We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The buffalo, Paul S”
Review of Buffalo - CLOSED

Buffalo
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Australian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: The Business has closed down
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“The buffalo, Paul S”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

What a great surprise!
Been years since I ate here, we saw it open and wandered in. Friendly greeting and offered a table by the window. A cold beer watching the sun set over the Marina, then delicious fresh seafood from a very, very reasonably priced menu.
Such a unique venue, a replica sailing ship placed in the water.
Great excuse to talk like a pirate (apologies to the staff and nearby tables).
The staff were friendly, professional and attentive.
A coffee then a walk around Glenelg. A fun, easy on the pocket experience at this South Aussie icon. Can't wait for the next voyage. Probably try an individual cabin next time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We went to dinner with my wife & kids we had a private room something for the kids. They thought it was pretty cool they also had a kids area which was great the food was quick & very nice. The price was very reasonable & I would highly recommend & would go back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“"Great meal, excellent service"”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Last evening we took our three grandchildren to the Buffalo Restaurant and all enjoyed it very much. Good range of choices on menu and service could not be faulted. Meals were served promptly, nicely presented and delicious. We will return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seajan39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value dining in a unique venue”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stepping on to a replica sailing ship that brought the first settlers to Glenelg to dine is a unique experience. Adding friendly, attentive staff, a reasonably priced menu with good quality food, and a relaxed ambience makes for a thoroughly enjoyable experience. If you have kids in tow, they have their own play area at one end of the ship, away from the main dining area. If you want a totally private experience, dine in your own cabin! Yes something to please everyone. And don't miss the signature dessert....a choc fest replica of The Buffalo!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stopped in for lunch and was so pleased we did. This was our nicest meal in Adelaide. Reasonably priced. I had the Atlatic salmon which was beautiful. Highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Khollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffalo also viewed

Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing