We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Certificate of Excellence
Outer Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here because it was reasonably priced, had free parking & continental breakfast and was a short walk to the beach, tram & restaurants. The view from our 10th floor room was great, but the room itself was disappointing. It didn't quite look like the photos on the website. The bathroom was very dated. Having said that, the bed was quite comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OuterSydneyAnnabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig L, Manager at Atlantic Tower Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback. We have spent the last four years refurbishing rooms in the Motel. There are, however, still two rooms left on the 10th floor which have not yet had the bathrooms updated. These rooms are sold as our Standard Balcony Rooms and are significantly cheaper than our Tower Rooms. A great option for those who want the great view without paying the higher price. These last two rooms will be fully refurbished in the next couple of months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    103
    37
    11
    1
See reviews for
27
135
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Remembered this circular building from childhood. Flew in from London and wanted to stay near the beach on our first night. Really helpful staff; got a room on the 11th floor, lovely views that are hard to beat for the price. Refurbished bathroom helped to make up for the somewhat dated decor. Nice homely touches like fresh milk and jugs of water in the fridge. A short walk to the beach and local cafes, and the tram service which goes from Glenelg into the city. Continental breakfast was basic but adequate (only instant coffee, for instance). The hotel is 50 metres from an award-winning bakery (orange spot) if you want more. Still find it a bit irksome that Australian hotels charge for wireless ($AU 12 - 15 an hour). Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneandSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig L, Manager at Atlantic Tower Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I’m glad you enjoyed your stay. The bakery next door is great isn’t it! Our Tower rooms had a comprehensive refurbishment in 2009. All the furnishings and the bathrooms were brand new at the time and our soft furnishings get updated every few years. We pride ourselves on the little things we offer: friendly staff, fresh milk, basic free breakfast, etc. As for the internet, it is very common to pay for internet at Australian hotels. Our WiFi prices are the most reasonable of any Australian hotel I’ve stayed at ($5-$8 per hour). We are currently looking into purchasing some new equipment which will allow us to offer a free WiFi option to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
195 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Hotel has free parking however you must obtain a ticket from reception. It is a short walk to the beach and all the great restaurants at the marina.The room on 9th floor had great views and had modern decor. The breakfast was basic however satisfactory and included in the room rate . You could pay $10 extra for a cooked breakfast.The hotel is also close to the airport if you have an early flight.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossCSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig L, Manager at Atlantic Tower Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review. We really are lucky to have such a fantastic location; walking distance to the beach, shops and cafés, and only 10 minutes from the airport. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2013

WE just went to this hotel for belated Valentine's and the spa room was very nice...couldn't get the radio on for music but the most upsetting thing was the BREAKFAST! I have never been to any hotel, even the cheap ones back in the USA that did not serve BREWED coffee! WE paid over $200 for the night and breakfast consisted of: CANNED fruit...not even real fruit! Dry cereals and cheap toast with INSTANT coffee! I couldn't get over this! The room itself was very nice. I did plan on using the internet that was listed but come to find out they do NOT have this and the guy at the front desk looked up other places for me and turned the screen around...I couldn't research what I wanted to for the next day. Nice little walk to the beach, but I think next time we will try the ones RIGHT on the beach so we can see the sunset and be closer to REAL food. :)

Room Tip: Our room on 10th floor was nice but it was too noisy from the street to leave the sliding patio door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamareno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig L, Manager at Atlantic Tower Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We provide a basic continental breakfast to all our guests for free as an alternative to having to buy breakfast. We are the only motel in Glenelg to offer this service... saving our guests money. Yes, the continental breakfast selection is basic, however this is how we are able to offer it for FREE. All guests have the option of upgrading to a cooked breakfast from only $10 per person, or there is selection of around 50 cafe’s in Glenelg, all within walking distance.

In regards to the internet, we advertise having ‘WiFi available’, nowhere do we advertise having an internet kiosk.

$200 for a Premium Spa Room is CHEAP (especially with free breakfast, free parking and free Foxtel). The big guys on the foreshore would charge over $500 a night for a similar spa room... Then expect to pay $30+ per person for breakfast, $15 per night for parking and $10 per movie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Found on last minute website, comfortable room on the 10th floor great view, free continental breaky & parking which is a bonus. Close to the marina, beach & shops. They have a restaurant on the top floor with revolving floor to see the sites of Glenelg don't bother with that better restaurants on the marina, we had high tea there service wasn't great for the price, not sure if it is run by the same people though.
Overall great motel would visit again & recommend to others.

Room Tip: Go for floor 10 or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alsfal1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig L, Manager at Atlantic Tower Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for the great review. Yes, the Top of the World Revolving Restaurant is a separate business to the motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We had a room overlooking the marina which had stunning views.Room and bathroom were clean and recently renovated.Continental breakfast in the dining g room was included in cost as well as free parking. Great value for money for mid range hotel.would definitely return and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Facing marina is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig L, Manager at Atlantic Tower Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you Sandra for the fantastic review. The view overlooking the Marina is fantastic, remember to ask for this view next time you stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Pirie, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

On a previous visit I thought I had booked here through Wotif but for some reason it didn't go through. Reception were very good at trying to track back our booking, but the fact was they were fully booked. He was able to find us some accommodation at another nearby Hotel (last room there). I have returned to stay at the Atlantic Tower and it is convenient with free parking and a great location. They are not the best rooms but they are fine to sleep in, so get out and enjoy Glenelg!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig L, Manager at Atlantic Tower Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for the review Reg. I'm glad our Receptionists were able to help you.

I'm not quite sure which room you stayed in, but I can only assume it was one of the two rooms that we have not yet refurbished. The majority of our rooms have had a complete overhaul in the last couple of years with all new fixtures and fittings. We are consistently making upgrades throughout the property to improve the quality of our rooms and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenelg hotels
0.3 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.2 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.6 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
0.1 mi away
Oaks Liberty Towers
Oaks Liberty Towers
#2 of 12 in Glenelg
293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Haven Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Tower Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Tower Motor Inn

Property: Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Address: 760 Anzac Hwy, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantic Tower Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Atlantic Tower Motor Inn we offer a broad range of accommodation catering from corporate guests to romantic getaways. With 36 rooms including private balconies up on the 9th, 10th and 11th floor, the views are spectacular in any direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlantic Tower Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Tower Motor Hotel Glenelg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing