We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shocking service and communication”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oaks Liberty Towers
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Shocking service and communication”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Promised adjoining apartments...took my brother in law arguing for an hour for us to get at least one bigger one so we could spend evenings together. Porta cots so old and broken the babies wouldn't sleep! No high chairs as promised. Appalling service which is a pity as location wise this was pretty nice. Gym only has machines, no weights or other equipment. Disappointing overall.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nats011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLibertyTowers, Manager at Oaks Liberty Towers, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thankyou for your feedback after your stay at Oaks Liberty Towers.

Whilst it is not favourable to receive negative feedback, i appreciate you bringing your concerns to my attention.

The Liberty Towers complex is made up of three towers, all which have 12 floors and the rooms that Oaks manage are scattered throughout the entire building. Its for this reason that we can never guarantee rooms to be on the same floor, same tower etc. We do our best to meet guests requests but cannot promise that we can meet them. I apologise that we could not meet your request and that there were maintenance issues with the Porta Cots. We are currently looking to replace these.

The gym is fitted out by the Body Corporate for the Liberty Towers Complex. Unfortunately weight's equipment is not something that is provided. This is the case for all Oaks properties in South Australia along with High Chair's, they are also not available to hire. I will ensure that this information is re communicated to the Central Reservations Staff.

As these issues are not something that are of regular occurence, i hope that you would consider staying with Oaks Liberty Towers again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    118
    48
    34
    9
See reviews for
78
102
8
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Gambier, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed there this week with my mum and sister and sister's friend.
Room was clean except for a large red paint? mark on one of the bedrooms carpets. So close to everything, we walked every morning and then swam in the pool every night.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Only had one issue where all we could smell was cigarette smoke two mornings in a row (we were on level 6).
We rang reception on the first morning and then advised reception on the second morning as we were checking out. We understand permanent residents live in the building and that they aren't subject to certain rules like hotel guests, but I think the hotel should have some way of being able to complain and/or do something about permanent residents smoking if it disrupts the hotel guests - the smoke was all through the lobby area on the 6th floor and was seeping under our door into our room.
Other than that, perfect stay and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLibertyTowers, Manager at Oaks Liberty Towers, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback after your stay at Oaks Liberty Towers.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with family and friends and that you were able to make the most out of our on site facilities.

I appreciate your comments relating to the smell of cigarette smoke that was coming from an apartment on the floor that you stayed on. Liberty Towers is a non smoking complex with Smoking only permitted on balconies. Letters were placed in all lifts to remind all occupants of the builiding of this by law.

I have since contacted the Strata Management and have asked further action be taken. I apologise that this was an issue you had to experience during your stay.

On behalf of the team at Oaks Liberty Towers, we look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ararat, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This accommodation was pretty good. We stayed with friends in a 2 bedroom apartment on the 9th floor with a beach/gardens view. The place was of a good standard but did have signs of wear with worn/damaged carpet and the couch was a little dirty looking however it was very clean around the apartment. Lots of room for 2 couples and a bonus of a washer, dryer and dishwasher. The facilities were great and the location topped it off with a short walk to bars, coffee shops and restaurants. I was not there to pick faults and would honestly say that I am returning.

Room Tip: Make sure you book it on a special deal and parking is a must if you have a vehicle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tahla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLibertyTowers, Manager at Oaks Liberty Towers, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to leave some valuable customer feedback after your most recent stay at Oaks Liberty Towers.

It's wonderful to read that the apartment was clean and spacious, that it was greatly suited for you and your friends, and that you were able to enjoy our facilities and the surrounding areas.

On behalf of the whole team at Oaks Liberty Towers, we look forward to having you stay again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have just finished staying at the Liberty Towers. Great spot to stay, close to everything, easy walk to the centre of all the activities.
I have to mention the shocking bed, wow, it was sooooo bad that every morning we would wake up crippled. Two single beds put together. The cushions were also red dot specials.
Another thing to mention, never stay on the lower levels at Colley Tce. We were staying in room 212 and the noise was so bad that you could not leave the sliding door open while you tried to watch TV. We did ask reception if we could move but nothing was available.
I still think the apartment has a lot to offer, but some of the things i mentioned did spoil our time there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 34550Eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLibertyTowers, Manager at Oaks Liberty Towers, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for leaving feedback after your most recent stay at Oaks Liberty Towers.

I appreciate your comments regarding the furnishing in the apartment, we are working with our owners to look at upgrading some of the furniture packs to ensure the overall comfort for our guests.

The balcony doors and windows in the apartments are double glazed to try and deter some of the noise from street level, but as mentioned if you wanted this open you will be subject to some noise from street level as Colley Terrace is one of the main roads in Glenelg. I apologise that this caused some inconvenience to you during your stay.

Should you wish to return to stay at Liberty Towers in the near furture, please contact our reservations team and ask for a higher floor apartment, we would be more than happy to accommodate this request where possible for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Vic
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our room was on the 7th floor with views to the beach and Marina and parklands across the road
Our room was spacious but there was only a two seater couch and when you have two adults and two children, its all a bit hard to squeeze onto.
We booked with another family who were on the 9th floor, and their room was far more spacious than ours, for the same rate, so unsure how this works. Our room had a double bed, there room had a King size and more than a two seater couch to sit on.
We did request rooms to be close together when booking, but this did not happen - one room in the south tower the other in the north tower, on different floors.
Overall the room was great, just a bit disappointed about the beds - compared to the other room.
Has a good heated pool but the sauna and steam room were closed for the whole time we were there - 4 nights.
Within walking distance to some great shops and eateries.
Don't let this put you off, but
Twice when we were returning to the hotel, there was a rat that was in the door between the opening and the security door - it must of liked the hotel also, but couldn't get in as it didn't have its security key.....This wouldn't put me off recommending this place as it wasn't actually 'in the hotel'.
Good spot, but would of liked a queen or king size bed, like the other family that we booked with.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLibertyTowers, Manager at Oaks Liberty Towers, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Many thanks for leaving some highly valuable feedback from your recent stay at Oaks Liberty Towers.

Some apartments within Liberty Towers are managed by Oaks Hotels & Resorts and are generally furnished by the people who own them. In some instances, we recognise the need to upgrade furniture and I will communicate this to the owner.

It was unfortunate that we were not able to accommodate you close to your other travelling party as requested on this occassion, we do our very best to accommodate our guests requests where possible.

I apologise for the unforseen circumstance of the steam room and sauna being out of order during your stay. Non routine maintenance had to be performed on these areas and for the safety of our residents, tenants and guests, we had to switch these items off as required.

Again, i highly appreciate the feedback you have provided on this instance and i hope we can welcome you back to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were very thankful to this group for upgrading us when we struck trouble with the original booking agent. Our rooms were spacious with lovely views. Cleaning in the bathroom left a little bit to be desired but did not detract from our enjoyable experience. The position is close to the Pier, shops and cafes. Thank you Oaks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLibertyTowers, Manager at Oaks Liberty Towers, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback from your most recent stay at Oaks Liberty Towers.

It is a delight to read that you throroughly enjoyed your stay and found the room to be spacious and that you got to experience the wonderful views that our apartments have to offer.

On behalf of the team at Oaks Liberty Towers, we thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We found this apartment very spacious and with modern appliances. Only stayed for one night but would gladly have stayed longer we had a nice view of the ocean and was walking distance to shops and the beach

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hmmarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLibertyTowers, Manager at Oaks Liberty Towers, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Many thanks for leaving feedback after your stay at Oaks Liberty Towers.
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the apartment well appointed.
We have some fabulous deals going at the moment so should you wish to stay again, please contact us and we would be happy to offer the best available rate to you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenelg hotels
0.1 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.6 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
0.2 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
0.3 mi away
Glenelg Beach Hostel
Glenelg Beach Hostel
#4 of 12 in Glenelg
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Liberty Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Liberty Towers

Property: Oaks Liberty Towers
Address: 25 Colley Tce, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Liberty Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With spectacular coastal, ocean, marina and night time cityscape views, Oaks Liberty Towers is superbly located in the beachside resort area of Glenelg. Oaks Liberty offers contemporary fully self contained one, two and three bedroom apartments with full kitchen facilities, individually controlled ducted air conditioning and spacious balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Liberty Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Liberty Towers Hotel Glenelg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing