We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality dinners”
Review of Europa at the Bay

Europa at the Bay
Ranked #13 of 162 Restaurants in Glenelg
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Mount Isa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Quality dinners”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Serve quality dinners. Not turnover orientated. Every customer counts. Meat dishes made perfectly. Affordable.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neels B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody L, Manager at Europa at the Bay, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear customer, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback!

We're glad that we were able to portray our standards of customer service so accurately to you! We will never be a fast-paced, turnover-oriented 'cafe' - instead, we make sure that each and every customer has a great experience here at Europa. When you walk through our wooden door, you are about to undertake an experience that has had 10 years of refinement, not just a 'quick meal'. We get to know you personally - we suggest what you might like to drink, we ensure you always have water, and we certainly make sure that you enjoy the meal that you have.

Perhaps next time you can try our Pork Belly? The crispy skin is a perfect blend of traditional and modern-style cooking of crackle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    116
    46
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Made the mistake of ordering 2 entrees for myself this totally confused the waiter and as a result one of the ceasar salads we ordered turned up 15 minutes after the other meals.
The Caesar itself had very little dressing and was basically tasteless.
Would not go back here again

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody L, Manager at Europa at the Bay, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear customer, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback!

We're sorry to hear that the arrival of your meals were a little out of sync. It can sometimes get a little tricky on larger tables with mixed meals and entrees, however we do agree that should never be an excuse for service below your expectations.
It's also a little surprise about your thoughts on the Caesar Salad - you're more than welcome to request a little extra dressing on your salad if you prefer it that way, as we ensure we do our best to please the food expectations and habits of our customers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Decent food and plenty of it. Not a great atmosphere”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Ate dinner at the Europa. We went for pizza and salad. The portions were more than adequate, but the quality was there.
Service was efficient rather than friendly. The place did not have a great atmosphere and the behaviour of the party at the next table did little to enhance it.
Prices were a little on the high side, but were not ridiculous.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EnochOllier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody L, Manager at Europa at the Bay, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear customer, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback!

We're glad that you enjoyed the food experience you had while dining at Europa. We always try to give our customers the best value for their money - who wants to pay good money for a tiny portion on a plate?

Unfortunately there's not too much we can do with other patrons perhaps being a little noisy at times - we strive to do our very best to make everyone feel welcome and comfortable at Europa. The next time you visit, please do not hesitate to ensure that your needs are met by our staff - we are more than happy to do our best in terms of creating a great dining experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Good little eating place with friendly staff and good value for $. You could sit outside and enjoy a beer with the meal.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Briefstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody L, Manager at Europa at the Bay, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear customer, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback!

We're glad that you enjoyed your experience at Europa! We always ensure that the staff we have are friendly, professional, and efficient workers. We ensure that both our customers and staff members are happy - why waste time being unhappy?
Perhaps you should try one of our imported beers next time you visit - we pour ice-cold beer straight from the tap on our portable cocktail/bar station outside!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
518 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Great coffee, great staff and a place to sit and watch the world go by.”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

With time to kill on a wet sunday my wife and I decided a coffee was needed. Good call. The coffee we had was top class and served by a very friendly and efficient waiter.
Sitting under shelter on the footpath was a great place to sit with a real buzzy atmosphere and just watch the world go by.
Well worth another visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schlepper1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody L, Manager at Europa at the Bay, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear customer, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback!

We're really glad that you decided to drop into our restaurant for a coffee! We love to make great coffee for great customers - no matter how relaxed or fussy our patrons are about their coffee, we always ensure that the standard never changes and every customer gets the same great caffeine boost!
Our outside area really is set up to encourage a relaxed, welcoming environment where you are able to sit down, tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the main street and just enjoy yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Europa at the Bay also viewed

Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Europa at the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing