nothing to open them. We looked at the menu decided to order a mustard and cheese bread which the top was burn't other than the burn't bits it actually tasted pretty good but not restaurant quality as the price was aimed at it was a pub style par bake roll. (I'm a Chef by trade)
They had a baked potato which was $13.50 with bacon, roasted capsicum, with sour cream and with lashings of Hollandaise sauce. The potato size was just sad, they took all the potato out and mixed the bacon and roasted capsicum together there was no sour cream or hollandaise sauce which is one of most favourite sauce as it take someone with some good skills to make.

We also ordered 2 500grm rump steaks with the sauce on the side my steak was cooked perfectly my partners was slightly over cooked but it tasted fine all the same. With the dianne sauce we only got one jug it was a typical pub style dianne sauce. The price you pay is restaurant but the quality what you get at many typical pubs around Australia.

I personally was expecting a made to order with a brandy base and really creamy ( I know this is what I was expecting.)

we also ordered a desert we had a white chocolate thing mean't to have a rose water and liqueur sauce (I can't remember the sauce sorry.) To be honest it could of been ok if they had covered the desert properly and it didn't have a thick skin all around the desert. The entree's mains and desert cost $101.65.

The bed was quite good and allowed for a good night sleep, the LCD TV was good but was let down of poor picture quality and poor amount of channels available. I would of thought there might of been Foxtel but wasn't. The last part I would of thought maybe they might of had the air con running slightly maybe set on 25c so the room wasn't like a sauna

I personally think that the meal was not worth the cash and will not be return to stay in the room or for a feed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

I pushed my luck and paid the price. A last minute work issue had me arriving in Mount Gambier mid week with no forward booking. My 3 favourite motels and B&B's were all full - time to try another! Initial impressions good. Set back on the side of the lakes with a nice outlook. No road noise like so many offerings in Mount Gambier. Obliging staff. Then it slips away!

The rooms are vintage 1980's - peach walls, blue porcelain in the bathroom, faded wall hangings normally reserved for Op shops. The bed was perched in the middle of a large room with little other furniture. A tired A/C did an adequate job. Lights were sufficient in number but not in illumination. Didn't try the restaurant and it appears few others did as well. One of the most frustrating things was the view. It actually is quiet nice except the window had only heavy drapes. Open them for the view and every can look in the room. Close them for privacy and you may as well be in a cave. Desperately needs those thin lace curtain for privacy whilst preserving the view and light.

All in all could be a really good place to stay but it snatches defeat from the jaws of victory.

Drive on!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Recently stayed here as a stopover to visit family on the way to Adelaide in a family room with partner and two small children.
I should also note that we got a reasonable deal ($130) via wotif so expectations weren't too high.
The website photos appear to apply only to some part of the 'resort' which has been modernised, certainly we had no lake views and only a small parking spot which necessitated side on parking.
The reception is modern enough but we didn't have a great start when the first set of keys we were given had one missing. This was in fairness immediately rectified.
The room was clean and comfortable and big enough but only for a night or two. The kids had to share a bed and there were no real breakfast facilities.
There was a distinct '80s vibe about the room and the bathroom as well, technology was limited with no DVD player and no Foxtel (and these are very handy when travelling with kids).
Next door to the resort is a huge eyesore, namely the derelict public hospital which so distracted us that we drove past the (poorly signed) main entrance.
Didn't have breakfast or a meal here so can't comment on that and didn't use the pool.
All that said, we slept well and it was a very quick drive to the lakes and CBD.
Would I recommend it - not outright, I would shop around first and ask for one of the modernised rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view and a modernised room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarnetBlackDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2010

For $120 for a country motel I expected a lot more than what was promised. Room was terribly outdated. Aircon didnt work properly which was a big negative on a hot day. TV must have been 10+ yrs old which is ok except the remote didnt work. Dead flies in the bathroom along with a couple of milipedes. and everytime someone in an ajoining room flushed the toilet or had a shower the pipes would rattle. Lucky to have had 4hrs sleep. Checkout was 10 am but I was gone at 5.30am couldnt wait to get out of the place. Only positivse was the view across the city and free hardwired broadband.

Never again though is a $70 a night motel at best

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank farr02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Unfortunately there was a conference on in town, so we had little choice but to accept what we felt was a very over priced room at this facility ($169 per night). The room was very dated. Lighting very poor, fittings and fixtures circa 1980. Perhaps we would have had a good laugh if we hadn't felt so ripped off. There was a new small flat screen TV tucked away in the old telly cabinet; they could have saved some more money on that because it wasn't really a bonus. Our bed was queen sized fitted against a king size bed head so side tables were out of reach! We did have a spa bath, but the bathroom was so dated and gloomy, it wasn't at all inviting. The view back to town would have been great from one of the rooms with a city outlook, but the location overall was spoiled by the ugly vandalised old abandoned hospital building next door. Based on the presentation of our our room we decided not to try the dining room, and after reading some reviews think this was a good decision. Finally, Lakes Resort, give the girl on the front desk a bonus, she was very efficient, polite and professional.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janet0600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Gambier hotels
4.6 mi away
The Barn Accommodation
The Barn Accommodation
#2 of 17 in Mount Gambier
538 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn Presidential
Quality Inn Presidential
#14 of 17 in Mount Gambier
181 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mount Gambier Hotel
Mount Gambier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Mount Gambier
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Arkana Motor Inn & Terrace Apartments
1.3 mi away
Golden Chain Tower Motor Inn
Golden Chain Tower Motor Inn
#3 of 17 in Mount Gambier
234 reviews
1.2 mi away
Commodore on the Park
Commodore on the Park
#4 of 17 in Mount Gambier
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lakes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakes Resort

Property: The Lakes Resort
Address: 17 Lake Tce W, Mount Gambier, South Australia 5290, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Mount Gambier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Mount Gambier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lakes Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lakes Resort is situated on the edge of the Valley Lake Crater with spectacular views over the City from our fully licensed restaurant.It's quiet location away from the busy main highway ensures a good nights sleep ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your The Lakes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing