We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantic Tower Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Certificate of Excellence
Mannum, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The room was quite comfortable with a queen size bed, two armchairs, as well as a table and chair. There were plenty of power points for all the gadgets we carry around nowadays. The view was quite good from our balcony room.

A few negatives - the shower door squeaked quite loudly when it was opened and the container of hand soap ran out on our second day. There was also no free Wi-fi service, which is now becoming an essential requirement of travellers. The road noise was bad, and would be a good idea to double glaze the windows to keep out some of the noise.

We were on the eleventh floor and the first night, being a Monday, the restaurant above was not open, but on the second night we could hear very loud noises from above, which we believe was coming from the kitchen area of the restaurant.

Mostly the room was quite clean, but there were a few areas that needed more attention like the sliding glass window for example. This was covered with fingerprints.

Some ongoing maintenance is needed in the passageways, as they are looking a little worse for wear and quite tired. But we were quite happy with the room itself. It was a good size and we weren't tripping over each other.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shirlbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig L, Manager at Atlantic Tower Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback. There have been a few changes since your stay including upgrades to our rooms and services. The best news is all guests now get free WiFi. On another note the restaurant is no longer in operation so noise from upstairs is never an issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    101
    36
    11
    1
See reviews for
26
133
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Trinity Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We booked for 5 nights recently and despite some average reviews we were pleasantly surprised. We were on level 9 and the view was lovely. The apartment itself was newly refurbished, very clean and well appointed. The bed was extremely comfortable and the block out drapes were brilliant - lovely to sleep in each day until 8am.

Atlantic Tower is centrally located and close to everything including Adelaide City. We didn't have a car but this was not an issue. We caught the Tram into Adelaide and walked to the Beach, shops, restaurants and cafes.

The free breakfast was simple and tasty, with everything needed for a light start to the day. Couldn't have asked for more (except perhaps a smile and a good morning from the staff member who was on shift each day in the breakfast room).

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms level 9 or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig L, Manager at Atlantic Tower Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay. I will ensure your comments in regards to the breakfast staff are investigated and further training implemented if required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakura
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here for one night and were disappointed when we saw it from the street. It is very tired from the outside. No pool or bar. room was comfortable bed bed was small and hard. Some rooms have had bathrooms done up that are nice. Over priced for what it is. There are brand new modern apartment style rooms available close by nearer to the beach and pier. We paid $180.00 Australian per night and our friends stayed in a new classy apartment by the beach for the same price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OakuraSue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig L, Manager at Atlantic Tower Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are not a five star property and we don't try to be. We don't have things like a pool or a bar however there are plenty of great places to eat and drink in Glenelg and you can always pop down to the beach for a swim. What we do offer over other properties is value for money. All guests get free parking, free WiFi, free breakfast, free Foxtel channels, free laundry facilities and more. All services you would have to pay for with the big boys. All rooms and bathrooms have also been fully refurbished since this review was written.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We booked a non-refurbished room on the 10th floor and it was still fairly pleasant. The tv was really old and some channels you could hardly see, but luckily we weren't there just to watch tv. We went to the revolving restaurant up on the top floor for dinner - something we'd been meaning to do for sometime. Save your money to go there as it's pricey. We noted that many of the staff are probably from the local backpackers and one waitress told us that she thought the restaurant revolved once every 15 minutes. Yeah right! Oh, and if you need to visit the toilet on the floor below make sure you don't catch the express lift. There is a sign, but it's not very clear.

But back to the accommodation. It was okay. Keep the bathroom door shut if you don't want the morning sun waking you up.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jenseeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig L, Manager at Atlantic Tower Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback. Since you have stayed, the TV’s in all our rooms have been upgraded to brand new 40” LED TV’s. The Top of the World Revolving Restaurant is a separate business to the Atlantic Tower Motor Inn. They offer a unique dining experience, or you can choose from one of the many other restaurants and cafés in the area, all within walking distance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outer Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here because it was reasonably priced, had free parking & continental breakfast and was a short walk to the beach, tram & restaurants. The view from our 10th floor room was great, but the room itself was disappointing. It didn't quite look like the photos on the website. The bathroom was very dated. Having said that, the bed was quite comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OuterSydneyAnnabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig L, Manager at Atlantic Tower Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback. We have spent the last four years refurbishing rooms in the Motel. There are, however, still two rooms left on the 10th floor which have not yet had the bathrooms updated. These rooms are sold as our Standard Balcony Rooms and are significantly cheaper than our Tower Rooms. A great option for those who want the great view without paying the higher price. These last two rooms will be fully refurbished in the next couple of months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Remembered this circular building from childhood. Flew in from London and wanted to stay near the beach on our first night. Really helpful staff; got a room on the 11th floor, lovely views that are hard to beat for the price. Refurbished bathroom helped to make up for the somewhat dated decor. Nice homely touches like fresh milk and jugs of water in the fridge. A short walk to the beach and local cafes, and the tram service which goes from Glenelg into the city. Continental breakfast was basic but adequate (only instant coffee, for instance). The hotel is 50 metres from an award-winning bakery (orange spot) if you want more. Still find it a bit irksome that Australian hotels charge for wireless ($AU 12 - 15 an hour). Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneandSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig L, Manager at Atlantic Tower Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I’m glad you enjoyed your stay. The bakery next door is great isn’t it! Our Tower rooms had a comprehensive refurbishment in 2009. All the furnishings and the bathrooms were brand new at the time and our soft furnishings get updated every few years. We pride ourselves on the little things we offer: friendly staff, fresh milk, basic free breakfast, etc. As for the internet, it is very common to pay for internet at Australian hotels. Our WiFi prices are the most reasonable of any Australian hotel I’ve stayed at ($5-$8 per hour). We are currently looking into purchasing some new equipment which will allow us to offer a free WiFi option to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
195 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Hotel has free parking however you must obtain a ticket from reception. It is a short walk to the beach and all the great restaurants at the marina.The room on 9th floor had great views and had modern decor. The breakfast was basic however satisfactory and included in the room rate . You could pay $10 extra for a cooked breakfast.The hotel is also close to the airport if you have an early flight.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RossCSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig L, Manager at Atlantic Tower Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review. We really are lucky to have such a fantastic location; walking distance to the beach, shops and cafés, and only 10 minutes from the airport. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenelg hotels
0.3 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.2 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.6 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
0.1 mi away
Oaks Liberty Towers
Oaks Liberty Towers
#2 of 12 in Glenelg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Haven Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Tower Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Tower Motor Inn

Property: Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Address: 760 Anzac Hwy, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantic Tower Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Atlantic Tower Motor Inn we offer a broad range of accommodation catering from corporate guests to romantic getaways. With 36 rooms including private balconies up on the 9th, 10th and 11th floor, the views are spectacular in any direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Atlantic Tower Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Tower Motor Hotel Glenelg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing