We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only Place to Stay In Adelaide”
Review of Seawall Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seawall Apartments
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Port Lincoln, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Only Place to Stay In Adelaide”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

If you can avoid staying in the city on your visit to Adelaide then this is the place to be. Right slap bang on the beach, no traffic, sea breezes wafting thru the windows, spacious, quaint olde world buildings chocked with character. Friendly accomodating staff, nothing is too difficult. Its a 5 min stroll down along the foreshore to a bustling commercial centre with cafes, hotels, clothes stores, chemists & shops of all descriptions. Looking forward to my next stay @ Seawall. ;o)

Room Tip: Cant beat anything overlooking the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelOsborne, Manager at Seawall Apartments, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hi DaveB, Thanks for a wonderful short, sharp, and sweet review! We love that you loved your stay, and can't wait to see you again next time you are in Glenelg.
Best wishes,
Rachael, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    139
    43
    3
    2
See reviews for
250
260
36
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Taunton Somerset
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We booked the Seawall Apartments for our 2 week stay in Glenelg totally on Tripadvisor recommendations and we were delighted to find they were spot on.

Right on the seafront and a few minutes walk from Glenelg's Jetty Road, this is an ideal location for couples and families alike. We have never stayed in an apartment anywhere in the world that was kept so spotlessly clean and supplied with so many fresh towels AND tea & coffee. Our allocated apartment, The Chapel, was quirky and interesting, but having seen a few of the other apartments, any would have been equally comfortable. The contemporary decor gave a modern feel and finishing touches such as a DVD player, hairdryer and ironing table gave that extra home appeal. The ladies working in the office were extremely helpful and friendly throughout, from leaving a light on for our late arrival and providing a room for a few extra hours to accommodate a late night flight home.

There is really nothing critical of note to say about the Seawall. The kitchen was perhaps a bit light on utensils and some of the back outside areas were a bit cluttered, but hey we were on holiday and chilling. If you want an intimate location, character and friendly service in Glenelg, then you will love the Seawall.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerfectPammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelOsborne, Manager at Seawall Apartments, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thanks for your smashing review PerfectPammy!
We are thrilled to hear that you "have never stayed in an apartment anywhere in the world that was kept so spotlessly clean and supplied with so many fresh towels AND tea & coffee" ! Excellent feedback for our dedicated team!
Thank you also for posting some happy snaps of your stay. I know when I use TripAdvisor to search for my own holiday accommodation I'm always interested to see how guest photos compare to the professional shots. I'm glad to see that your pictures tell the same story as our photos do!
All the best and we hope to see you back on our sunny shores next time you are in Oz,
Rachael, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We arrived in adelaide via thailand, we were attending our son's wedding. We had 4 Olive Court and my brother had 3 Olive Court. From the moment we checked in we were very happy for our 6 nights here. The apartment was spotless, we were supplied with towels, toiletries, and complimentary tea and coffee, which was very welcoming after a long flight. The bed was very comfortable in the second bedroom, which also had a single bed in, ( were very honourable and gave the larger room with queen bed and en-suite to the parents!!!). The kitchen was well equipt. The location is great a stones throw to the beautiful beach, and a short stroll to the bars, shops and restaurants. The staff here are very friendly and helpful, i went to use the washing machine out the back of the apartment and it was leaking, my washing had already been put in with the liquid etc, while i was out a lady came and took the washing, washed it and then help my hubby hang it up, thats service for you! We would recommend the seawall apartments and will most definitely stay here again when we return to adelaide.

Room Tip: i would recommend that you try to get an apartment on the first floor where the views are far better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josie-essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelOsborne, Manager at Seawall Apartments, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thanks so much for your review josie-essex and for your kind comments regarding our staff.
We are so lucky to work with such a great bunch of happy, motivated and caring people all dedicated to making sure Seawall Apartments is the very best it can be. Its lovely to hear again and again in these reviews how our staff have gone above and beyond to make sure our guests have a wonderful, memorable experience.
Thanks also for noting the impeccable cleaning standards - Jenni our head housekeeper does a fantastic job of making sure the rooms are spotless each and every time- Thanks Jenni!
It was a pleasure to have you all staying with us in November and we hope to see you again very soon,
All the very best,
Rachael Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed for five nights in the courtyard apartment. It was very comfortable, spacious and
clean. We enjoyed our little chats each day with the the gentleman that lives on the premises
in the fishermans cottage. We were their for the world surf title and had a wonderful time I can highly recommend Seawall apartments.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serenity68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelOsborne, Manager at Seawall Apartments, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear serenity68, Thanks for your lovely review of your stay in The Courtyard - top marks in all categories - you have made us so very happy !
Glenelg was very busy during the "World's" and I'm glad you found your apartment to be a little oasis. I will pass on your kind comments regarding the cleanliness of the apartments to our housekeeping staff for you.
We do hope you will return to Seawall next time you are in Adelaide,
All the best,
Rachael Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is the 2nd time I have stayed a these apartments and I can highly recommend them. The rooms have all been spacious, the location is fantastic and there has always been ample parking. I much prefer to stay here when on business as access to the city and airport is very straight forward.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpencerPix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelOsborne, Manager at Seawall Apartments, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post your review SpencerPix. Its great to hear that we ticked all the boxes for you as a business traveler. Seawall is in a great spot, right on the beach at Glenelg and just 20 minutes from the CBD by car or Tram making it easy to mix business with a bit of relaxing too!!
We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Adelaide,
Kind regards,
Rachael Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed in the captain's quarters on our wedding night and following night. Everything was amazing, the space, the furniture, the views were spectacular and the spa overlooking the beach was to die for! We later went to Noosa and surfers paradise, the accommodation was also very good but overall the quality, location and views of Seawall - top shelf! Loved it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelOsborne, Manager at Seawall Apartments, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Anne M,
Congratulations on your recent nuptials! How lovely that you chose to spend such an important occasion with us - we are touched! The Captain's Quarters is such a lovely room and I'm glad to hear it compares well with your Queensland honeymoon accommodation!
All the very best for your future together - it was a pleasure to meet you both and see you so relaxed and happy!
Kind regards,
Rachael Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
202 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Friends recommended we stay at Glenelg for our first visit to Adelaide. I chose Seawall Apartments for their central beachfront location and good reviews. When booking I specifically asked for one particular studio apartment where the living area faced the beach. On arrival we were taken to a different apartment where only the bedroom faced the sea. It transpired the management had tried to do their best for us, as other guests in the studio apartment had complained of the roadworks (at that time) directly in front. Fortunately the weather was excellent, and we were able to use the balcony as our living room, and it was a perfect spot for people-watching, having a drink until sunset, and breakfast in the morning. This apartment is named The School House, and has one huge bedroom to the left of the front door. A long, wide hall runs along the righthand side, with a dining table in it, followed by the kitchen, and then a small bathroom. There is no en suite. Behind the bedroom is a large lounge, nicely furnished with comfortable modern L-shaped lounge suite. A second bedroom is behind that, but locked off for just the two of us. Period features and grand chandeliers gave wonderful character to the apartment. It was well-equipped, the king bed was comfortable, but cleaning of the windows, especially the black grime outside the bathroom would have made it more pleasant. The information booklet in the unit said cleaning of the apartment, and changing of linen would take place "periodically", so I'm not sure how often that might mean. There is no laundry in the unit, but one for all guests on the property. The staff was friendly and helpful, and genuinely wanting to ensure we had the best holiday. I feel as first-timers to Adelaide, staying in the city centre would have been more convenient to the museum, art gallery, shops, restaurants etc, as it is a 25 minute tram ride from Glenelg. The beach area is nice to visit for a day, but in the evenings it is busy with young revellers. I would recommend Seawall to other travellers though.

Room Tip: Paths lead between the ground floor apartments from the rear carpark to the beachfront, so other gue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cadarnle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelOsborne, Manager at Seawall Apartments, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Cadarnie, Thank you for your wonderful detailed review of your recent stay in the School House. I'm glad to hear that the weather was beautiful during your stay and that you enjoyed the views from the patio overlooking the bay. Thanks for being understanding about the room change - we knew how much you were looking forward to the sea views and were trying to make the best of the situation while the council works were going on in October. Thankfully the fence and disruption is all in the past now!
Best wishes,
Rachael Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.3 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.6 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
7.0 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
6.6 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seawall Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seawall Apartments

Property: Seawall Apartments
Address: 21 - 25 South Esplanade | rear access Oldham Street, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
#1 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
#1 Green Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Seawall Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seawall Apartments provides boutique contemporary accommodation in original stately buildings with a touch of vintage charm on the Esplanade at Glenelg in Adelaide, South Australia. The family run, private hotel is located only 500m from Jetty Road, Glenelg, comprising a vast array of restaurants, boutiques, food stores and family friendly activities. There is also direct access to the city of Adelaide via tram. We have a range of apartments to suit all travellers. With twenty-two apartments available on the property, there is always something to suit. From one-bedroom studio apartments for a business traveller or couple, to large four bedroom apartments for extended families and group gatherings, catering up to eight people. All apartments are accommodated in original buildings, over four Esplanade blocks facing Glenelg Beach. All apartments offer spa baths, self contained cooking facilities, reverse cycle air-conditioning and flat screen TV’s. The property also offers free Wifi and off-street parking, complementary to all guests. Seawall provides a home away from home, offering space, easy access to safe and clean Glenelg beach, open decked areas and barbecues. A convenient and quiet offering for the business or holiday traveller wanting a different hotel experience. The perfect spot to watch sunset over the ocean and take in a little dolphin spotting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seawall Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seawall Apartments Hotel Glenelg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing