We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good people-watching spot, nice food”
Review of Europa at the Bay

Europa at the Bay
Ranked #12 of 175 Restaurants in Glenelg
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Europa is open for a casual breakfast, brunch, lunch, coffee or for slightly more formal meal at night. There are tables inside or outside along the busy end of the Moseley Square, Jetty Road precinct; a great place to sit in summer with a nice plate of food and a good glass of wine while watching the world go by. In winter outdoor heaters and clear blinds keep the cold out.
Europa is always reliable for a good plate of pasta and my favourite over the years is the Linguine al Granchio, fresh blue swimmer crab meat, garlic, a touch of chilli, tomato, cream & flamed with brandy. Europa's version of this has been my benchmark for this dish over the last few years but on my most recent occasion it was a little heavy on the tomato; but still a generous serving and tasty. My partner enjoyed his chicken kiev with sauteed mushroom, potato, spinach and ricotta and reported it was very tender and tasty.
Recommended as a good spot when in Glenelg to sit and people watch, while enjoying a good meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CosmicCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody L, Manager at Europa at the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear carol, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback. and help us to build our good raputation. looked at other restaurant at glenelg you had put review on, you gived us a very fair judge of our consistent quality food. Thank you very much! Love to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 333 of 360 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Last evening in Glenelg SA and we wanted a meal that would be good value. From the moment we stopped to look at the menu we were treated with respect and friendly service. I was hot, they turned on the air conditioning, gave me a glass of water and asked where we wanted to sit - inside or outside. Several staff - in what was a busy and crowded restaurant - took great care to enquire as to my health. We ordered and received amazing food that was cooked to perfection, great wine and beer, served with sensitive customer service.
Throughout the whole time we were in the restaurant, until leaving, we were given care and attention. We did not order great $ value food, are elderly and the staff could have easily ignored us - they did not! We will encourage all of our colleagues, friends and family to have a meal at Europa Italian restaurant whenever they are visiting Glenelg South Australia.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Yvonnebradfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody L, Manager at Europa at the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear customer Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback. and help us to build our good raputation on the website. We are so proud of our friendly service makes you so enjoyed. your satisfaction makes up our day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Loved the setting of this place but that's it. My fruit salad could have fit it a tea cup, and the coffee was weak. We walked down the road for another to wake us up!

2  Thank HannahLillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody L, Manager at Europa at the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Customer Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback , We're sorry to hear that, Please Let our friendl staff to know when you 're not happy with your coffee a bit week, we're able to do a double strength for you to make up your day. Rather than leave any problem behind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My family and I had lunch at Europa and sat outside on a warm day. The best thing about this place is the food which is reasonable quality, rustic Italian fare. It is however clearly overpriced for what you get, the service from the Manager was extremely casual and offhand and there is no sense of any atmosphere. Overall this was a reasonable but ultimately forgettable experience and not a place I would go out of my way to visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody L, Manager at Europa at the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear vaule customers:
Thank you for your inportant feed back. At Europa we serve the top quality food with 1st grade ingredients. To became an informal restaurant at glenelg, we offer best friendly service to our customers to ensure everybody just feel like home.
Normally more casual during lunch time and silver service for dinner. this way helps us to keep both local customer and visitors having best relaxing dining environment.
We definelly will address the problem to our team members to make sure all our waiting staff offers the same quality service to every single table.
Thank you very much again for your feed back, and please give us another try with our silver table service at dinner time. We wish to see you again!

Best regard!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Decided to try a new restaurant over the weekend and picked out Europa after we stumbled across it at the bay - friendly staff greeted us as we walked up and we decided to give it a try. The service was excellent, staff were very attentive without being pushy or making us feel uncomfortable. The food was impeccable, we had the Penne Con Pollo and it came out hot, cooked to perfection and a very very reasonable portion size. We had the house red, which was a cabernet merlot from mclaren vale if I recall, and was comparable to $70-a-bottle reds that I have tasted before. Also had a cappucino after dinner which was great - they use Rio coffee which you find in the best cafes.
Had a formal atmosphere, however we felt like we were dining among good friendly staff and felt very comfortable. They also do takeaway food.
All in all, would definitely recommend, as it was very hard to fault Europa. Will be our regular restaurant from now on without a doubt.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tomj22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody L, Manager at Europa at the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We're so pleased to hear it that you enjoy dining. wish to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Europa at the Bay also viewed

Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Europa at the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing