We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Seawall Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seawall Apartments
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Excellent location, lovely large room decorated beautifully and great service. I would not hesitate to recommend this accommodation to anyone. If you're thinking about this place just book it straight away.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PWR1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelOsborne, Manager at Seawall Apartments, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thanks PaulW for your 5 star praise of our hotel - we are thrilled to hear that you loved every aspect of your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon,
kind regards,
Rachael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    139
    43
    3
    2
See reviews for
250
260
36
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pakenham, Victoria, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We spent a long weekend in "The Schoolhouse" and enjoyed every minute. The staff could not have been more helpful. The apartment was charming, we all enjoyed the spa! Great location. We would happily recommend Seawall to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelOsborne, Manager at Seawall Apartments, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear KatrinaR, Thanks for your delightful review. The School House is a favorite apartment for families wanting loads of space and a superb view. I am so glad to hear that you would recommend us and we do hope to see you next time you are in Adelaide -
Best wishes,
Rachael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The good thing about Seawall is the location: beach, Jetty road and close to the tram. We stayed for 5 nights in July in "Olive Mews" to visit family and friends in Adelaide - a one bedroom, one bathroom at the back of the complex. At first glance Olive Mews is ordinary, being at the back of the apartments and looking out onto the carpark. The rooms were spacious but felt cold and damp. The bathroom has a shower, toilet and spa bath; but with high ceilings and no heating the bathroom was very cold. There is a gas "pot belly" in the lounge, a freestanding electric heater in the bedroom. There is reverse cycle aircon, but we couldn't get it to warm up. The plumbing wasn't so good, especially the toilet. Olive Mews had a 4 burner hotplate, small microwave and full size fridge. Kitchen equipment was of very basic quality and quantity. Free wifi was welcome, sometimes the signal was a little weak, but generally quite good.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the top floor, overlooking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelOsborne, Manager at Seawall Apartments, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review of your stay Julia2600.
We have 6 quite unique Superior Spa Suites, I am sorry that The Mews didn't tick all the boxes for you- perhaps next time you might find The Crow's Nest cosier or The Landing with a more pleasing outlook. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to wow you,
Kind regards,
Rachael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Had 3 great nights in the School House. We arrived after hours and the heaters were on which makes such a difference..its the little things!! Very clean, heaps of towels and it felt like home in no time. Position was amazing and when we return to Adelaide, I wont bother researching where to stay as this is the place for us. Great for families

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 78Family5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelOsborne, Manager at Seawall Apartments, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks 78Family5 - you loved us! Yipeee! That's our favourite thing to hear!
Thanks for noting the 'little things' we do - I know from my own travels, coming in late at night into warm and welcoming apartment makes it so much easier after a long day travelling with the kids! I am glad you appreciated the gesture and thanks for sharing the love!
See you next time,
Rachael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed at the Seawall Apartments on a girls weekend in May this year, and WOW!! We were VERY impressed!! Beautiful setting. Charming architecture. Modern quality accessories. Comfy bed and pillows. Friendly helpful staff. The list goes on. There is a real personality to this place, and I would highly recommend it. We stayed in the Captains Quarters - and that spa bath was the best setting id ever seen - WOW AGAIN!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelOsborne, Manager at Seawall Apartments, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
WOW! Thank you Thank you Sarah E! You have made our day! It is wonderful to know that someone else sees our beautiful hotel through the same glasses I wear - awesome rooms, incredible location and great service.
The spa in The Captain's Quarters really is something else isn't it! That view!
I am thrilled to hear that a well traveled guest like yourself rates it as the best setting you have ever seen- too good!
We would love to see you again when you can next get away with the girls!
All the best, Rachael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

First time I've stayed in Glenelg and was happy to find such a great little place.Staff are very friendly and welcoming. Our apartment was fantastic, clean with nice furniture.Lovely walk along the foreshore to the Pier and action in Glenelg. Parking at Seacliff was very handy as was the laundry facilities. Definitely a cracker of a place and location. I'll be back and highly recommend this accommodation

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AussieBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelOsborne, Manager at Seawall Apartments, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hi AussieBreeze and thank you so much for your cracker little review!
I really do appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience and your positive comments are something I will share with the entire team.
Look forward to seeing you again next time, All the best, Rachael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
314 reviews
225 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 507 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The tacky big shark's jaw at the entry had disappeared but some of the boats and nautical items on the deck remained. We stayed 3 nights in The Landing room for $169 per night. The Landing was a spacious upstairs room with a comfortable queen bed, lounge, flat screen TV and reasonable storage. Unfortunately the pillows were a little flat so one is too few and two was too many.

There was a small, well equipped kitchen with a full-sized fridge and four seat table in the dining nook. There was a shower over a small two-person spa bath in the pleasant bathroom. The decor throughout was smart and elegant. The Landing was on the side so there was no sea view from within but a lovely sea view from the table on the balcony by the front door. It did not quite have the right aspect for the sunset so we needed to go downstairs for that.

This apartment hotel is a collection of interesting old buildings melded into one accommodation so no two rooms are the same. The welcome was warm. There was a complimentary guest laundry and off-street parking at the rear. The room had an iron & board. There was free wifi but the signal was too weak to use in our room. It was available on the balcony but a little slow.

My main complaint here was a piece of very bad design. There was a sliding door into the bathroom with a half step immediately beyond. It was quite a bad tripping hazard and I had a painful fall to the bathroom floor soon after arrival, which could easily have ended our stay before it began.

The location of Seawall is excellent. It is immediately opposite the beach in Glenelg with nothing but the pedestrian promenade, green lawn and Norfolk pines between. It is a pleasant walk to Jetty Road with all the shops, dining options and the tram terminus for the CBD of Adelaide.

In summary, this is an excellent place to stay when visiting Adelaide but I don't recommend The Landing room.

Room Tip: Discuss your needs when booking & not The Landing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaisyClover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelOsborne, Manager at Seawall Apartments, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear DaisyClover, Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and thank you also for your detailed review.
I am glad to hear that you, like me, are happy to see the shark entrance gone! It was a controversial decision but I agree it was a bit tacky and really does not do the standard of the rooms justice.
I am sorry to hear that you tripped on the entrance to the bathroom and do hope you are ok. Thank you for letting us know.
It is great to see you for provided so many photo's of your stay - I know I am always keen to see guest photos when I am looking at places to stay myself and I am happy to see that your pictures tell the same story as our professionally taken photos.
I note you are a regular visitor to Glenelg and do hope to see you again soon,
Kind regards,
Rachael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.3 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.6 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
7.0 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
6.6 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seawall Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seawall Apartments

Property: Seawall Apartments
Address: 21 - 25 South Esplanade | rear access Oldham Street, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
#1 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
#1 Green Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Seawall Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seawall Apartments provides boutique contemporary accommodation in original stately buildings with a touch of vintage charm on the Esplanade at Glenelg in Adelaide, South Australia. The family run, private hotel is located only 500m from Jetty Road, Glenelg, comprising a vast array of restaurants, boutiques, food stores and family friendly activities. There is also direct access to the city of Adelaide via tram. We have a range of apartments to suit all travellers. With twenty-two apartments available on the property, there is always something to suit. From one-bedroom studio apartments for a business traveller or couple, to large four bedroom apartments for extended families and group gatherings, catering up to eight people. All apartments are accommodated in original buildings, over four Esplanade blocks facing Glenelg Beach. All apartments offer spa baths, self contained cooking facilities, reverse cycle air-conditioning and flat screen TV’s. The property also offers free Wifi and off-street parking, complementary to all guests. Seawall provides a home away from home, offering space, easy access to safe and clean Glenelg beach, open decked areas and barbecues. A convenient and quiet offering for the business or holiday traveller wanting a different hotel experience. The perfect spot to watch sunset over the ocean and take in a little dolphin spotting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seawall Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seawall Apartments Hotel Glenelg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing