We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst restaurant ever!”
Review of Fish Glenelg - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fish Glenelg
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst restaurant ever!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

To summarise the experience.
Waited 30 mins just for a menu
Waited another 30 mins just to take our order
Waited 1 hour for the first food to arrive
Ordered the KING prawns, deeply dissaponted with the tiny "prawns" . Clearly misleading menu description . Waiters were very rude when I tried to complain about the prawns. Just shrooook me off and even had the nerve to ask what I expected in a eye rolling manner. First and clearly the last time I will ever visit. I can clearly see others won't fail to experience the sAme .

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    18
    8
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hahndorf, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AVOID”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Friday night and we thought we'd book into Fish with a group of friends for dinner.
We arrived on time but after a 40minute wait and still no one taking an order for drinks we approached the waiter. Big mistake.... Instead of explaining on arrival staff issues he brought it up then, whilst getting extremely angry and very rude, and yet he still wasn't going to take our drink order!!!!!! Needless to say our table of 8 walked out....
I should of realized in the afternoon when I went to check our booking what a disaster it was going to be, he wasn't too pleasant then!

Helpful?
4 Thank VMFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
264 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Fish is totally overpriced for the food it offers, which is really mediocrely, badly seasoned and not particularly fresh. Service was hit and miss but it it is the food that let's the place down. Will not go back

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank jmt12london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not worth visiting”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Okay, Friday night and we thought we would give it a try. Wish w had read the reviews. We only went there because the Oyster Bar was full. A dozen oysters to share amongst 3 as a starter... I kinda suspect the freshness and am expecting to see them again.

A half pot of mussels each to follow for two of us and soft shell crab for the third. I think they list the salt cellar in the broth as both sets of mussels were so so salty - even though one was tomato/chilli/basil and the other shallot and mustard. The soft shell crab was "average".

Honestly, it was only that the staff were okay that stops this being rated 1... Avoid .

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank whizzyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Be Prepared to be Starved”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The waiters and waitresses were friendly but I guess they had to be given that the amount of time the chefs took to prepare our 1/2 pot mussels and a dozen scallops makes you begin to speculate that they are actually cooking them one-by-one. Seriously, a whole hour for a dozen scallops and some mussels; and don't get me started on the dozen fresh oysters either. FRESH OYSTERS = UNCOOKED!! It took them an hour to even get that to our table. If that was not bad enough, it gave my husband the runs when we got home, that's how fresh it was... I guess the chefs had to "resurrect" those damn dead oysters before they brought it to our table. Was the food good? Well anything would taste good when you have been starved for an hour! Had I tasted better seafood that did not require more than 20 minutes to prepapre, YOU BET!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Glenelg also viewed

Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing