We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Food at reasonable prices”
Review of Phuket Thai

Phuket Thai
Ranked #24 of 164 Restaurants in Glenelg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very Good Food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went as a group of 10 and had a banquet. We were 10 hungry men and we all eat very well and still there was plenty of food left over
The wine selection was varied and well priced
RECOMMENDED for couples through to groups

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charsal_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    37
    8
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Echuca
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“A Festival of Flavours!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Because this is a little way off the beach scene (couple of blocks) it seems to be enjoyed more by the locals than the tourists but that is a huge loss for those too lazy to do the walk. We love Thai food for the flavours and aromas and this place served up two stunning dishes. My wife ordered the Moreton Bay bugs with fresh coriander, lemon grass, basil (must have been Vietnamese basil because of the beautiful aniseed flavours throughout); mine was the lightly crumbed soft shell crab with yellow curry. They were a complete contrast to each other but both were winners. Turns out my wife liked my dish better than hers and I liked hers better than mine so we happily shared and swapped.
There were only two other tables of customers which suited us just fine. We'd have happily gone back the next night except we always aim to try someplace new each day.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PatTheCoffeeFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We love and appreciate good Asian food. Phuket Thai exceeded our expectation and we would be happy to recommend it to those seeking great Asian food.

The sweet & sour prawns are magnificent! Our other two dishes - one soup and a combination rice - were also delicious.

Phuket Thai has a modern decor and a nice atmosphere, it's very clean and staff are attentive.
Great place too for meals with friends or celebratory dinners.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank travelwriter2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Ate here twice during a 4 day stay after reading good TripAdvisor reviews - they were not wrong!
We had the best green & red curries probably ever (having had many) and paid a very reasonable $19 which included an offer of rice 'top ups'. The red beef curry had a large portion of incredibly tender beef and is highly recommended.
Definitely worth a visit but you may need to book, certainly for a Friday/weekend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Pete_Gill_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Thai I've eaten”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Been to many Thai restaurants around Australia and in Thailand. The Tom kha gai and the green chicken curry were the best I have ever eaten. Thank you trip advisor. Decor was simple, yet modern and without the photo of the king and tacky elephant embroidery thingos which are in most Thai restaurants. Service was excellent, but we were in and out early before it became too busy. Overall, an excellent dining experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Andomc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phuket Thai also viewed

Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Phuket Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing