We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value motel in expensive Glenelg”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Glenelg Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glenelg Motel
Ranked #2 of 7 Glenelg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value motel in expensive Glenelg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed here for our first 4 nights in Adelaide before moving into to city.

It’s located a 10 minute stroll away from Jetty Road in Glenelg, is clean, has spacious rooms and good service. It is a little dated but is very well maintained and comfortable.

The a/c unit was very noisy and is really my only complaint about the stay. But it did do the job and probably wouldn’t bother a heavier sleeper.

Overall this is a great value for money place to stay in an expensive part of Adelaide!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrs_S_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    70
    14
    2
    5
See reviews for
29
66
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

This motel is fairly inexpensive, and it is located within walking distance of the restaurants and stores of Glenelg North. The rooms are fairly large and seemed clean. There is free parking, but they do charge for wifi. The motel serves breakfast in their lounge for a fee also. It is a basic motel, but for the price, it is fine.

Room Tip: I don't have a tip to share, sorry. Be sure to check in before 9PM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Norb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

Another pleasant stay at this motel. We visit Adelaide frequently and at less than $100 per night what is there to complain about! A pleasant walk to Jetty road, bus stop for the airport nearby, clean, spacious, and usually quiet.The managers are friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. We often leave our luggage whilst we go off for the day before catching the bus again to the airport. Good value for money and this time our room had a new flat screen TV and new beds.

Room Tip: Roms down the back ae usssaly ver quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judykbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

The Glenelg is a traditional, basic, 1 story motel facility with a pool and locked gates at night for secure overnight parking. We had a car and chose the Glenelg for its convenient parking and location. Its very close to the airport and yet convenient to Adelaide and a short walk to the center of Glenelg, a small beach resort town. The rooms were clean and spacious with a comfortable bed. The staff was terrific. We stayed before and after an overnight visit to Kangaroo Island and they allowed us to leave the bulk of our luggage in a secure place while we were gone overnight.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tboy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Booleroo Centre, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

Stayed one night before a 6.10am flight. Close (10 min) to the airport and Jetty road. Found the room to be basic but clean and comfortable. The staff are very friendly and at $95 it was Fair value.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notafussytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

Great motel, room was nicely decorated, clean, spacious and a great price of $95.

Perfect location with lots of bars and restaurants in Glenelg which is walkable, and also for Adelaide as the tram goes from the beach to the center of town for only a few dollars avoiding the need to park in town.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank si_vorny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

Stayed one night only before returning to Brisbane from Kangaroo Island. Because we arrived late our key was left out for us, together with the security gate thingy. The room was spacious, and even though the decor was outdated, everything was clean, and the generous sized television looked new. Bathroom also clean. Had a good, quiet night's sleep. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenelg hotels
0.7 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
0.5 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
1.0 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adelaide International Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenelg Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenelg Motel

Property: Glenelg Motel
Address: 41 Tapleys Hill Rd, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glenelg Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
39 clean affordable units with friendly staff and close proximity to jetty road,restaurants, shopping centres, major hospitals, morphettville race course, airport & golf courses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Glenelg Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing