We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Seawall Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seawall Apartments
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Absolutely perfect, my wife and i needed accomodation at short notice not having planned to be at Glenelg that afternoon, the beautiful young lady who greeted us and placed us in the best apartment in the house,she could not have been more helpful, the apartment was spotless, overlooking the water and the whole experience was wonderful, this accomodation was the highlight of our 9 day trip, hopefully we can come back here sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aldeepat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelOsborne, Manager at Seawall Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you so much aldeepat for your perfect review! A 5 star rating across the board - we are beyond thrilled!
I am so delighted to read that you found our accommodation to be spotlessly clean - it is so very important to us.
The view from The Beachside Balcony apartment at sunset is awesome - I think the best on the property really!
Thank you for your kind comments about our staff also.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Seawall next time you are in Adelaide,
Kind regards,
Rachael Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (816)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

658 - 664 of 816 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

We thought the apartment was reasonable as a pure holiday home.
I guess I was misled by the price (£200+/ night). I went in unprepared thinking it was a serviced apartment. For the three nights there we had no "services" or whatsoever. Towels were never changed; toiletries not refilled even once; we are supposed to empty our bins but the only bin we found outside was filled with water so couldn't use it. I guess it was getting unreasonable of me to hope there would be any cleaning of the apartment during our 3 nights' stay. The cleaning/dusting of the place could be improved- my husband has asthma and was left feeling unwell due to the amount of dust for the duration of the stay. We found out from the kitchen window that a previous guest had a similar experience, having written "clean me" using his/her finger into the thick layer of dust that had accumulated there (see my picture). The reception was never attended for the 4 days I went past- there is a note there asking the guests to call a number... Assuming everyone has a local mobile on hand? I met the receptionist once when we checked in and that was it, and she was nice and friendly- I suppose in a way it gives us privacy.
Good location, great views. Our apartment although not quite as it looked on the website, was still nice. Having been to many holiday houses before, I will rate this as average, but given holiday houses normally offer better value, I would definitely think a 3-star is a final rating from us, at a stretch.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QQ-LITTLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelOsborne, Manager at Seawall Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear QQ LITTLE,
Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay.
I am sorry you didn't enjoy staying in The Chapel - it is one of our most requested and popular apartments.
I understand your disappointment with the servicing of your room - it seems this was an oversight on our part and I am truly sorry you were missed. We have since put new measures in place to ensure that this does not happen again.
Kind regards,
Rachael Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed in 2 Olive Court (ground floor 3 bedroom apartment with great sea view) for 3 nights. The apartment was a great setup for our family of 5 and the location perfect. The staff were lovely and the rooms were serviced while we were there. The apartment was very cool and even though each day we were there it was around 30 degrees, we never once felt the need to use the aircon. The criticisms I have would be the limited kitchen supplies (no pealer, no grater for example) and the lack of sound proofing between floors. We were on the ground floor and could hear just about everything that went on above us and to make it worse, they were up and about before 6am every morning so no sleep-in for us. The floor boards were extremely noisy in ours and the above apartment. Otherwise, we did enjoy our stay and the kids had an absolute ball.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobosWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

There's not much to add to previous reviews - Seawall really is very well run, beautifully situated in an older but restored building, and employs excellent staff. Nothing was too much trouble. They kept asking us whether the group downstairs were too loud, but the walls seem to be made of stern stuff and our two bedroom apartment was quiet throughout every night we stayed here. Highly recommended for families.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chambo1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at the Seawall apartments for 5 nights from 21st Feb. We were in a group of 13 and not 1 person had a complaint about the rooms, location and staff. I was in the boat house which was fantastic the house itself was perfect not to mention the great veranda which over looked the esplanade and the beach, we witnessed some wonderful sunsets from here. It's a short stroll to Jetty Rd thats full of great cafes & shopping. Also the surf club & marina restrurants are close by. Just needed more time to experience more in Glenelg, a 20 min tram ride and your in the middle of Adelaide what else could you want. We all agreed that we will be returning back next year and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else other than the Seawall.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki27Newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a great place to stay as a romantic escape or get a couple of family's to stay and the kids will love it!!
Book directly with Seawall because the booking agent will take 'more' than $100 for themselves so go directly to there website.

Room Tip: well pay more for big views but we stayed in the Hills room and in the evening we sat on the veranda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hopgoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife and I, who live in BC, Canada, have stayed at the Seawall Apartments at least 4 times over the last 12 years. We've watched the apartments change from charming and comfortable to charming and luxurious. What hasn't changed is the friendliness and professionalism of Rachel and the rest of the staff. This year, we spent a week in February in the School House, which is now our favourite, although each apartment we have stayed in is unique and has its own special appeal. The whole area of Glenelg, which was once my home, is a wonderful place to visit. The beach is close and safe and almost unoccupied, even on the weekends. We've been to beaches all over the world and none of them are a match for the clean sand, calm waters and privacy of Glenelg. When you add to this the beautiful promenade and proximity to Glenelg centre, you have a winner. Jump on the tram and 20 minutes later you're in Adelaide. We'll be back. Thank you to all of the staff for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Phone ahead. The staff will match the room to your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KamloopsRocketRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.3 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
6.6 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 56 in Adelaide
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seawall Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seawall Apartments

Address: 21 - 25 South Esplanade | rear access Oldham Street, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Glenelg
#1 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range: $136 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seawall Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seawall Apartments provides boutique contemporary accommodation in original stately buildings with a touch of vintage charm on the Esplanade at Glenelg in Adelaide, South Australia. The family run hotel is located only 500m from Jetty Road, Glenelg, comprising a vast array of restaurants, boutiques, food stores and family friendly activities. There is also direct access to the city via tram. With 22 apartments available on the property, there is always something to suit. From 1 bedroom studio apartments to large 4 bedroom apartments, catering up to eight people. All apartments offer spa baths, self contained cooking facilities, air-conditioning and flat screen TV’s. The property also offers free Wifi and off-street parking, complementary to all guests. Seawall provides a home away from home, offering easy access to safe and clean Glenelg beach, open decked areas and barbecues. A convenient and quiet offering for the business or holiday traveller wanting a different hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seawall Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seawall Apartments Hotel Glenelg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing