We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not family friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oaks Liberty Towers
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not family friendly”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

I booked a 3 bedroom apt, the beds and linens were fine and comfortable but downstairs was a disappointing story. For a apartment that sleeps six which was the number of guests, I was shocked to see a sofa that only sits 2 and one arm chair in the lounge. Great for three people, i guess my children can stand up and watch tv! Outside was a dining setting for 4. It wasn't user friendly and ridiculous really. The apt was large enough for furniture to be comfortable but we only had the sad dirty little sofa for two. The was a BBQ on the large balcony which in arrival was filthy. When I told reception they said the BBQ was not to be used. How do you explain then the 1inch thick layer of oil and meat scrap on it? I was amused by the reply but they did say they'll have it cleaned the next day. I assume the h tis are privately owned and then the Oaks lets them out. For $400 a night then which is not small money , the Oaks should ensure the standard in the holiday let apartments are comfortable and can service the needs if the guests. I honestly did not receive that by staying at oaks liberty, Glenelg.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justforlooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLibertyTowers, Manager at Oaks Liberty Towers, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review after your stay at Oaks Liberty Towers. Whilst it is disappointing to read the issues that you have noted, it has allowed us to take appropriate action to rectify these issues. Some of the apartments are owner furnished; the apartment that you stayed in, the BBQ and Outdoor Setting does belong to the owner. We have since removed the BBQ to avoid any inconvenience to guests in the future as this is not a facility that we advertise. A second sofa and additional arm chair has also been brought into the apartment to ensure that all guests staying are comfortably accommodated. I apologise that these issues were an inconvenience to you during your stay and I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    123
    48
    34
    9
See reviews for
78
106
9
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Liberty Towers is perfect for a Glenelg getaway. Our two bedroom apartment was stylishly furnished with the most beautiful views of the city and mountains. The only criticism would be that reception is at the back of the property. A tip if driving or arriving by cab is to enter via Durham St. Otherwise th property is excellent and would definitely return.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank gypsy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt O, Manager at Oaks Liberty Towers, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you kindly for providing feedback after your recent stay at Oaks Liberty Towers. It’s pleasing to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your getaway to Glenelg and were able to enjoy the beautiful views from your apartment. We apologise for any inconvenience that our reception location may have caused. It can be confusing at times as it is off of Durham Street and we have found this is something that our guests regularly mention. To avoid this inconvenience, we have ensured that we mention this on our affiliated websites as well as our guest confirmations. Please don’t hesitate to contact our friendly reception staff or our reservations team to make your next booking. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over the new year period till the 3rd of January.
I have stayed here in the past and was quite happy however this time around was extremely disappointed and will not come back.
On arrival we has to wait 2 hours because our room wasn't ready, for the amount we paid $350 a night it certainly was not worth it.
Our room was cleaned only once during the stay and I had to call myself to request fresh towels. Freezer door didn't close properly on the fridge. You have a washer/ dryer in your room however only the washing machine works with no signage to say you can't use the dryer!! I had to enquire myself to find this out. We also ran out of toilet paper and when I called reception to ask for more I was advised that the whole hotel had ran out of toilet paper!!! Totally unacceptable in my view. If you are going to charge $350 a night for a 1 bedroom average room you can't run out of toilet paper!! Seriously go to the supermarket and buy some, don't give us a box of tissues. To top it off after paying $350 a night you then need to pay $18 a day for parking!!

Overall destination was perfect, just really disappointed with this place. I would think twice about booking here.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lillie0573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLibertyTowers, Manager at Oaks Liberty Towers, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Liberty Towers. We do appreciate you highlighting the areas of concern and regret the issues you encountered during your stay as it did not align with your expectation as our valued guest. Our maintenance officer was unable to fix the issue with the dryer as it was over the public holiday, i apologise we were unable to have this rectified during your stay. Our unit supplies were not delivered on time from our supplier however we were able to purchase further stock and replenish the apartments. Whilst this does not excuse the matter, i trust that we did our best to rectify the issues that we could at the time. Please be assured that the issues you encountered are not something of regular occurence and i do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future so we can have the opportunity to turn a bad experience into a positive one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

On a recent trip to SA we had two nights in Adelaide so decided to stay at Gleneg. Check in was fine. The apartment was advertised as having a queen size bed but in fact only had a double. Wasn't a problem for us but would be for taller people. What hotels have double beds now????? The bedroom side tables had a strange glass top on them. Problem was the glass wasn't secured and moved every time you put something on it. Again no major problem for us but would be a huge safety issue if you have children. Apartment was reasonably clean but no one had cleaned under the lounge for some time. Shower was so small that anyone large/pregnant would not have been able to shut the door! Reasonably well equipped but only one wine glass. Shame we had two people staying. It's the little things that get a big tick from us and unfortunately there were too many little problems for us to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Relal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLibertyTowers, Manager at Oaks Liberty Towers, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review after your stay at Oaks Liberty Towers.
I appreciate the comments you made relating to the furniture in the particular apartment that you stayed in. The furnishings do differ between a number of apartments as some are furnished by the owners. We are currently speaking with these owners to upgrade their furniture packs. Its disappointing to read that the apartment was not stocked appropriately with enough wine glasses at the time you checked in. Reception would have been more than happy to replenish these for you. I do hope that these small issues dont deter you from staying again in the future and i would like to thank you again for your valued feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuriootpa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

After being SO disappointed with the Stamford Grand at Glenelg, we decided to try the Liberty Towers. It was not only really clean and tidy, modern and well located, but the parking is really well priced,room rates for a one nighter were excellent, and the staff were courteous. A big turnaround from our last stay at the above mentioned. However we did stay on a Sunday, which may mean weekends in Summer may be a little rowdy at street level, but will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLibertyTowers, Manager at Oaks Liberty Towers, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review after your recent stay at Oaks Liberty Towers.
Its always pleasing to know that our guests have had an enjoyable experience and found great value for money in our product. I shall pass on your positive and kind comments to the Front Desk and Housekeeping Team. On behalf of the team at Oaks Liberty Towers, we look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay at Glenelg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boronia, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

At $859.00(AUD) for a 5 night stay this place is up there for charging, add to that $18.00 per day if you want parking included then you are looking at near $190.00AUD per night for a small apartment without any service apart from once per week.
I stayed for 5 nights and in the room were 4 teabags, 4 sugar sachets, 5 coffee sachets and in the fridge there were 4 little long live milk tubs.
Don't even try to get a street parking spot near the place on Friday, Saturdays and Sundays due to it being a tourist spot in Glenelg.
They require a $150.00 deposit on your credit card upon check-in which is NOT returned to you for between 5 to 10 working days after you check out!
Fittings were average as was the cleanliness.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLibertyTowers, Manager at Oaks Liberty Towers, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to leave a review after your most recent stay at Oaks Liberty Towers. Oaks Hotels and Resorts offer fully self contained apartments and the rooms are stocked upon arrival with selected amenities to start off your stay. I apologise that your room was not serviced during your stay. Please find that our friendly reception staff have extra amenities available at reception should guests ever need more and if notified could also arrange for the room to be serviced for you. Car parking is an additional cost of $18 per day and we ensure that this is made evident in our confirmation paperwork as well as on our affiliated websites to ensure guests are not inconvenienced upon arrival. All Oaks Hotels and Resorts properties require a $150 credit card security bond upon check in as per our confirmation paperwork and as advertised with our online affiliates. As not all financial institutions have the same release time for pending authorisation’s, we advise our guests that it may take between 5-10 days to release from check in to avoid any inconvenience upon departure of the hotel. Its disappointing that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and will pass on your comments regarding cleanliness to the Housekeeping Team. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst on Adelaide. Love Glenelg and getting a tram in and out of Adelaide City is easy. Accommodation was great, we had a one bedroom apartment, fully serviced, like being able to have good area to sit inside and outside when I am away, this was perfect, we had water views on the 11th floor. Check in was easy and we got a late checkout to accommodate our flight. Would I stay again. Most defiantly.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb05213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLibertyTowers, Manager at Oaks Liberty Towers, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thankyou for your feedback from your most recent stay with us at Oaks Liberty Towers. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed spending your time in and out of the apartment and were able to make the most of the wonderful views. It’s always a pleasure to hear that our staff were able to provide you with fast and efficient service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenelg hotels
0.1 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.6 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
0.2 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Haven Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Liberty Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Liberty Towers

Property: Oaks Liberty Towers
Address: 25 Colley Tce, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Liberty Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With spectacular coastal, ocean, marina and night time cityscape views, Oaks Liberty Towers is superbly located in the beachside resort area of Glenelg. Oaks Liberty offers contemporary fully self contained one, two and three bedroom apartments with full kitchen facilities, individually controlled ducted air conditioning and spacious balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Liberty Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Liberty Towers Hotel Glenelg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing