We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great Ambience"”

THE PROMENADE RESTAURANT
Reserve with
THE PROMENADE RESTAURANT is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 155 Restaurants in Glenelg
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Great Ambience"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Food was excellent with prices that can only be described as reasonable. We found the service to be exceptionally friendly....definitely like the layout. Plenty of options when deciding where you would like to have your meal.....view at sunset is outstanding.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JKDVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    94
    67
    37
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

The High Teas in The Promenade Restaurant are absolutely divine. Also, the buffet breakfast is sensational, the variety is outstanding and the quality of food absolutely delicious!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsYogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RADELAIDE
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice views only thing that saved it, well nothing could really saved it..”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Went here for a girlfriends birthday and i had a steak. It was well over cooked, i ordered med rare and it came out med to well done. I asked why was it so over cooked so it got sent back to the kitchen and ten minutes later I got the SAME steak back and it was cold. the staff explained that the chef said it was med rare. so i ended up having to pay for a overcooked, overpriced cold steak.. very rude staff, never again, nice views was the only good thing about it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Slow and poor quality”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The quality of the food was poor and the meal was terribly slow (took over 1 hr, 15 mins). I would never eat here again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank shanemelb1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The food was disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Great view. Helpful attentive staff. Three courses for $30 and four for $36 is good but I was disappointed. The scallop on a spoon starter was dry. The prawn and calamari entre was nice but the rocket was full of grit. The chicken breast was moist in the middle but dry on the outside. The spinach and truffle mash were ok. The portobello mushrooms were more like dried mushrooms and cooked to an inch of their life. Nice restaurant though. It may have been an off night

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Campaspediva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed THE PROMENADE RESTAURANT also viewed

Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to THE PROMENADE RESTAURANT? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing