We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hoggs halitosis cafe”
Review of Hog's Breath Cafe

Hog's Breath Cafe
Ranked #44 of 161 Restaurants in Glenelg
Price range: $17 - $26
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Abu Derby
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hoggs halitosis cafe”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We visited the Hoggs breath cafe in Glenelg Adelaide early on a Friday night. The service was friendly. If a little slow at times. E.g. We ordered drinks a second round of drinks before the main course arrived. The drinks arrived after we had finished, and following a reminder.
We had a shared starter of finger food. This was quiet large and easily enough for two. We followed this with gone fishing and an 18 hour steak. The steak was large and very tender but quiet fatty. In fact I left a quarter of the steak due to this. The fish contained several bones. The pig tail fries were not evenly cooked and contained lots of potato eyes. They were just your cheap frozen type available in supermarkets. The decor is very tired and dirty.
The shared starter, two mains and two bottles of beer and two glasses of wine came to $109 dollars. So, if you like overpriced, over sized, mass produced food this may be the place for you. It is not for us.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RauldukeAbuDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    80
    33
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Birthday Tea”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Good service and a great meal was had by all. We even got a slice of mud cake with sparklers on and the staff sang Happy Birthday. Nice experience.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cheryll M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food,”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Food is fabulous, but tables and the bench chairs are too small for anyone who is not skinny. Was embarrassing and something should be done about it.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Good food, great service. Had the loaded potatoes and lite cut with garlic prawns. Wasn't disappointed. Great views from the balcony although it was a tad cold when we went.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Prime rib like you've never tasted”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

And not in a good way. I've eaten here twice and the prime rib is just about inedible. It tastes like it's been bathed in liquid smoke or lighter fluid. After the first time I should have known better but gave it another try just in case. Mistake. Perhaps I'm just a picky steak eater, coming from Texas. But I can't recommend this place.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank KMK55884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hog's Breath Cafe also viewed

Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Hog's Breath Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing